Book Notification

Cats and Curios Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Cats and Curios Mystery Books

How to Wash a Cat (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nine Lives Last Forever (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
How to Moon a Cat (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
How to Tail a Cat (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
How to Paint a Cat (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
How to Catch a Cat (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Cats and Curios series by Rebecca M. Hale
Author Rebecca M. Hale pens this series of cozy mysteries. The series stars Rupert and Isabella, two cats and their owner, who is an unnamed accountant and amateur sleuth.

The “Cats and Curios” series began publication in the year 2008, when “How to Wash a Cat” was released. This novel is also Rebecca’s debut novel. At the time she wrote the book, she was taking time off from her job as a patent attorney in the Bay Area of San Francisco.

“How to Wash a Cat” is the first novel in the “Cats and Curios” series, which was released in the year 2008. A dead uncle and a stunning inheritance push a woman and her two kitty cats into the mystery that surrounds his death.

An investigation that begins among all the novelties and curios of an antiques shop in San Francisco follows a trail of dangerous deception that goes all the way back to the Gold Rush days.

Rebecca Hale has penned an excellent novel to kick off this series. This is a unique and fresh cozy mystery that features none of the usual trappings of the genre. No boyfriend that is a cop or saying someone has to investigate or anything.

“Nine Lives Last Forever” is the second novel in the “Cats and Curios” series, which was released in the year 2010. Frogs start showing up in the antiques shop she inherited from her Uncle Oscar, and her cats, Rupert and Isabella give chase instantly.

Why are frogs showing in San Francsico’s City Hall building for? What does Oscar’s message mean to “follow the frogs” mean?

The book has some interesting characters, even the cats, and there is the quirky plot to top things off. Hale has written a book that is sure to delight mystery readers with this one. This is an excellent series that you can read many times and not get sick of.

“How to Moon a Cat” is the third novel in the “Cats and Curios” series, which was released in the year 2011. Rupert sniffs a dusty green vase that has a toy bear in it, and she is sure that this is another of Uncle Oscar’s infamous clues that leads to some valuable hidden treasures he left behind.

She is eager to put the pieces of the puzzle together, and soon she is heading off to Nevada City with her two kitties. She has no idea yet that this trip is going to put her in danger.

These books are highly enjoyable, and this is just the latest example of that. These are just fun reads that hook you right from the start and don’t let go until you have finished them.

“How to Tail a Cat” is the fourth novel in the “Cats and Curios” series, which was released in the year 2012. An albino alligator on the loose in the city of San Francisco is pretty exciting, that’s a given. Rupert and Isabella, two cats, have better things to do than follow a reptile from Nob Hill over to Fisherman’s Wharf. Currently they, and their owner are investigating the mysterious Steinhart brothers, who gave the original funding for Clive the alligator’s aquarium. Follow the money, like uncle Oscar used to say.

The media circus that surrounds Clive, a clown, mayor Montgomery Carmichael, gets too close to the gator. It would be bad for Monty to meet an undignified end, but the three have another hunt they are on. They are looking for Uncle Oscar’s latest treasure. That is assuming, of course, that the whole entire thing isn’t some croc.

Some enjoy working out the mystery of the book and the history of the city. Hale writes books that make you laugh out loud and smile while you have a tough time putting the book down. Each of these books are able to give just enough historical information while still being hilarious and tons of fun. The books are also ingenious and inventive to boot.

“How to Paint a Cat” is the fifth novel in the “Cats and Curios” series, which was released in the year 2014. San Francisco is not the largest city in the country, but it can feel pretty vast, especially when you’re searching the neighborhoods trying to find clues to your missing uncle’s location. She is aided by her cats, and she tries to follow her uncle’s painted clues that goes from the famous murals of Coit Tower through the New Deal art in the city. The whole time, she hopes that Oscar’s vanishing act has nothing to do with the murdered intern at City Hall.

Right when it appears that the hunt has hit a wall, they get some stunning help from beyond. Is it going to be enough to help save them from their own brushes with death? They just have to be sure they do not paint themselves into a corner.

Some cannot get enough of this series, and hope to get their hands on even more of them. Rebecca Hale always tells these stories with a unique voice, and it is fun just to hear it while reading these excellent books.

“How to Catch a Cat” is the sixth novel in the “Cats and Curios” series, which was released in the year 2014. There is a serial killer out on the loose with an odd penchant for interns from City Hall. It is up to Rupert, Isabella, and their owner to stop this spree. Unfortunately, she has her uncle’s failing health worrying her and helping with interim mayor’s America’s Cup regatta does not leave her with much of a chance to chase down the clues.

Might the key to catching the killer be found in the sailing history in San Francisco? The very first European vessel to go through the Golden Gate held a familiar cast of both human and feline passengers. Not to mention a slippery killer who used a very similar weapon. Is the past going to catch up to the present so that the case can be cracked?

Book Series In Order » Characters » Cats and Curios

Leave a Reply