Book Notification

Cass Morris Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Aven Cycle Books

From Unseen Fire (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Give Way to Night (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bloodstained Shade (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The American Shakespeare Center Study Guide: Twelfth Night (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Cass Morris is a debut author who lives and works in Virginia and North Carolina with the companionship of two royal felines. Her upcoming novel, From Unseen Fire, is a historical fantasy epic from DAW Books, slated for publication on April 17th, 2018.

Cass is an educator and bookseller by trade, having worked at the Island Bookstore in Corolla, NC, at the Science Museum of Western Virginia in Roanoke, VA, and at the American Shakespeare Center in Staunton, VA. Cass champions independent bookstores and loves connecting customers to the books they don’t yet know they’ll adore. Cass worked at the American Shakespeare Center as Academic Resources Manager. She worked there from 2010 to 2017.

During her time there, Cass composed more than 20 full-length teaching guides for Shakespeare’s plays.

Cass has presented at conferences including 5 Shakespeare Association of America conferences, the 2015 Halved Heart conference at Shakespeare’s Globe, the 2016 Shakespeare Theatre Association teaching practicum, and three Blackfriars Conferences. Cass has also contributed essays to Shaping Shakespeare for Performance: The Bear Stage and Shakespeare Expressed: Page, Stage, and Classroom in Shakespeare and His Contemporaries.

In 2010, Cass Morris completed her Master of Letters at Mary Baldwin University , where she wrote her thesis, “Another Self: Amicitia and Relationship Dynamics in Shakespeare“ on the topic of the narrative of male friendship in Shakespeare’s comedies under the guidance of Dr. Mary Hill Cole and Dr. Ralph Alan Cohen. In 2007, Cass earned her undergraduate degree, a BA in English with a minor in history, from the College of William and Mary. She also served on the boards of theatrical extracurricular groups at both Mary Baldwin and William and Mary, performing in a number of early modern plays, as well as serving as social chair for WizMug, one of the nation’s premiere college-based Harry Potter fan clubs.

She has also presented at various fandom conventions including Ascendio, Sirens, LeakyCon, Leviosa, and MISTI-Con; Cass has also served as the assistant programming coordinator at MISTI-Con. Other hobbies off Cass include tabletop gaming, embroidery, and binging television shows that haven’t aired in decades. She is proud to be a member of authors’ coalitions including Authors 18, 17 Scribes, and The Debutante Ball. She reads voraciously, wears corsets voluntarily, and will beat you at MarioKart.

From Unseen Fire imagines an alternate-history Rome where magic intertwines with politics and warfare.

Following the death of a vicious Dictator, there are multiple groups who are attempting to take the power of the future of Aven. These groups are generals, elemental mages and senators.

One such mage is Latona of the Vitelliae. Latonia is a mage of Spirit and Fire however she has suppressed her talents up until this time. The reason for that is she didn’t want to draw any unwanted attention from the unscrupulous men.

However now that the Dictator is gone, Latona realizes she has a possible opportunity as a protector of the people. The only problem is finding the courage to do just that.

She’s going to have to ally with her siblings. One appears to be just a frivolous socialite however actually has a very canny and clever political mind. Another is a young prophetess who is just learning to navigate this treacherous world. The other is a military tribune. Together they will look to become the protector of the people.

Along the way, her path will intersect with Sempronious Tarren. Tarren is a senator with big ambitions with a secret. Sacred law has dictated that at no point should a mage hold high office, however that’s exactly what Tarren is looking to do. Tarren has kept it secret all his life that he is actually a Shadow mage.

Romance blossoms between the two and they attempt to shape the fate of Aven using wit, charm and mgic. Their opponents are going the other way however – resorting to sorcery and violence. Which one will win out?

Cass is represented by Connor Goldsmith of Fuse Literary Agency. She invites readers interested in learning more about the world of Aven to visit her website,, or to join her Patreon at for exclusive content.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Cass Morris

Leave a Reply