Book Notification

Change Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Island In The Sea Of Time Books

Island in the Sea of Time (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Against the Tide of Years (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
On the Oceans of Eternity (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Dies The Fire Books

Dies the Fire (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Protector's War (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Meeting at Corvallis (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Rudi's Children Books

The Golden Princess (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Desert and the Blade (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Prince of Outcasts (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sea Peoples (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sky-Blue Wolves (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Emberverse series or Change World is a series of post-apocalyptic alternate history novels written by S. M. Stirling. These novels depict events that follows a mysterious and sudden global event called ‘The Change’ that happened on March 17th, 1998 at 6:15PM Pacific Standard Time. This event altered the progress of history as well as every physical law by causing every form of electricity, gunpowder, explosive, steam power, internal combustion engine, and other high-energy-density technology upon the earth to cease working permanently. Willamette Valley, Oregon is where most action takes place, and the primary focus is on how people survive the undoing of six hundred years worth of technological achievement.

The first novel in the Change series is called ‘Dies the Fire’ and it begins with the events that occurred when an electrical storm centered over the island of Nantucket, producing a blinding white flash that rendered all electronic devices and fuels inoperable. The events that follow mark the most horrific global catastrophe that the world has ever witnessed-A Dark Age that was more global and complete, circumstances that no one could possibly have imagined.
If there is a book that can keep you reading until late into the night, it’s got to be Dies the Fire. Imagine you’re motoring down the highway and then all of a sudden, your car’s engine stops working. Your watch also stops ticking and you see planes falling down from the evening sky. The local steam engine train can’t produce enough pressure to move. Suddenly, a man appears out of nowhere screaming bloody murder and you take out your gun to shoot him but it won’t fire. As the sun sets, you suddenly realize that all around you is pitch black, and not a single source of light can be seen for miles.

These are just some of the events that follow the Change World, but not everyone is scared about the future prospects. Society going back to medieval times is cool for some people, especially if you’re a faithful member of a group calling itself the Society for Creative Anachronism. You are devoted to the middle Ages as they ought to have been, choosing to selectively recreate the culture, choosing elements of the culture that interests and attracts you. It also helps that you are very strong and athletic and you can handle yourself in any kind of situation.

So you grab your trusty sword and full chain suit, ready to assume your rightful position in this new society. With your kit, skills and training, you can fight and kill four similarly armed people at once, impressing the local gangbangers. You’re able to conquer the local populace and remodel them into a medieval Scottish clan of Wiccans. In fact, these are some of the actual events you read about in the novel. There are two main characters that the story follows; a musician called Juniper Mackenzie and a pilot called Michael Havel. These characters need to instantly adjust to a new world-a place where you need to trade without money, harvest your crops without any machinery and avoid plagues and diseases because the hospitals don’t have any working machines due to lack of electricity.

The second book in this series is called ‘The Protector’s War’, and it’s now been 8 years since technology was rendered inoperable around the world by the Change. Rising from the ashes of the computer and industrial ages is a brave new world. The survivors have grouped themselves into tribal communities, and they are committed to seeing their society rebuilt once more. Former pilot Michael has a group that calls itself the Bearkillers, and these are renowned warriors. They have a very close ally, a group known as Clan Mackenzie and led by a folksinger called Juniper Mackenzie.

Even though this leadership has rescued many lives, not all leaders have altruistic aspirations. There’s a medieval scholar called Norman Arminger who has turned civilians into slaves. He has also created an army and his forces have spread from Portland to Washington State. This man now wants to acquire Willamette Valley’s farmland, and he is ready to start a war in order to overthrow it. However, unknown to the two factions, there’s a ship that is soon to dock carrying British Soldiers.

Several kinds of communities have risen up from the ashes of the computer age, which is a very fascinating thing to read about when you consider the way technology has literally taken over our lives nowadays. There’s a stark contrast between traditions, and it’s interesting to read about how the old and new traditions clash. It’s also interesting to see how people now interpret what we nowadays consider as old. For instance, picture a university football stadium but instead of players running around, you have soldiers fighting while cheerleaders are calling out chants about actual fighting. This is in stark contrast to the role that sports plays in modern society.

In this second installment, we find that the world has continued to change, and the characters have also followed suit. However, the struggle to survive is still all too real but there’s a nice balance between the doldrums of everyday existence, the tensions and headaches of Change politics, and also the excitement, horror, and terror of warfare before the creation of gunpowder. Even though the latter was mostly skirmishes, they were brutal enough to wreak havoc on a large scale.

Since the world has changed, people have no other choice than to follow suit. Millions of people are now forced to become Wiccans. The good thing is that in the midst of all the doom and gloom, romance is still alive and well. It seems as if the author is advocating for the return of the good old days before technology and computers ruined everything. The writing is enjoyable, and the author sometimes uses flashbacks before returning to the action once more. Post-apocalyptic survival tales are wonderful to read, and they make you pause and think about the future of humanity. If you would like to be taken to a land beyond your wildest imaginations, Change is a series of books that will do just that.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Change

Leave a Reply