Cate Conte Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Cat Cafe Mystery Books

Cat About Town (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Purrder She Wrote (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Tell Tail Heart (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Whisker of a Doubt (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Claws for Alarm (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Witch Hunt Books

Witch Hunt (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Witch Trial (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Cozy Case Files Mystery Sampler Books

A Cozy Mystery Sampler, Vol 1 (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Cozy Mystery Sampler, Vol 2 (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Cozy Mystery Sampler, Vol 3 (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Cozy Mystery Sampler, Vol 4 (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Cozy Mystery Sampler, Vol 5 (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Cozy Mystery Sampler, Vol 6 (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Cozy Mystery Sampler, Vol 7 (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Cozy Mystery Sampler, Vol 8 (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Cozy Mystery Sampler, Vol 9 (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Cozy Mystery Sampler, Vol 10 (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Cozy Mystery Sampler, Vol 11 (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Cozy Mystery Sampler, Vol 12 (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Anthology series.If author is listed on a book then this author wrote a story within that book.

Cate Conte is an author that writes cozy mystery novels about frustrated protagonists and the animals that help them find a modicum of peace in life.


The first thing you need to know is that Cate Conte is a pseudonym for Liz Mugavero. Liz has also written books under her real name.

Cate Conte was a nerd as a child. She isn’t shy about admitting that fact.

The author couldn’t keep her nose out of a book. Eventually, she graduated from reading books to actually writing them. Cate remembers initially losing herself in the world of short stories. However, she did not stay long. As her teenage years began, Cate was quickly drawn to poetry.

The author had a tendency to view her life through the eyes of a Soap Opera. And writing bad poetry allowed her to express some of the angst she felt. Either way, no one could deny the fact that the author was destined to be a novelist.

Of course, like many of her peers, Cate Conte’s journey to publishing success wasn’t without its detours.

Born in Lawrence, Massachusetts, Cate was never shy about telling everyone that was willing to listen that she was going to become a famous author. The fact that her earlier attempts at writing were poor at best did nothing to break her spirit.

Cate, it should be said, set her sights on a degree in English at an early age. However, her friends and family saw this as a sign that she would go into teaching, probably integrating into the department of English. Of course, that prospect was no more acceptable than Cate Conte’s publishing dreams. After all, that wasn’t the easiest way to make a living.

Interestingly enough, Cate Conte’s first novel was completed during her days at University. The author used it as her grad school thesis. However, rather than using it to showcase what she could do as a writer to her doubting friends and family, Cate saw fit to simply bury it, and she has no intention of showing it to anyone.

The author eventually went ahead and acquired a Master’s Degree in Writing and Publishing. Contrary to the expectations of her loved ones, Cate went into journalism. It was during her days as a reporter that the author came to appreciate her love for the mystery genre. She even began writing her first mystery novel around this time.

The ‘Pawsitively Organic Mysteries’ series came into being in 2011, written under Cate Conte’s real name and setting her on the path to writing animal-related mystery novels. Cate has repeatedly shown appreciation for the work the ‘Sisters in Crime’ did to help put her on the map.

‘Sisters in Crime’, according to Cate Conte, gave her a place where she could meet like-minded crime writers and share the victories and successes of working in the mystery genre. It was from ‘Sisters in Crime’ that Cate found her agent. A call went out for interested writers to create new cozy mystery proposals. Of all the authors who submitted proposals, Cate was among those selected and that eventually led her to encounter and work with John Talbot.

Cate’s entire writing career began with that proposal. Cate has since distinguished herself as a Cozy mystery author. Cate loves animals and that shows starkly in her books. The author began adopting cats when she was much younger. And she quickly fell in love with the species. A lot of Cate’s efforts are dedicated to helping organizations rescue and care for abandoned cats.

Cate admits that she has more cats than might be healthy but she loves them all. And her books are designed to build empathy for cats amongst her readers. She also wants readers to learn about the best ways to take care of their cats and to maintain their health.

Whereas other authors want their readers to walk away from their books having been moved emotionally, Cate Conte is only satisfied when feedback from her audience reveals that they have learned something about animal nutrition.

It is worth noting that, despite her work as an author, Cate hasn’t completely given up on her day job. After leaving journalism, Cate did some work in PR and Communications. She hasn’t stopped working PR and Communications gigs. However, her love for writing novels is unparalleled. She tends to give priority to her novels over most other activities.

It is sometimes a little difficult to understand why Liz Mugavero writes novels under a pseudonym. The author’s books as Liz do not vary drastically from her novels as Cate Conte.

+Cat About Town.

When Maddie James comes to Daybreak Island, she isn’t really looking for trouble, or so she claims. Either way, trouble seems determined to find her, and how well she handles it will determine the direction her life will take.

Maddie’s decision to move to the idyllic location off the coast of Massachusetts is driven by her desire to settle down, find some peace and open up her business. If all goes well, Maddie wouldn’t be averse to falling in love.

When a cat pushes its way into Maddie’s life, she doesn’t give it much thought. She doesn’t realize the shenanigans that are about to ensue. It all begins with the orange tabby stray finding a dead body.

The deceased was the town bully. The fact that Maddie’s cat found the body works against her when everyone begins to look at her as a suspect for the crime, and they have good reasons to do so.

After all, she is a mysterious cat lady who’s new to the town. Maddie isn’t too keen on meddling in other people’s business. After all, she has a business to run and a cat to care for. And that isn’t even taking into account the bachelors that are fighting tooth and nail to win her heart.

Maddie doesn’t know if she is comfortable with all the attention coming her way. But she knows she must solve the murder in order to avert the suspicion surrounding her name..

The first book in the Cat Café Mystery series by Cate Conte introduces readers to Maddie James who goes home to attend her grandmother’s funeral. While staying with her relatives, Maddie realizes that things are a little different from what she remembers.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Cate Conte

Leave a Reply