Book Notification

Catharine Dobbs Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Foundling Chronicles Books

Emily's Story (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Adelia's Story (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Libby's Story (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Christmas Gift for Hanna (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Cutler's Daughter (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Girl by the Sea (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Abandoned Prodigy (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Saint Petersburg Orphan (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Milliner's Daughter (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Embracing Hope at Christmas (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Orphan of Howdall Heights (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wretched Outcast (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The London Lardy Orphan (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The River Thames Orphan (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Jennie's Christmas Cards (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Candlemaker's Destitute Daughter (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Crofter's Daughter (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Glimmers of Hope (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Orphan's Plight (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Orphan's Disgrace (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bound to the Workhouse (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Orphan's Dilemma (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Maggie the Matchstick Orphan (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Virginia's Pendant (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Girl From the Docks (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Orphan Jennie Jones (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Huddersfield Orphan (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Orphans of Warrenby Mill (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Her Father's Legacy (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Christmas Songbird (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Orphaned Artist (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Olivia - The Runaway (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Catharine Dobbs is a bestselling historical romance author that is best known for her Victorian stories. She has said that she has always been a lover of Victorian stories of intrigue, romance, and hardship for as long as she can remember.
Growing up in Manchester, she used to love reading all manner of Charles Dickens novels. As such, she always had an admiration for the many survivors of the hardships from that time in history.

It is from her interest in the Regency period that she would get the inspiration to pen her many novels of hardship which her characters usually get over with a romantic twist.

Dobbs penned “Adelia’s Story,” her debut novel and the first of the “Foundling Chronicles” series of novels in 2019 and has never looked back since.

Catharine now has at least thirty works to her name among them a series, single-standing novels, and novellas, which have made her a very popular author.

“Adelia’s Story” by Catharine Dobbs introduces Adelia who is elated when she learns that she is to be adopted by her uncle and her aunt.

For much of her life, she has been living at the Foundling Hospital but now she has found a wealthy family who wants to adopt and love her. But her elation is short-lived as she soon realizes that she had been openly rejected by her grandmother and father.
When Adelia’s aunt gets pregnant, she is reduced to nothing more than a servant who services the needs of her younger cousin. Things change when Dante comes into her life.

He is an old friend that she knew from the Foundling Hospital and she is not willing to let go as he becomes the light in her life.

The best thing is that the man shares her affection but then Ambrose her uncle has made some dastardly marriage plans for his stepdaughter. Will Dante be able to get to Adelia before she gets married to a stranger or will her outcome be decided by fate?
It makes for an interesting Victorian novella with an interesting character and a well-written plot that will have you on the edge of your seat from the first page to the last.

Catharine Dobbs’ novel “Emily’s Story” is the story of Emily who spent much of her early life living in despair and fear in a foundling hospital. She is made to feel unworthy as she is held to societal expectations that are not in her control.
When she is finally old enough, she gets out of the hospital and gets employment at a wealthy household where she is employed as a scullery maid.

But then she has a chance encounter with friends from childhood including a boy that had been very kind to her years earlier. Marcus had never forgotten the young girl he once met while he was delivering some items at the hospital.
He has always had fond memories of the kind-hearted girl who has grown into a beautiful young woman. However, she seems to be followed by trouble everywhere she goes.

At some point, her reputation is ruined when false accusations are made against her. This forces her to leave and go back to the foundling hospital which is where she had always felt loved.
Will Marcus ever find her again and will he ignore the different social standing and the lies to proclaim his never dying love?

“Libby’s Story” by Catharine Dobbs is another intriguing story of a woman who had a dreadful start in life. Libby Hardy had been abused and beaten by other foundling children as she had been abandoned by her family when she was very little.
Following years of torment, she cannot wait to be reunited with her mother but once again she finds her dreams dashed. Hope returns the following morning in the form of someone from her past named Jack Renfield who takes her breath away.
He is a man of perseverance and ambition as he is an aspiring law apprentice. Jack is interested in Libby but decorum and social standing dictate his behavior.

Moreover, his employer is an adversary to be feared as he is vigilant when he sees how fond Jack is of Libby. In their way are several obstacles and the question is will Jack and Libby’s attraction to each other be strong enough to beat the challenges?
Meanwhile, her despicable stepfather is determined to ensure she never achieves any kind of happiness. Will true love survive or will the dark forces of bitterness and spite prevail?

Book Series In Order » Authors » Catharine Dobbs

Leave a Reply