Book Notification

Catherine Coles Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Martha Miller Mysteries Books

Poison at the Village Show (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Daggers at the Country Fair (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death at Lovers Leap (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Seacrest Siblings Books

Publication Order of Tommy & Evelyn Christie Books

Murder at the Manor (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder at the Village Fete (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder in the Churchyard (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder in Belgrave Square (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder at the Wedding Chapel (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder at Rochester Park (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder in India (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder at Docere House (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder at the Seaside (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Doctor Behind the Mask (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Blaze(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mysteries, Midsummer Sun and Murders(2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Catherine Coles is a mystery writer born in Germany. She is a daughter of a military father and spent most of the first 14 years of her life abroad. She could read anything she could find from a young age.

Her favorite author was Nancy Drew and later Agatha Christie, and she could read any mystery story she could get. Catherine writes a cozy mystery novel set in the English countryside.

Murder at the Manor
Evelyn Christie is a policeman’s wife, and ex- soldier Tommy Christie does not enjoy a weekend at Hessleham Hall. It’s Tommy’s family home, and being the third in line to inherit, he knows the family will be pressuring her to give them an heir. She feels it’s better to stay at home and breed dogs instead.
The weekend party becomes mournful when Tommy’s uncle, Earl of Northmoor, becomes sick and dies during dinner. Doctors believe that his death results from poisoning, meaning that someone inside the party is the suspect. His son, Edgar, becomes the next Earl and requests the police to allow them to go on the grouse Hunt.

The police don’t appear to be doing much in the investigations, so Evelyn and Tommy are trying to push things. Tommy’s Cousin Eddie and Eddie’s wife Lillian have the strongest motive but aren’t honest with Evelyn and Tommy.

Edgar is shot to death during the grouse hunt leaving his cousin Tommy as the next Earl. This time, Tommy is believed to be the main suspect, even though many other suspects at the party with a similar agenda.

Evelyn knows that her husband didn’t lust for the inheritance or the title and isn’t capable of killing anyone. Now it’s up to Evelyn to use all the knowledge she gained when she was a police officer to find the real killer and set her husband free before it’s too late.

Being an ex-policeman, Tommy is the best in investigating, while Evelyn knows how to befriend people. The mystery is intriguing as there were a lot of possible suspects in the murder. The author employs greed, illicit relationships, and aristocracy to create a thrilling murder mystery.

Tommy has not only police experience but also a staunch sense of justice despite who is involved. Murder at the Manor is a delightful cozy murder mystery with great character development and twists to keep the reader guessing.

The novel’s storyline is exciting, and the characters are all believable. The characters are realistic and aren’t who they appear to be. Catherine Coles keeps divulging with little and reveals to ensure the reader stays engaged.

Murder at the Village Fete
Murder at the Village Fete is the second in the Tommy and Evelyn Christie Mystery series. Tommy, a former policeman, is currently Lord Northmoor after inheriting the title in unexpected ways from the previous installment. His wife, Evelyn, had also served as police.

In this novel, the two are still adjusting to their new roles and life, and Millicent, Evelyn’s sister, convinced them to host the local fete at the Hessleman Hall. Her father, a former MP, has requested them to invite some of his close friends and former colleagues.

A large number of the guests have endless demands and complaints, which leave the staff more annoyed among the guests staying in the current MP, Robert Billingham, who is to open the fete officially.

As is everything else, the weather is just right, with dogs running out, as usual, the staff working tirelessly, and the guests waiting in the hall. What could go wrong?

However, on the morning of the fete, while Tommy and Evelyn are walking her Gordon setters, Nancy and Davey, they find Billingham, with his face lying down in the stream and a knife stabbed on his back. Detective Inspector Andrews is given the case, but soon Tommy and Evelyn decide to step in and find the murderer for the safety of their guests. They have to find the killer soon before he strikes once more.

The mystery’s theme is based on corruption in ammunition supplies during the war, which left many soldiers dead. There are many suspects, including Evelyn’s father, but all his guests were also in key positions and got letters of blackmail after the incident. The beautiful new school teacher, Isolde, appears to have something to hide while Ernest Franklin is seen snooping around.

The murder mystery results from some threads where all the main suspects took part in the corruption scandal; it’s not easy to know the mastermind. Might the blackmailer have more motives than just blackmailing?

Eve and Tommy made a good team taking things into their hands to solve the murder mystery before more killings happen. There are lots of suspects since most of the guests are behaving suspiciously.

Catherine Coles explores relationships while highlighting Tommy and Evelyn’s comfortable relationship where they trust each other, giving each other a chance to live their life to the maximum. The story was set in East Yorkshire, England, in 1921.

Murder at the Village Fete is a delightful and exciting historical cozy mystery that will keep you at the edge of your seat due to its setting and unforgettable characters.

Murder in the Churchyard
Murder in the Churchyard is the third in Tommy and Evelyn mystery series. The story is based in a Yorkshire village where everyone thinks they know each one’s business and gossip about it but later find out that there was a lot more going on.

Evelyn is attending church when one member collapses in the foyer, and while attending to him, another member shows up covered in blood. A man’s body is found in the churchyard with a cut-throat, and anyone in the village is a suspect since due to a large amount of snow in the village, the killer couldn’t have come and left.

The police are called, but they can get through with the ice all over the village. The body belongs to the estranged husband of the school teacher, Isolde. Now it’s up to Tommy and Evelyn to try and solve the mystery and find the killer before he gets to his next victim. The couple is still settling as the New Lord and lady of the manor while dealing with their amateur detective work’s strain on their marriage.

Some part of Isolde feels relieved when her ex is killed since she’s currently in love with the town doctor, Teddy. Her new lover is thought to be the lead suspect, and as Evelyn gathers more clues, she feels that Teddy is being framed. Can they solve the murder mystery and find the killer together?

Book Series In Order » Authors » Catherine Coles

Leave a Reply