Book Notification

Carver Chronicles Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Carver Chronicles Books

Dog Days (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Skateboard Party (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Don't Feed the Geckos! (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Trouble Next Door (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The New Kid (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pizza Party (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Carver Chronicles series by Karen English
Author Karen English (she penned the “Nikki and Deja” series) writes the “Carver Chronicles” series of children’s fiction books. The books are illustrated by Laura Freeman. The books’ intended age range is kids grades second to fourth. The series began publication when “The Dog Days” was released in the year 2013.

The series is set at Carver Elementary and features different kids from the school as the star in the books. As a result of this, the books can be read in any order, as stand alone reads.

Karen English is a retired elementary teacher who uses her experiences to write each and every one of her books.

“The Dog Days” is the first novel in the “Carver Chronicles” series, which was released in the year 2013. Things are tough as the new kid at Carver Elementary School. Gavin made a lot of friends while at his old school, but the kids here are not even aware that he is a pretty good skateboarder, or how great he is at soccer.

When Richard, a classmate, comes over and the boys get in some trouble. Not only does Gavin risk losing the only new friend he has been able to make so far, he is required to take care of Carlotta, who is his great aunt Myrtle’s awful little dog as a punishment.

To make things worse, it seems that Gavin has attracted school bully’s attention. Can he avoid getting beaten up at the skate park? How will he ever prove that he is cool with a tiny and yappy Pomeranian wearing a pink bow by his side?

The story is a sweet one, and the illustrations were beautifully done. Gavin does a superb job dealing with his issues and tries to find himself and new friends in the situation he finds himself in. It was great to see his relationship with the dog evolve during his punishment. Here is a book that is excellent to read with your kids. It tells a great story and has some character building lessons in it, too.

“Skateboard Party” is the second novel in the “Carver Chronicles” series, which was released in the year 2014. Richard cannot wait to show off the flat-ground Ollies at a buddy’s birthday party happening at the skate park, but a note from a teacher threatens to wreck these plans. He truly meant to finish the howler monkeys assignment, but he was just distracted. If he could just focus on his schoolwork, he would not be getting into such trouble.

Will Richard be able to put off getting this note signed, as well as facing the consequences, until the party is over. Or is the deception making things that much worse?

Karen English knows what little kids like to read about and is able to write books that are easy to understand and read. The book is going to have some readers laughing out loud while they read this one. English has written a book that teaches a great lesson to students who enjoy having a good time but have a tough time getting organized, making good grades, and dealing with the consequences of their own actions.

“Don’t Feed the Geckos!” is the third novel in the “Carver Chronicles” series, which was released in the year 2015. Carlos is not totally sure how he feels about his cousin Bernardo is going to be joining his class at Carver Elementary. Bernardo comes to live with Carlos for a short time and takes over Carlos’ top bunk, his Papi’s attention, and his spot on the soccer team. Carlos knows he is far from happy about it.

To makes things worse, Bernardo begins messing with Carlos’ pet geckos. Carlos makes an effort to get past his cousin’s annoying ways, but Bernardo makes it tough. Is Carlos, as well as his geckos, be able to survive Bernardo’s visit? Will he be able to keep the peace for the sake of his family?

Here is a cute chapter book for readers who are independent beginner. These books do a great job of teaching kids some great lessons about life, and in this, you learn about school and thinking about other people. Carlos is someone that feels pretty much like a real kid, one with worries. English does a great job of showing what being a kid is really like.

“Trouble Next Door” is the fourth novel in the “Carver Chronicles” series, which was released in the year 2016. Calvin, a third grader, has to deal with his next door neighbors moving away, and the bully of the school moving in. At the same time, the school’s science fair competition starts to heat up, and Calvin has to figure out what he is going to do when the data doesn’t prove the theory he’s been working on.

Calvin and Harper do a great job of growing in this one. Here is a book that is bound to spark some interesting conversations about things like: assumption, bullies, and victims. It comes as you see some assumptions that Calvin has about the homeless being disrupted.

“The New Kid” is the fifth novel in the “Carver Chronicles” series, which was released in the year 2017. Gavin, a third grader, and his buddies are unsure what to make of, Khufu, the new kid in class. Khufu sure doesn’t act or look like any of the other kids in the class, and they believe it may have been him that stole Gavin’s bike. At the same time, Gavin’s Great-Aunt Myrtle is returning to stay with his family once again. Gavin is sure that she is going to team up with his older sister to boss him around the whole entire time she is there.

This book offers some spot-on story telling, plenty of action, relatable situations and characters. It teaches the kids reading that proves that if you give someone a chance, they can become a friend, even if they first appeared to be strange. These books are great for reading with kids, as their reading abilities will improve, and they will learn some great lessons.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Carver Chronicles

Leave a Reply