Book Notification

Catherine Webb Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Leanan Kite Books

Publication Order of Sam Linnifer Books

Publication Order of Horatio Lyle Books

The Extraordinary and Unusual Adventures of Horatio Lyle (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Obsidian Dagger (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Doomsday Machine (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dream Thief (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Kate Griffin Short Story Collections

The Garden Stories (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Matthew Swift Books

as Kate Griffin
A Madness of Angels (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Midnight Mayor (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Neon Court (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Minority Council (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Magicals Anonymous Books

as Kate Griffin

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Alchemy Press Book of Urban Mythic(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Catherine Web is a British author born in 1986. She has written books under the pseudonyms Claire North and Kate Griffin.


Catherin Webb studied at the Godolphin and Latymer School in London. She also attended the London School of Economics, taking an interest in history along the way. Most authors nurture their talent in their teens and eventually achieve their publishing dreams a decade or two later on.

By 14 years of age, Catherine Webb had already published Mirror Dreams, her very first novel. The fact that she took to writing so quickly isn’t surprising. Webb’s father, Nick Webb, is an author and publisher, so Catherine Webb grew up immersed in literature.

With his connections, it didn’t take Webb long to find an agent who eventually got her book published by Atom Books in 2002. Not long after that Webb was named Young Trailblazer of the Year by CosmoGirl UK, an accolade she justified by going on to publish several novels in the young adult genre.

By the time she graduated in 2010 from the Royal Academy of Dramatic Art, Webb had accomplished far more than most authors achieve in a lifetime. It is worth noting that Webb’s parents never wanted her to take the publishing route.

By seven years of age, her mother and father had taken her aside and discouraged her from taking to writing as a career, describing it as a ridiculous job and instead pushing her to pursue something more practical and proper.

Sufficing to say, Webb didn’t take this advice; influenced by authors like Roger Zelazny, Terry Pratchett, and Raymond Chandler, Catherine Webb took to fantasy with a fervor that continued to drive her throughout her teenage years.

And because she is a lifelong Londoner, it isn’t that surprising that the city plays such an inspirational role in her writing. Webb admits to spending significant portions of her time simply walking the streets of London.

As far as her writing approach is concerned, it rarely takes the author more than eight weeks to produce a novel. For Catherine Webb, once she develops her ideas, she normally steps away from the project for three months and pursues other activities. Eventually, she grows so desperate to write that, once she finally sits down and gets to work, it doesn’t take her long to complete her projects. Webb is always encouraging young writers to avoid isolation, instead going out, meeting people and seeing new things while they are writing their books in order to avoid going mad.

Catherine Webb has written science fiction and fantasy novels under the pseudonyms of Claire North and Kate Griffin.

+Mirror Dreams

The Kingdoms of the Void are the homes of dreams. It is here that you will find every dream you have ever had and every dream you will have in times to come. Nightmares also find a home in the kingdoms of Void.

Crucial to the existence of the Kingdoms of Void is the balance that must be maintained, and the rules that must be adhered to. Unfortunately for all involved, the Lords of Nightkeep care very little about the rules.

For them, only conquest and fear matter, possibly even Eternal Darkness for All. Everything stands on the shoulders of wizards like Leanan Kite to keep things in check, especially at such a time when the Lords’ hunger has brought their gaze towards earth.

Catherine Webb wrote this book when she was only fourteen. Individuals that read this book at around that same age will admit to being inspired to do some writing of their own.

This is one beautiful tale, filled with humor and following Kite, a wizard living in a dream. The interesting thing about Kite is the fact that whenever he dreams he comes down to earth.

Kite becomes concerned when dreamers all over the planet begin falling asleep and fail to wake up. It falls upon Kite’s shoulders to save the day. But Kite is a little reluctant. There is something sad about him and people have compared him to the popular Television character Doctor Who.

You cannot help but love him. This book has a little of everything from humor to action and romance. The hero is believable and the female protagonist is as kick-ass as they get. There are elements that show the author’s age but nothing is so egregious as to take you out of the book.


Sam Linnifer is the only hope for earth’s survival. The elder Gods are one step closer to freeing the dread Lord Cronus. And with the aid of the Pandora Spirits, their chances of success have never been higher.

The only thing Sam has going for him is the light that Time bestowed upon him; however, to unleash this light would mean touching the mind of every human on Earth and, in doing so, incurring deadly consequences.

Will Sam destroy himself in order to save the souls of everyone on earth?

This is the second book in Catherine Webb’s Sam Linnifer novels. In the sequel to Waywalkers, Sam finds that the Pandora spirits are being used against him, and even those persons that seek to assist him in his hour of need could be pawns in the hands of a more sinister force.

Because Sam is all alone, unable to rely on the allies he acquired in the first book, an urgent need for survival is created, this explaining why the plot never stops progressing. Readers are treated to non-stop action as Sam faces his greatest challenge yet.

Sam is easy to root for because he has nothing; he personifies the underdog protagonist you cannot help but cheer for. Admittedly, Sam doesn’t elicit excitement in everyone. You will find readers who have nothing good to say about this novel.

Some audiences have complained that Catherine Webb tries to do way too much. For some readers, Webb fails in her efforts to weave all the world’s mythologies and religions into a cohesive structure that is easy to understand. However, where some readers see a mess, others see creativity.

This book doesn’t exactly break new ground in the fantasy arena, but it is engaging enough to make up for some of its weaknesses.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Catherine Webb

Leave a Reply