Book Notification

Cathy Gohlke Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Civil War Books

William Henry is a Fine Name (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
I Have Seen Him in the Watchfires (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Promise Me This (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Band of Sisters (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Saving Amelie (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Secrets She Kept (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Until We Find Home (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Medallion (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Night Bird Calling (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Hundred Crickets Singing (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ladies of the Lake (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Into The Starry Night (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Cathy Gohlke is a critically acclaimed and award-winning author of inspirational fiction that is best known for the Civil War series. Some of the prestigious awards she has won include the Christy, INSPY, and American Christian Fiction Awards.
Her works have also been featured in “My Turn to Care” and in a range of magazines, newspapers, monologues, and plays that have been produced on local stages.

Cathy published her first novel “William Henry is Fine Name” her debut work in the “Civil War” series in 2006 and has never looked back since.

Cathy Gohlke has come to be known for penning novels full of inspirational lessons. She usually opens stories that speak of life and world events through a historical lens as she fights the battle against oppression.

She has said that she gets most of the inspiration for her drama, poetry, and stories from her love for history as well as her interesting and large family, the farms and small towns she has lived in, and the people she has known.
When she is not at historical sites doing research for her novels, she can be found dividing her time between the Jersey Shore and northern Virginia.

As a child, Cathy Gohlke dreamed of becoming an ice cream truck driver, a teacher, an archeologist, a detective, the next Ann Sullivan, a spy, and even a disc jockey among many other things.

But while she loves to dream of becoming many things, she always knew that she would somehow also write books even if it was part-time.

The author was born on a North Carolina farm as the third child in a family of four kids. According to her grandaunt, their two-century-old farmhouse was a safe place and hiding place for enslaved people on the railroad just before the Civil War.
It was this story that marked the beginning of her lifelong fascination with the courageous people who were involved in the Underground Railroad.

This would then extend into an interest in people who help others become free of ties that bind and from oppression. She is also a Christian and finds some inspiration and passion from her Christian faith.
She loves to draw from the many stories of her life just like Lewis Carroll, even as she steeps them in history to make for interesting works of fiction.

Before she became an award-winning author, Cathy Gohlke involved herself in many other pursuits. She has worked as a drama director for young people and adults, as a school librarian, and as a director of education and children’s ministries.
Nonetheless, her dreams of archeological digs, spying, and detective work are now in the past as she spends her days researching and writing her novels.

She is also active in the writing community and often speaks and provides virtual and in-person book club visits.

She is also an active participant on social media platforms such as Instagram, Twitter, and Facebook in addition to Goodreads and Bookbub.

“Secrets She Kept” is an interesting story of the consequences a daughter will find almost impossible to redeem and a secret a mother was told never to share. This is the story of Lieselotte and Hanna whose stories unfold alongside each other.
At the beginning of the story, Hannah Sterling is introduced as a woman that had always desired to have a closer relationship with her mother with whom she had become estranged.

After the death of Liesellote her mother, Hannah finally discovers secrets of her mother’s mysterious past and learns that her grandfather is alive and well, living in Germany.

Three decades earlier, her mother’s father who was by then fast rising in the ranks of the Nazi party had demanded his daughter get married so that he would advance his won career.

However, Lieselotte had been in love with a man that was secretly working against the Nazi regime. Both Lieselotte’S and Hannah’s stories unfold in parallel as the latter heads to Germany to confront her father and his many dark secrets.
Longing for connection with her grandfather but shocked and shaken by what she finds, she needs to decide how she will let his legacy shape her future or if she will have to atone for the tragic past of her family.

Cathy Gohlke’s “Saving Amelie” is the story of Rachel Kramer.
She had over the past several months grown very suspicious about the genetic research that her father was conducting and decided that his trip to Germany in the 1939 summer would be her last.

However, everything changes when she gets a short letter from a long-lost friend. Kristine her friend is married to Gerhardt Schlick an SS officer and in recent times had grown afraid of her husband.
Given his political affiliation, she was terrified that he would see Amelie their daughter born deaf as a blight on his supposedly pure Caucasian bloodline.

Rachel had at some point been courted by the man and knows how dangerous he can be. She believes her father’s files may provide some answers on what Hitler intends to do about people such as Amelie.

Rifling through her father’s classified documents is a huge risk but she decides to take it. In the documents, she discovers some shocking secrets about the family she never knew and her own history.

But somehow the SS learned about what she had done and she is now being hunted. She turns to a disarming and driven American journalist for help who connects her with Dietrich Bonhoeffer, a controversial theologian, and member of the resistance.

“Promise Me This” by Cathy Gohlke is the story of Michael Dunnigan who was traveling on the Titanic. However, he was never supposed to be on the ship, and had it not been for Owen Allen’s courage, he would never have survived.
He had made a promise to Owen asserting that he would take care of Annie his younger sister and his other relatives in the United States. In England, Mike works on strengthening the family landscaping and garden business.
As for Annie, she does not care what promises Michael made to her brother Owen. All she knows is her grief after losing her brother who was her rock.

But as Michael continues to write to her she begins softening and soon enough they embark on a tentative friendship.

Just as he has put aside enough money to bring her to the United States, the Second World War erupts in Europe.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Cathy Gohlke

One Response to “Cathy Gohlke”

  1. Nancy Johnson: 3 months ago

    I recently finished reading Night Bird Calling & then followed with A Hundred Crickets Singing. I can hardly wait to read another of Ms.Gohlke’s books. There is so much history in these books and told in a very interesting way. Thank you Cathy.


Leave a Reply