Book Notification

Cass Lynch Mysteries Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Cass Lynch Mysteries Books

Death on a Longship (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Trowie Mound Murders (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Handful of Ash (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Body in the Bracken (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ghosts of the Vikings (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death in Shetland Waters (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death on a Shetland Isle (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death from a Shetland Cliff (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Shetland Sea Murders (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Shetland Winter Mystery (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death in a Shetland Lane (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death at a Shetland Festival (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Cass Lynch Mysteries Series by Marsali Taylor
Author Marsali Taylor pens the “Cass Lynch Mysteries” novels, which are also known as the “Shetland Mysteries” books. The series began publication in the year 2012, when “Death On A Longship was released.

Cass Lynch is a sailor that ends up investigating homicide cases in each of the novels. She develops a relationship with a man named Gavin Macrae who starts out a foe. Her dad is a successful businessman and her mom is an opera singer.

“Death On A Longship” is the first novel in the “Cass Lynch Mysteries” series and was released in the year 2012. Cass Lynch talks her way into a skippering job on board a Viking longship for a Hollywood film, she believes her big break’s arrived, even though she has to go back home to the Shetland Islands. It is a place that she has not gone back to since she ran away as a teen to chase her dreams of sailing.

A dead woman turns up on the deck, Cass, her family, and her past all come under suspicion from Detective Inspector Macrae. Cass has to call on all of her local knowledge of Shetland, the wisdom she’s gained from her years of sailing, and her French opera singer mom to clear her family and herself of suspicion. And to catch this killer before Cass ends up the next victim.

This is an atmospheric and enjoyable read, with some convincing characters. The Shetlanders, with their unique dialect, truly come to life in the novel. Cass and Anders are likable characters, and the book moves along at a solid pace. Cass is a gutsy protagonist and this is written by somebody that knows the Shetlands, as well as Shetland and Scottish folklore and sailing.

“The Trowie Mound Murders” is the second novel in the “Cass Lynch Mysteries” series and was released in the year 2014. A visiting yachting couple vanish from the Brae, the Shetland oil capital, Cass, a sailing skipper, overcomes her own mistrust of the land world to ask DI Gavin Macrae, her old foe, for help.

Gavin finds a connection to international art theft, and he warns Cass to stay clear, however one of her sailing pupils disappears, she goes alone to find the secrets of the Neolithic tomb that is known locally as a ‘trowie mound’. Folklore, ghosts, and a nail biting finale at the local show combine in the novel.

Cass is an independent and strong sailboat skipper that lives on her boat. Marsali Taylor includes a lot of Shetland history as well as information about the city in general, and her characters are well developed.

“A Handful of Ash” is the third novel in the “Cass Lynch Mysteries” series and was released in the year 2014. Cass Lynch, liveaboard skipper and amateur sleuth, is busy attending marine college in Salloway. Until one night she discovers an acquaintance dead in a doorway with a hand smeared with peat ash.

Rumors begin to spread of one odd ritual connected to the witches that were once burned in Shetland’s ancient capital, and of one horned figure aboard during the night.

Cass initially thinks these are just superstition, until there is a second murder, and she starts wondering if the devil does actually walk in Scalloway.

Readers have gotten a sense of Shetland geography and phrasing without the need to look at a map or glossary of terms. The atmosphere is superb and the characters develop rather well. Taylor includes the right amount of background, clues, relationship-building, and her plot is well developed here.

“The Body in the Bracken” is the fourth novel in the “Cass Lynch Mysteries” series and was released in the year 2015. DI Gavin Macrae has been able to persuade Cass to spend Christmas in the Highlands with him, but their romantic walk out by the loch gets shortened once they find a skeleton among the bracken.

Back in Scotland, Cass hears about a man named Ivor Hughson, who has left his wife and his failed business a few months ago, and nobody’s heard from him since. One near-disaster aboard Cass’ yacht suggests that somebody wants her to stop asking questions on his disappearance.

At the same time, there are spooky reports about sightings of a njuggle, a Shetland water-horse that drowns curious passers-by. Soon it is taking Cass all of her wits just to survive.

The amount of detail Marsali includes in the novel allows the reader to feel like they are on the yacht with Cass. Fans of the book also enjoyed the descriptions about the Shetland Islands and Skye, and they feel like they want to travel to these places immediately.

“Ghosts of the Vikings” is the fifth novel in the “Cass Lynch Mysteries” series and was released in the year 2016. Opera stars and treasure hunters collide in the north of Shetland in this mystery.

Cass has set sail on a tentative relationship with DI Gavin Macrae and they have both been invited to attend the gala opening of her mom’s newest opera. The performance goes rather well, however it is quickly clear things aren’t so smooth backstage.

While the wind rises, and the power goes out, even Cass’ beloved yacht, called Khalida, cannot provide any refuge from some ruthless murderer.

Once more, Marsali Taylor combines her love and expertise of both the Shetland Islands and sailing to create an outstanding murder mystery that keeps you guessing throughout.

“Death in Shetland Waters” is the sixth novel in the “Cass Lynch Mysteries” series and was released in the year 2017. Cass has achieved the rank of third officer on board her beloved Norwegian sail-training ship, the Sorlandet. They are sailing from Norway off to Ireland as part of the Tall Ship’s race. One unnerving early-morning encounter leads to some suspicions that there is an additional person on board, although the cops don’t find anyone.

Cass and DI Macrae find themselves going up against a ruthless murderer. Cass also has to confront her own personal dilemma: if she wants to have a settled life with Gavin, she’s going to need to leave the sea, however could she even bear to do that?

Book Series In Order » Characters » Cass Lynch Mysteries

Leave a Reply