Book Notification

Carys Davies Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Some New Ambush (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Jubilee (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Miracle at Hawk's Bay (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Creed (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Testimonie of Alyss Teeg (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

The Redemption of Galen Pike (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Travellers and Other Stories (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Red Room: New Short Stories Inspired by the Brontës(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ploughshares Summer 2016 Guest-Edited by Claire Messud & James Wood(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

About Carys Davies

Carys Davies is a talented Welsh author known for her captivating works of historical fiction. Her first novel, ‘West’ (2018), gained significant attention by being shortlisted for a Rathbones Folio Prize, and winning the Wales Book of the Year for Fiction, showing her skill in telling compelling stories. Her success continued with ‘The Mission House,’ published in the UK in 2020, which was named The Sunday Times Novel of the Year for 2020.

Davies has a knack for creating memorable characters and intriguing protagonists that bring her stories to life. Her skillful crafting of these elements helps make her books engaging and entertaining for readers. Through her storytelling, she invites readers to explore different times and places, making her novels an immersive experience.

Her ability to weave together captivating narratives with detailed historical contexts is one of her many strengths as a writer. This gift for storytelling ensures that her books are not only informative but also highly enjoyable. Carys Davies continues to enchant readers with her unique voice and skillful writing.

Davies stands out by remaining true to herself in her writing, which gives her work a sense of authenticity. Her clear dedication to her roots and meticulous research into historical settings provide a genuine backdrop to her stories. This authenticity enriches her novels, making them feel true and relatable, which appeals to a wide range of readers.

While Davies maintains her unique voice and perspective, she also manages to make her stories universal. By exploring fundamental human emotions and experiences, her books resonate with readers from various backgrounds. This combination of personal authenticity and universal themes helps her stories find a broad audience, allowing her work to connect with many.

Additionally, her talent for creating relatable characters and engaging narratives helps her achieve both authenticity and universality. Davies’s characters often face dilemmas and challenges that everyone can relate to, no matter their background. This universal appeal, rooted in heartfelt storytelling, is a key reason why her novels have gained much acclaim and a devoted readership.

Looking ahead, Carys Davies has much more to offer her readers. Her established ability to weave authentic and universally appealing narratives sets a strong foundation for future projects. Fans eagerly anticipate what new stories and characters she will bring to life in her upcoming works.

With her talent and dedication, it’s clear that Davies’s journey as an author is just beginning. Readers can look forward to more compelling historical fiction that offers both authenticity and broad appeal. As she continues to craft stories, Carys Davies is sure to further solidify her place as a beloved and influential author.

Early and Personal Life

Carys Davies was born in Wales and grew up there and in the Midlands, which significantly shaped her early life and sparked her interest in both reading and writing. Her upbringing in these rich cultural environments likely provided ample inspiration and a strong foundation for her love of storytelling. This early passion set the stage for her eventual career as an acclaimed author of historical fiction.

Davies’s experiences broadened as she lived and worked for twelve years in New York and Chicago. This time in the United States exposed her to diverse cultures and perspectives, enriching her writing and expanding her narrative horizons. Her ability to draw from these varied backgrounds adds depth and authenticity to her captivating stories.

Now residing in Edinburgh, Davies continues to evolve and grow as an author. The vibrant literary scene of her current home city provides further inspiration and opportunities for her creative endeavors. Carys Davies’s journey, from her roots in Wales to her current life in Edinburgh, is a testament to her dedication and passion for writing compelling, historically rich fiction.

Writing Career

Carys Davies has established a remarkable career as a writer of historical fiction, earning widespread acclaim and numerous accolades. Her debut novel, ‘West’ (2018), would receive numerous accolades. Her follow-up novel, ‘The Mission House’ (2020), was named The Sunday Times Novel of the Year.

In addition to her novels, Davies is the author of two short story collections, ‘Some New Ambush’ (2007), along with ‘The Redemption of Galen Pike’ (2017). The latter collection won the 2015 Frank O’Connor International Short Story Award. Her talent has also been recognized with several other prestigious awards, including the Royal Society of Literature’s V.S. Pritchett Prize and a Northern Writers’ Award, and she has enjoyed a Cullman Fellowship from the New York Public Library.

Her fiction has been translated into nine languages, broadening her reach to international audiences. As a member of the Folio Academy, Davies continues to influence the literary community. With her third novel, ‘Clear,’ set for release in 2024, she shows no signs of stopping and continues to captivate readers with her engaging narratives.


Carys Davies’s stand-alone historical western, ‘West,’ was published on April 24, 2018. The novel was released by Scribner, and its publication marked the debut of Davies as a novelist, earning her critical acclaim and various literary accolades.

Cy Bellman, an American settler and widowed father, reads a newspaper article about ancient bones found in a Kentucky swamp. Intrigued by the possibility that these giant creatures might still exist, he leaves his Pennsylvania farm and young daughter, Bess, to investigate. Bellman ventures into the uncharted wilderness beyond the Mississippi River.

West tells the story of his journey and Bess waiting for her father’s return.


Carys Davies’s stand-alone historical novel, ‘Clear,’ was published on April 2, 2024. The book was once again released through Scribner, continuing to add to Davies’s growing body of acclaimed literary work.

John, a Scottish minister facing poverty, accepts a job to evict Ivar, the last inhabitant of a remote island north of Scotland. Despite his wife Mary’s concerns, John embarks on the task, which triggers unforeseen events. After arriving on the island, John falls off a cliff and is rescued by Ivar, who takes him home and cares for him.

Despite the language barrier, the two men start to communicate and form a unique bond as John documents Ivar’s world.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Carys Davies

Leave a Reply