Nick Petrie Series

Cat In The Stacks Mysteries Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Cat In The Stacks Mysteries Books

Murder Past Due (2010)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Classified as Murder (2011)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
File M for Murder (2012)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Out of Circulation (2012)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Silence of the Library (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Arsenic and Old Books (2015)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
No Cats Allowed (2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Twelve Angry Librarians (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Claws for Concern (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Six Cats a Slayin' (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Pawful Truth (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Careless Whiskers (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Cat Me If You Can (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
What the Cat Dragged In (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Hiss Me Deadly (2023)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Miranda James is one of the America’s top rated novelists. Miranda James alias Dean James. Miranda James is the seventh generation of Mississippi who long translated to Texas. Miranda has been a great fan of mystery since when he was only ten years old. He autored his first novel when he was only at the tender age of 12 years.

Miranda James has been a medical librarian for almost twenty years and he has published several articles mostly on topics such as the history of science/medicine, library science and mystery fiction. The first book which he co-authored with a colleague known as Jean Swanson was known as “By a woman’s hand” (Berkley; 1994). James and Jean won an Agatha Award for the best selling Mystery Non-fiction and were later selected by the Mystery Writers of America for the Edgar due to their top rated critical-Biographical job for this famous reference book. Due to their utmost dedication, the second edition of Mystery non-fiction was out barely two years later.

The good relationship between Miranda and Jean did not end there. They further collaborated and jointly wrote other two books that is “Killer books” (Berkley; 1998) and “the Dick Francis Companion” (Berkley; 2003). In total they have co-authored or jointly edited six books of mystery reference together with another short story anthology. He later collaborated with Elizabeth Foxwell and wrote “the Robert B. parker Companion” (Berkley; 2000).

Miranda came up with his first novel known as “CRUEL AS THE GRAVE” (Silver Dagger Mysteries) in the year 2000. As from that time, he has never stopped writing and he has gone ahead and wrote eighteen other novels. He authored those books under his personal name and the nicknames of Honor Hartman and Jimmie Ruth Evans. In the month of august 2010, he released his new series known as “Cat in the Stacks Mysteries” publishing as Miranda James. And the first novel in the series is known as “the Murder Past Due” (Berkley prime crime) this book spent almost one good month on the expanded New York Times best seller list for broad market paperbacks. The second novel in the “Cat in the Stacks Mysteries” series is known as “Classified as Murder” (Berkley prime crime), was published in May 2011 and it also hit the New York Best seller list. And the third novel in series is known as the “File M For Murder” (Berkley prime crime) is also out. The fourth one is called “Out of Circulation” (Berkley prime crime) was debuted as number eleven in the New York Times best seller list. The fifth novel in the series is known as “the Silence 0of the Library”(Berkley prime crime) is currently out. And get prepared for many more which are to follow. Everyone who has ever read his books has been left dumbfounded by his artistic work. The books in this series are just great and the more you read, the more you ask yourself when is the other will be out. Dean has great love for cats and he is currently living with two cats, several books and ever thinking of how he can kill people not practically but just within the books of fiction.

The setting of this series took place around Athena Mississippi. The first in the series is MURDER PAST DUE consist of following characters; Diesel a Maine coon cat rescued by Charlie Harries a kind librarian who carries with him Diesel almost everywhere he goes. Maine coon cats are very big and they weigh approximately 25 pounds almost the biggest in cat family.

Diesel and his owner are living in Athena, Mississippi where Charlie who lost his wife to cancer, decides to go back to his home town to live in a home he inherited from his aunt. And he decides to work in the Archive Department of the college library and Diesel is a popular visitor in the library but mostly like to accompany Charlie. A part from working at the library, Charlie also rents out some rooms in his home to students the same way his aunt used to do. Diesel has got a trait which is only one of its kinds, and that is ability to tell when people around him need a paw, a cuddle or a head bump; he is especially fond of staying close to Justin, a new student who is sharing a room with Charlie.

Charlie is engrossed in his work when he gets to know the return of the popular author and former classmate, Godfrey Priest. Godfrey is coming back to Athena to promote his new book and also to take care of some business. Charlie suddenly remembers his former schoolmate as someone who used to be very arrogant and used to think was better than everyone else and a few people also agreed with that evaluation. His returning home is full of events, by lunch time, he had sent one to the hospital for treatment, and he literarily turned the lives of the residents in this town upside down, and by dinner, he had gone to stay with the ancestors or in other words he is found dead in his hotel room. Charlie suddenly finds himself looking for any information he can lay his hands on to determine who might have killed a man who nobody liked to associate with, mostly his colleagues. Godfrey was not liked by very many people if not all. This is quite a perplexing mystery. Whoever has ever read this book has never thought of putting it down as it will captivate you from the first page. In fact it is astounding how Charlie forms a formidable detective team to unravel the mystery behind the death of Godfrey Priest.

The second book in this series is CLASSIFIED AS MURDER which is about the growing old eccentric James Delacorte who asked Charlie the librarian to do an inventory of his uncommon book collection. But suddenly the job goes down from being tedious to a rather terrifying one when James joined the ancestors or turned up dead. Depending on his friend Diesel he has to leave no stone unturned to unearth the mystery behind James’ death. And Charlie has to bring the killers of James to justice before another person becomes a prey to the ordeal or before another victim checks out.

To conclude, all the books contained in CAT IN THE MYSTERIES series by James Miranda are indeed breath taking and if your hobby is reading novels, please run to the nearest bookshop or supermarket and pick any of the books in this series if not all of them. Their prices are pocket friendly.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Cat In The Stacks Mysteries

One Response to “Cat In The Stacks Mysteries”

  1. Shelly: 3 months ago

    Currently, reading Classified as Murder, found this book at Books A Million… Love it, I will read the entire series.


Leave a Reply