Book Notification

Carter Devereux Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Carter Devereux Books

Nothing New Under the Sun (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wolves of Freydis (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Alboran Codex (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Nabatean Secret (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Labyrinth of Minos (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Carter Devereux series by J.C. Ryan
Author J. C. Ryan pens the “Carter Devereux” series of thriller novels. The series began publication in the year 2016, when “Nothing New Under the Sun” was released.

Carter Devereux is a professor of archaeology.

“Nothing New Under the Sun” is the first novel in the “Carter Devereux” series and was released in the year 2016. The more that Carter Devereux studies and researches the history of the human species, the more he is convinced Solomon was onto something when he said:

The thing that has been, is what shall be, and what’s done is what shall be done, and there’s no new thing under the sun. Is there anything that it might be said is actually new? It has been fro old time, before us. There isn’t any remembrance of the former things, neither will there be any remembrance of things that are to come with those that should come after. (Ecclesiastes 1:9-11, Circa 940 BC).

His exploration and research into this history takes him to such places as India, South America, and the Middle East, where he makes some mind-boggling discoveries that challenge our whole views on human history. Before too long, e finds himself not just with a huge number of critics all over the world, but with a number of ardent supporters.

Through the ages rulers, kings, governments, and power seekers have attempted secretly, and at times not so secretly, to get their hands on various artifacts that are thought to have immense amounts of power. This includes the Ark of the Covenant, the Holy Grail, Bachal Isu (staff of Moses, carried by David), and the King of Kings (Jesus Christ), the Spear of Destiny. As well as ancient cities with hidden fortunes of artifacts and gold with unimaginable powers and the time machine (the “glock” created by Germans during World War II).

There isn’t any shortage of power hungry people that will do anything, including murder, to take possession of these relics. If they exist. Most frightening of all are ancient texts that talk of earth’s destruction by nuclear weapons thousands of years ago. Do these weapons still exist? Where are they? Can Carter find them before anybody else can?

Ryan delivers a thought-provoking mystery novel about the discovery of antediluvian human civilizations as well as the horrifying consequences of digging the past up. He proves that he has a master’s way with words, and the information he gives to the reader is interesting written and informative. It is a roller coaster ride and is well written, with multiple story lines that are all interesting and fascinating.

“The Wolves of Freydis” is the second novel in the “Carter Devereux” series and was released in the year 2016. Carter’s idyllic world’s been shattered and thrust into chaos and along with it, humanity’s fate. With a traitor in their midst that appears to be a step ahead of them, it is a race against time for both Carter and a group of Special Forces operators that have to battle evils never encountered before.

Will they identify this traitor, free the prisoners from some unknown location, and keep the evil from swooping down and altering the world as we know it?

This is a fast paced suspense thriller about an international political conspiracy and human history. Ryan delivers a complex, cross-genre book that hooks you from the start and doesn’t let go for an instant. Readers found this to be wonderfully written with a solid story line, and the characters feel real with depth and descriptive scenes of Freydis are fantastically descriptive.

“The Alboran Codex” is the third novel in the “Carter Devereux” series and was released in the year 2016. In the year 106 AD, while the Roman legions marched on their capital at Petra, the Nabateans surrendered their whole empire over to the Romans with no fight, and historians say they just ceased to exist.

Very few knew, however, that the Nabateans didn’t stop existing, they only kept out of sight for over nineteen hundred years, and now are close to implementing their final plan. Carter, with his knowledge about the City of the Giants and their library out in the Egyptian desert is the sole obstacle in the way of achieving their goals.

The story ramps up the action and interest rapidly and the characters all are well rounded and work quite well together. Ryan pulls you in right from the start and never lets go until the very end and leaves you wanting more. Once again, he delivers a read filled with mystery, suspense, history, compassion, and international intrigue.

“The Labyrinth of Minos” is the fifth novel in the “Carter Devereux” series and was released in the year 2018. A vicious and deranged psycho has gone on a kid-killing spree in London. MI5 believes the killer could be connected to the secret Nabatean society. They call the world’s expert on Nabateans, Carter Devereux.

As Carter’s in London, working with the police and MI5, his kids are on vacation with their grandparents in Greece and are abducted. It quickly becomes clear that the London psycho has moved his base of operations. Carter calls in some help from his friends Executive Advantage, a team of Special Forces experts, to aid him in finding and rescuing his kids.

Racing against the clock, there is nothing that he and his Special Forces buddies will not do to save his kids. However Carter and his buddies will learn that the labyrinth isn’t just a maze, but is also a lethal threat.

This is another action packed mystery filled with a bunch of surprises with a well planned out plot filled with suspense. These complex characters make this an outstanding read. The story line is filled with opportunities, leaving the reading to wonder if there isn’t a bit of truth in the work of fiction. Fans of the novel found this to be just as well written and enjoyable as the first four books in the series with interesting characters, a wholly bad villain, edge of your seat tech thriller, an archaeological theme, and talking with wolves and dolphins.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Carter Devereux

Leave a Reply