Book Notification

Catherine Lloyd Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Kurland St. Mary Mystery Books

Death Comes to the Village (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death Comes to London (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death Comes to Kurland Hall (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death Comes to the Fair (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death Comes to the School (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death Comes to Bath (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death Comes to the Nursery (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death Comes to the Rectory (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Miss Morton Mysteries Books

Miss Morton and the English House Party Murder (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Miss Morton and the Spirits of the Underworld (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Miss Morton and the Deadly Inheritance (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Catherine Lloyd was born near London, England into a big family who all dream big, love history, and are artists. She got her master’s degree in the subject of history from the University College of Wales, Aberystwyth; from this she uses the skills she picked up so that she can research and write her historical mysteries. She lives in America with her youngest child and her husband. Agatha Christie is an influence of Catherine Lloyd.

Lloyd writes the “Kurland St. Mary Mystery” series, and is not to be confused with the other author named Catherine Lloyd who writes romance novels.

“Death Comes to the Village” is the first novel in the “Kurland St. Mary Mystery” series that was released in 2013. A rector’s daughter and soldier who was wounded in war find that there are strange things happening in the quiet little village of Kurland St. Mary. Major Robert Kurland has come back to the quiet vistas of his home in the village to get better from the horrors he faced in Waterloo. He still has an active mind, despite his injured body. Maybe too active. He sees a shadowy figure from the window in his bedroom that is struggling with something heavy, it starts to make the village’s nice facade crack some. Robert is unable to forget the incident and contacts a childhood friend who is Lucy Harrington. She is the dutiful daughter of a widowed rector who helps him follow up on things, but the diversion blooms into real and actual danger. Someone wants the investigation stopped. And fast. No one locks their doors in this place, so when some thefts happen and two serving girls disappear, things need to be explained for them. Robert struggles with his hard recovery while he and Lucy try to figure out what is going on and stop the killer before they strike again.

Fans of the novel like the way the characters are written here in the novel and would like to see them some more in future books. There are some interesting twists and turns to this story that keep things moving nicely. This novel is for the fan that does not care when the body turns up, and enjoys cozy mysteries. Fans liked the way that you get to see certain people have to act a certain way within the historical context of things.

“Death Comes to London” is the second novel in the “Kurland St. Mary Mystery” series that was released in 2014. Spending some time in London is supposed to be a change of pace for a pair of friends who live in the village of Kurland St. Mary. That is until murder makes a debut. Lucy and Anna (Lucy’s sister), with the blessings of their father they go to London. Major Robert is supposed to go to the city to get a baronetcy for his acts of heroism during the war. Among all of the balls and formal dinners, things shift to the murder of dowager Countess of Broughton. The dowager Countess is the mother of someone that Robert was friends with in the army. It is revealed that she has been poisoned, Miss Chingford (who is Robert’s former betrothed) is accused of the crime and she points her finger at Anna. Lucy has Robert look into things to find out who really did it. There are many suspects that range from rivals and bitter family members. It will take much of their sleuthing skills to figure out who the killer is.

Fans of the novel found that there is a nicely developing romance in the novel and great characters, even the secondary characters are strong here. Fans found themselves wanting to read more of the series, this is quite a series of cozy mysteries to follow. The setting here is a nice change of pace for readers from Kurland St. Mary, as it gives the reader a chance to see the way things are in London, with the balls and dinners and the way the upper class is was great. Some felt that they had the mystery part figured out, but were still able to enjoy reading the book. Some find that this series is at the top of the list as far as cozy mystery series go.

“Death Comes to Kurland Hall” is the third novel in the “Kurland St. Mary Mystery” series that was released in 2015. There is about to be wedding in the village of Kurland St. Mary and various kinds of people flock there. Lucy Harrington has gone back to Kurland St. Mary to help out with Sophia Giffin’s wedding. Her homecoming is made disagreeable by Robert Kurland being there, whose proposal has ruined Lucy’s composure. A widow who has plans for her father, the village rector. She does not like Mrs. Chingsford from the get go, Lucy has doubts about what she wants with her father. Everyone thinks that they make a great match for each other. Until, of course Mrs. Chingsford is found deceased at the foot of a staircase. It is only clear that there was foul play. Lucy and Robert call a truce to find out who killed the woman and look at the guests to see who could have done it. There are plenty of enemies that the widow left behind her. One of which is next to die, and Lucy and Robert find that the truth of things is much more scandalous than everyone could have figured possible.

Fans of the novel found that the novel has a mystery in it that is more complex from the other books because of the victim. Quite an entertaining novel to a interesting and engaging series. The author seems to be able to outdo herself with each and every installment to the series. There is a better balance to the suspense, threat to Lucy and Robert, and the way the clues are revealed than in past books. This novel has riveting plot that has so many twists and turns that will fool some. It also has some strong females in it. Fans want more and more novels to the series.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Catherine Lloyd

2 Responses to “Catherine Lloyd”

  1. Betty Olson: 2 years ago

    I love love your books. Just bought Murder at the Nursery and Murder at the Rector. I hope you continue to write this series. It’s a mystery story and a love story

  2. Bonney McCrum-Walker: 2 years ago

    I hope you and yours have weathered the horrible pandemic OK. And not just because I want to read more Kurland books. (I have purchased all of them on my Nook.) I hate to sound selfish, but I do NOT like to see people die unnecessarily. A friend of mine told me she read that in George Washington’s time (Yes, in the 1770’s), people were dragged out of their home to be forcibly vaccinated for small pox when that horrible disease ran rampant. She couldn’t find the reference in her library. True? Did they ever do anything like that in England?


Leave a Reply