Book Notification

Catherine Hokin Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Hanni Winter Books

The Commandant's Daughter (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Pilot's Girl (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Girl in the Photo (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Her Last Promise (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Blood and Roses (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fortunate Ones (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
What Only We Know (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lost Mother (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Secretary (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The German Child (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Children We Lost (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Catherine Hokin is a historical fiction author who is known for writing novels that draw inspiration from Berlin her favorite city.

She is a person that has had quite a meandering career as she has been involved in politics, teaching, and marketing before settling to become a historical fiction author.

Hokin loves to describe herself as a story writer and story lover and nothing fascinates her more than a quest and a strong female lead character. She published Blood and Roses her debut novel in 2016 and has since published at least nine titles spread across single-standing titles and several series.

While Catherine was born in Northern England, she would move to Glasgow late on in life and now lives with her American husband in Glasgow. She is the mother to several grown children living in Berlin and London which means she has all the time to write as an empty nester.
When she is not writing her novels, she can sometimes be found at the cinema or listening to some very loud music.

Hokin was born in the small town of Cumbria in northern England but has now lived in Glasgow for at least a dozen years.

She has made a name for herself penning novels set in Eastern Europe and Berlin and covering the era from the 1930s to the 1990s and the end of the Cold War. She particularly loves to explore the impact of conflict on the lives of ordinary people.
In addition to her bestselling novels, she has also penned short fiction that has been published in “The Scottish Arts Club Anthology,” “iScot,” “Writers’ Forum,” and “Mslexia.”

Catherine Hokin has also won several awards for her fiction including the Short Story Competition by “Flash Fiction.” She has made a reputation for herself penning predominantly dark comic stories from history.
Outside her fiction writing career, she has led several Glasgow CCA and library workshops and chaired author and conference panels. Some of the common topics that she explores when teaching her workshops and conferences include lessons on the publishing process, writing, and research.

She also teaches students how to use historical artifacts and photographs as prompts ad history to make stories.

For Catherine Hokin, writing is something that she has been doing ever since she learned how to read and write.

Her debut novel “Blood and Roses” tells the story of Margaret Anjou who played a critical role in shaping the destiny of England during the Wars of the Roses. During her childhood, her father and his friends were obsessed with the mentioned wars and she grew up believing that the characters in the games they played were real.

When she went to college and studied history, she realized that Margaret was one feisty woman and she just knew she had to write her story. But it would take a long time as she got distracted by life before she published her debut in 2016.
Catherine is now a full-time fiction author who spends much of her day writing and promoting her novels. When she is not writing, she can usually be found taking a walk to clear her head, particularly in the evenings.

Catherine Hokin’s “The Commandant’s Daughter” is set in Berlin in 1933. It is there that Hanni Foss, a ten-year-old is standing beside her father witness to the torchlit procession that is celebrating Germany’s new leader – Adolf Hitler.
As the lights disappear down the streets, she is certain that her happy and safe childhood will never be the same again. Almost instantaneously, the father she loved so much becomes a monster charged with overseeing one of the most famous concentration camps of the Nazi regime.

A dozen years later, the Nazis are losing their grip on power and Hanni is hiding in a small lodging house on the outskirts of Berlin.

Unbeknownst to her father, she had been taking pictures of the happenings at the concentration camp as a child and subsequently run away intending to get justice for the innocent people that had to undergo such atrocities.
But on the very day she intended to give the pictures to the allies, she once again comes face to face with Reiner Fioss her father who it seems had changed sides and taken a new identity.

He says he is going to do everything in his power to protect his dark past but Hanni is also determined to take him down. But at what cost?

“The Pilot’s Girl” by Catherine Hokin opens with Hanni Winter a girl that had witnessed the heartbreaking events at Auschwitz. Her father had warned her to never speak of what she saw or he would commit her to the camps herself.

Several years later, she is in Berlin looking for a job in freezing winter weather and heads out to meet Tony Miller. The latter is an American pilot who risks his life to bring provisions and food to the many residents of the city that are starving.
However, her joy is quickly extinguished when she sees that he is accompanied by Reiner Foss. The man who had been nicknamed “The Showman” brings back horrific memories of the time she lived at Auschwitz.

The last time she made an attempt to expose the man she had almost lost her life and she is afraid of doing so again. She is torn between leaving the horrors behind and taking refuge in the sparkling eyes of Tony or protecting her loved ones.
While she has vowed to avenge the people who had suffered at the hand of the Nazis, will she be able to protect her loved ones or will she pay a very expensive price?

Catherine Hokin’s novel “The Girl in the Photo” is set in a 1944 concentration camp where a girl is trying to hold back tears as her mother is taken away on her train leaving her all alone.

Fast forward half a dozen years, Hanni Winter is proudly showing her husband around her debut photography exhibition. His face turns deathly white when he sees the picture of a girl about four years old.

He says it was his little sister that had been taken to a concentration camp by Nazi henchmen. Freddy asks Hanni to help him find his sister and their quest takes them across a desolate land. But one place she will not visit is the Theresienstadt Concentration Camp which she still has nightmares of.

Freddy ultimately convinces her to accompany him to the camp and immediately upon stepping on the threshold, all the memories of trapped and uprooted prisoners begin to come back. Even worse she comes face to face with the Nazi she fled from all those years in the past.
It makes for a heartwrenching story about courage and love in the face of terrible odds.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Catherine Hokin

2 Responses to “Catherine Hokin”

  1. Francis Becht: 8 months ago

    I have read all of Catherine’s book except “Blood and Roses” which appears to have been her first book published in 2016. I have read all of her books in the kindle format. Is “Blood and Roses” available in kindle format?

    • Graeme: 8 months ago

      Unfortunately it does not appear that it is.


Leave a Reply