Book Notification

Chanel Cleeton Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Capital Confessions Books

Flirting with Scandal (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Playing with Trouble (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Falling for Danger (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Cuba Saga Books

Next Year in Havana (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
When We Left Cuba (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Last Train to Key West (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Most Beautiful Girl in Cuba (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Cuban Heiress (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of International School Books

Publication Order of Wild Aces Books

Publication Order of Assassins Books

Between Shadows (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Our Last Days in Barcelona (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The House on Biscayne Bay (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

A Night at the Tropicana (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Chanel Cleeton is the USA Today and New York Times bestselling author of contemporary, fiction and historical fiction books famously known for her When We Left Cuba and Next Year in Havana. Originally from Florida, Chanel spent her childhood after her family moved to the US from Cuba during the Cuban revolution. Her passion for history and politics continued during the years she lived in England where she graduated from The American International University in London with a degree in International Relations and later from London School of Economics and Political Science with a master in Global Politics.
Law school made the author realize that she would rather spend her days writing books than in a courtroom and since then, she hasn’t looked back. She loves traveling and has lived in Asia, Europe, and the Caribbean.

I See London

I See London is the first book in the International School series by Chanel Cleeton. Maggie Carpenter, nineteen years old and from South Carolina, gets a scholarship to the International School in London, England; a privileged university where the children of the most influential leaders of the world attend. And that’s where Maggie enters a totally different life. Now, Maggie is living the life she never had, and always wanted, in South Carolina; a life full of luxuries, attending the best clubs of the moment, wearing dresses of famous designers, and traveling through the city of London in a Ferrari. But in her new life, Maggie is also divided between two completely different boys like night and day.

Hugh Mitchell; owner of one of the clubs of the moment and who is almost ten years older than Maggie. He is mature, serious, and, according to Maggie, with an accent that is a combination between Prince William and Hugh Grant. But then there’s Samir Khouri; half French and half Lebanon and his schoolmate. Samir is the popular boy; the sexy guy who with just a smile makes our knees feel like jelly and who always gets what he wants. Two guys who invoke mixed feelings in Maggie.

As the story progresses, Maggie gains confidence, develops her unique style with the help of the few friends she makes. Getting over the emotional barrier of the school ice queen offers a more profound emotional connection none could have ever predicted. It’s great seeing their friendship grow alongside all the glam and glitz that associated with wealth. Romance plays a huge part in this story, and Miss Cleeton doesn’t disappoint in giving the readers spicy bits of romance from chapter to another. It’s evident that Maggie and Samir have strong chemistry right from the start and they also quickly develop a strong friendship connection. They have much more in common than they originally thought and although sometimes argue like an old married couple, they, however, make very good friends. The banter between them is truly adorable.

New Year in Havana

The story begins with a flashback as the Perez family is fleeing from Cuba after the revolution. Elisa happens to be a daughter to sugar Baron, and she has been protected from the political activities in Cuba. Her family supports the current president, and when he is defeated, and Fidel Castro takes the seat, Elisa and her family are forced to flee to America.

Elisa, Marisol’s grandmother before her death, had been in exile for almost sixty years, and she wished to get an opportunity of going back to her home country. She left her home at the age of nineteen and together with her family fled to Cuba when Fidel Castro became the ruler. Her family was one of the targets aimed by Castro since it was very wealthy and powerful.

In the present, Marisol’s grandmother has just passed away after leaving a wish her ashes to be spread in Cuba, her beloved country. Marisol’s is left with the obligation of scattering the ashes in her home country. She begins her journey to Cuba in honor of her grandmother’s wishes. When she arrives in Cuba, she begins her adventure since she must select a good spot to spread the ashes.

Marisol was close to her grandmother, and she was very sad when she died. Although she is aware that Cuba is not safe for her, she is still determined to accomplish the wish of her grandmother; she is very excited to visit Cuba because her grandmother used to narrate many stories about it.

Marisol meets Elisa’s childhood friend, Ann Rodriguez who gives her a box left behind by her grandmother. She opens the box and discovers that it has a secret that Elisa died without revealing it to anyone and Marisol doubts whether she knew her grandmother well. Marisol begins a mission to unveil the secret about her grandmother’s past and the reason she never uncovered it to anyone in the family. While on the task, she meets Luis, working in the University of Cuba as a history professor and happens to be Anna’s grandson.

Marisol gets in touch with Luis hoping that she will give her a hint of a good spot. Luis shows her around the town as she searches for Pablo, Elisa’s lover. Luis is a professor order some people to investigate Pablo and others to watch over Marisol since she arrived in Cuba.

The story gives enough details allowing readers to get a good up close of life in Cuba. The author takes us through the historical revolution and what it means to fight for equal treatment, dilemmas encountered by a nation ruled by radical leaders. Some of the natives of Cuba are forced to leave their homes and send to exile carrying their belongings. Those who chose to stay hoping that things will change never saw any change.

The story switches from the past to the present. The past is a time when Elisa Perez as living with her parents and siblings. Currently, her granddaughter Marisol Ferrera is on a mission of spreading Elisa’ ashes in Cuba. Chanel Cleeton weaves the present and the past together in this story with two strong women bound together by blood and their love for Cuba.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Chanel Cleeton

One Response to “Chanel Cleeton”

  1. Cintrine: 2 years ago

    Great read/ listen, now I want to read all of Chanel Cleeton’s books. The book was much more complex, and interesting than the write up on it. Can’t wait until the movies come out!


Leave a Reply