Book Notification

Cassandra King Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Sunday Wife (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Making Waves (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Same Sweet Girls (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Queen of Broken Hearts (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Moonrise (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Same Sweet Girls' Guide to Life (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tell Me a Story: My Life with Pat Conroy (As: Cassandra King Conroy) (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Stories from the Blue Moon Cafe II(2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Don't Quit Your Day Job: Acclaimed Authors and the Day Jobs They Quit(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
When You Pass Through Waters: Words of Hope and Healing from Your Favorite Authors(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
State of the Heart: South Carolina Writers on the Places They Love(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Our Prince of Scribes(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Reunion Beach: Stories Inspired by Dorothea Benton Frank(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Cassandra King Conroy is a bestselling author of general fiction and romance novels. In addition to her novels, she has also written numerous essays, a nonfiction book, magazine articles and numerous short stories.

She has been a college teacher of creative writing conducting corporate writing seminars in addition to working for a time as a human interest reporter. King said that her most popular work “Moonrise” was a homage to Daphne du Maurier’s “Rebecca.” The novel would become a bestseller and win the Okra Pick in 2013.
Dothea Benton Frank, Fannie Flagg and Sandra Brown have called her work fabulous, uplifting, absolutely wonderful and full of inimitable characters. King first published her debut novel “The Sunday Wife” in 2002 and has gone on to become one of the most respected southern writers in the genre today.

For her efforts, she has won several awards over the years including the Book of the Month Club selection by the Literary Guild, a Required Reading Selection by the New York Post among several other awards.

King Conroy grew up on a small farm in Pinckard Alabama and growing up, she often traveled to wonderful places to meet incredible characters in the books that she read.

It was a very isolated place and they did not have a neighbor in sight for miles, which is perhaps what resulted in her love for reading. Her mother used to drive her to the public library in town, where she could get all manner of books she wanted to read.

King came from a family of brilliant storytellers and right from the time she started reading she knew she was destined to become an author. When she went to college, she majored in English and afterwards studied creative writing for her masters degree.

Cassandra King often liked to dig into her roots from the days working at the farm to the time she was married to a preacher. It was from these experiences that she was inspired to write many of her bestselling titles that made her one of the most respected writers writing about the American South.
It was just at the time when her writing dreams were beginning to come true that she would meet Pat Conroy, the Southern storytelling legend that would become her husband.

Even though Cassandra King was always a shy bookish person growing up, it was not until she was inspired by her high school English teacher that she started thinking of writing as a career. Her mother has always been the biggest influence and inspiration for her writing career, even if she is more like her father.
Her mother always believed that she could grow up and become something of a Susannah Wesley, Melanie Wilkes ro Betty Crocker. On her part, she thought she wanted to grow up to be something like Zelda Fitzgerald or Dorothy Parker.

Her father used to be a hilarious and irreverent character who taught her to shoot a gun, fix a tractor and fish. Her father was a great storyteller and they used to have all manner of political discussions.

But it was not until she was 40 that she began thinking seriously of becoming an author and went back to school to study creative writing.

Cassandra King’s novel “The Same Sweet Girls” is an exploration of the lives of several lifelong friends. They grew up together but are now no longer girls and they have never even qualified for the title of sweet. They are Southern women who for the longest time have been having reunions twice every year since they went to college.

As is often the case, the women have gone on to have very diverse outcomes in their lives. There is the First Lady of Alabama named Julia Stovall who is a down to earth girl despite the face she puts on in public.

What none of her friends do not know is that her husband usually sneaks out at night and Stovall will do anything to unravel the mystery of where he goes. There is Lanier Sanders, a separated woman whose husband managed to get full custody of their children after he found out that she was having a fling with one of her colleagues.

There is former Broadway showgirl Astor Deveaux, who cannot help but flirt with everyone. Last is Corrine who has a very interesting story that unfolds over the course of the novel.

“The Sunday Wife” by Cassandra King is the story of the ambitious and handsome Reverend Benjamin Lynch who has been married for the past two decades. Dean Lynch who is his wife has never adjusted to being the spouse of Methodist minister or the demands placed on her every week.

When her husband gets assigned to one of the most prestigious churches in town, his wife makes friends with Augusta Holderfield. She is entranced by the extravagant habits and good looks of her new friend, but what she does not know is that Augusta has a secret past.

As they become closer, Dean starts rebelling from the preacher’s wife’s traditional roles and in doing so shocks many members of her new congregation. She has been questioning everything she has been taught and valued for years until there is a tragedy, which ultimately results in huge changes in her life.
What happens next is a story full of emotional power that ends with an explosive conclusion.

“Queen of Broken Hearts” by Cassandra King is the story of Clare who has a thriving divorce coach, which has made her be labelled the “Queen of Broken Hearts.”

She leads several retreats every year and is now working on opening a permanent home on one of the most beautiful properties on the Alabama coast. The building belongs to a colorful eccentric that also happens to be her mother in law. Over the years, she has taught her a lot about living freely, sacrifice and love.

When Clare is heartbroken following the tragic end of her marriage, she focuses her life on working. While Clare often helps hundreds of women and men looking for purpose following a bad breakup, she is yet to heal her own heart. In fact, the last thing she ever wants to do is fall in love again.

As such, it is quite a surprise when she meets the burly, charming and charismatic sea captain that moved into town where he just bought the marina. Clare only wants to be friends even though it is not long before she starts falling for him. But then she learns that she has a rival in Annalee, his estranged wife.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Cassandra King

Leave a Reply