Book Notification

Charissa Weaks Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Witch Walker Books

The Witch Collector (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
City of Ruin (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wolf and the Witch (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Kingdom of the Forgotten (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Once Upon the Longest Night(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Once Upon an Enchanted Forest(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Charissa Weaks is an award-winning author of historical fiction, fantasy, and romance novels. She writes stories filled with aspects of time travel, magic, myth, and, at times, apocalyptic quests. Charis lives south of Nashville with her family and their two English Bulldogs and a sweet German Shepherd. When not writing, you will find Charissa reading a good book or researching for her next novel.

The Witch Collector is the debut novel in Charissa Weaks’ captivating series, The Witch Walker Trilogy. In the valley of Silver Hollow, there’s a peculiar tradition known as Collecting Day. On this day, the enigmatic Witch Collector arrives, selecting an individual who will journey to Winterhold, the abode of the Frost King, to undergo training as a witch walker.

Eight years ago, Raina Bloodgood, then 24 years old, experienced the heart-wrenching loss of her elder sister, Nephele, who the Witch Collector chose. Somehow, Raina herself was spared from this fate, a fact that left her simmering with anger and a burning desire for revenge against the Witch Collector. However, her thirst for vengeance extends to the Frost King, whom she holds responsible for her sister’s abduction. Eliminating both of these figures from her world becomes Raina’s ultimate goal. A mission she intends to accomplish with the God Knife, a formidable weapon in her possession.

What makes Raina’s journey particularly noteworthy is her unique circumstance. She is a witch without a voice. Her means of communication relies on American Sign Language. A form of expression understood by only a select few who can communicate with her.
Yet, Raina remains unaware of the intentions of Alexus Thibault, also known as the Witch Collector, and Colden Moeshka, the Frost King. They seek to guide Raina to safety, recognizing her potential to hold the key to saving the kingdom from a formidable Prince of the East, who has violated a long-standing peace agreement. However, before Alexus reaches Raina’s village, he encounters the prince’s forces, setting the stage for a gripping series of events. Raina’s life transforms from being the village’s silent witch to embarking on a harrowing journey for survival, staying one step ahead of the Prince. Along the way, she yearns to reunite with her sister, Nephele, a powerful witch walker.

The narrative is told through first-person, present-tense perspectives shared by Raina and Alexus, with a brief part late in the book from another character’s point of view. Both narrators, Sylvan and Campbell, deliver exceptional performances, distinguishing their characters through dialogue that reflects gender, age, and even supernatural attributes. Sylvan captures Raina’s youthful essence, portraying her emotions, including frustration, anger, and joy, with authenticity. Campbell’s deep voice, enriched by his accent and precise articulation, lends a refined quality to the older character, Alexus. The chemistry between them is palpable, and their budding romance, developed through a forced proximity trope, evolves naturally over time.

The story introduces intriguing supporting characters like Helena, Raina’s friend and sister to Finn, Raina’s best friend and past love interest. The Frost King himself plays an important role, and readers gain deeper insight into his backstory. Political intrigue and the influence of Ancient Gods are intricately woven into the narrative, enhancing the overarching storyline of romance.

The story features lots of twists and turns that keep readers engaged. The villain is masterfully crafted, exuding malevolence. The pacing, while potentially slow in certain places if considered as a standalone, serves the trilogy well by allowing character development and interpersonal connections to flourish. The story combines moments of action with lulls for characters to connect, creating a balanced and immersive reading experience.

For readers who relish the blend of romance with adventure, The Witch Collector offers an enthralling and multifaceted tale filled with surprises, captivating characters, and an unforgettably sinister antagonist.

City of Ruin is the second installment in Charissa Weaks’s Witch Walker series. The story follows the journey of Witch Raina and her former adversary-turned-lover, Alexus, as they embark on a dangerous quest to the City of Ruin. Their mission is to thwart the Prince of the East’s sinister plan to resurrect an ancient and evil god, aided by his captive, King Calden. Alongside them are a group of friends, each with their motives and loyalties hanging in the balance.

Raina Bloodgood’s life was forever altered when the Prince of the East ravaged her village, forcing her into a conflict not of her choosing and the arms of her erstwhile enemy, the Witch Collector, Alexus Thibault. This tumultuous journey unveiled startling revelations about her true abilities and shattered her preconceived beliefs.

The Prince of the East has captured the Frost King, using him as a pawn in his campaign against the Summerlands, endangering Alexus’s life. In a race against time, Raina, Alexus, and a band of Northlanders venture into a mystical desert land, where deadly assassins lurk at every turn. Their mission is to thwart the Prince’s ultimate scheme and prevent the resurgence of a godly age in the Tiressian empire.

Amidst the backdrop of tragedy and adversity, Raina and Alexus struggle to stay united and alive. A menacing presence relentlessly pursues them, leading them to the City of Ruin, the jeweled gates of the Summerland queen’s citadel. There, they confront not only external threats but also the haunting specters of their pasts, particularly the traumatic memories that continue to plague Raina.

“City of Ruin” expands upon the scope of the series, offering multiple character perspectives and a more intricate narrative. It captivates readers with its multifaceted characters, well-paced plot, and the evolving romance between Raina and Alexus. The book stands out as a thrilling addition to the series, catering to fans of authors like Naomi Novik, Sarah J. Maas, and Jennifer L. Armentrout.

In the City of Ruin, the author takes her storytelling to new heights, delivering a richly layered fantasy world where love, danger, and destiny intertwine. The novel builds upon the foundation set in The Witch Walker. It offers a deeper exploration of the characters, their relationships, and the challenges they face in their quest to prevent the resurrection of an ancient evil.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Charissa Weaks

Leave a Reply