Book Notification

Charlamagne Tha God Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Black Privilege (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shook One (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Get Honest or Die Lying (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

About Charlamagne Tha God

Lenard Larry McKelvey, widely recognized by his professional moniker Charlamagne Tha God, is a well-known figure in American entertainment circles. Not just a radio host, but also a TV personality and comedian, he brings his vibrant personality to the airwaves. Together with DJ Envy, he has become a household name as a co-host on the popular radio show The Breakfast Club. Their dynamic collaboration brought them the honor of being inducted into the Radio Hall of Fame in 2020, marking a significant milestone in their careers.

Before Charlamagne became a central figure on The Breakfast Club, he had an expansive career across various radio stations. Enriching his portfolio, he worked alongside Wendy Williams as a co-host on The Wendy Williams Experience, broadening his reach in the entertainment industry. His entrepreneurial spirit shone brightly through his launch of the Black Effect Podcast Network. Moreover, Charlamagne showcased his versatility as a host on MTV2’s Uncommon Sense, starting in 2015.

Charlamagne is known for his candid, forthright style, following the ethos of speaking one’s mind fearlessly. Such an approach has earned him titles like “hip-hop’s Howard Stern,” mirroring the frankness of Stern’s famed radio personality in his own engaging style. His openness has resonated with many, making him an influential voice in the media. Always engaging, Charlamagne extends his reach with his late-night show Hell of A Week on Comedy Central, providing viewers with his signature blend of entertainment and insight.

Early and Personal Life

On June 29, 1978, Lenard Larry McKelvey was born into a diverse family, with his father being a former Jehovah’s Witness who converted to Islam, and his mother being an English teacher and a Jehovah’s Witness. His upbringing was in Moncks Corner, South Carolina, a small town that provided him with a unique perspective on life. After night school, he completed his high school education at Berkeley High School in Moncks Corner.

McKelvey entered the radio industry as an intern at Z93 Jamz in Charleston, a role that marked the beginning of his journey into broadcasting. Building on his experience, he spent time working with WHXT in Columbia, South Carolina. A crucial turning point in his career came in 2006 when he left South Carolina for New York to work alongside Wendy Williams, adopting the impactful stage name ‘Charlamagne,’ inspired by a blend of his former alias and the historical figure Charlemagne, and adding ‘Tha God’ for its snappy effect.

Completing a full circle after some professional setbacks, Charlamagne returned home for a brief period before landing the co-hosting role on The Breakfast Club in 2010. His tactful but edgy interviewing style quickly became a hallmark of the show as he gained renown for his thought-provoking conversations and spirited demeanor.

Charlamagne’s work on television solidified his presence in the media, from his involvement in Guy Code to hosting Uncommon Sense, always exhibiting a passion for engaging with audiences in his own distinctive way.

Writing Career

In 2017, Charlamagne made his debut as an author with ‘Black Privilege: Opportunity Comes to Those Who Create It,’ presented as a practical guide for personal growth. The New York Times recognized the book for its straightforward and impactful advice, articulating eight principles that act as a road map for success. His first written work garnered acclaim and secured a spot as the sixth best-selling hardback non-fiction on the New York Times list.

Continuing his journey as a writer, Charlamagne released his second book in 2018, ‘Shook One: Anxiety Playing Tricks on Me,’ delving into the topic of mental health. His writing career is ongoing, with a commitment to exploring diverse subjects and personal experiences. In 2022 he also helped create to Audible Originals, with ‘Finding Tamika’ and ‘Summer of ’85.’

His contributions to literature illustrate his multifaceted talents and his dedication to guiding and inspiring others through his writing.

Black Privilege

‘Black Privilege: Opportunity Comes to Those Who Create It’ is a nonfiction title authored by Charlamagne Tha God. It was released to the public on April 18, 2017. The book was published by Atria Books, a division of Simon & Schuster.

Here Charlamagne offers his trademark blend of candid observations and pointed wisdom for achieving success through authenticity. Reflecting on lessons learned from a challenging past in Moncks Corner and candid experiences with stars like Kanye West and Jay Z, Charlamagne shares the pivotal moments of his career.

The book provides strategies for personal empowerment, emphasizing the importance of learning from mistakes and embracing one’s unique path. With practical advice and a no-holds-barred narrative, Charlamagne encourages readers to own their truth and harness the power of their inherent privilege.

Readers searching for an honest and motivational narrative will find this an invigorating read. The book’s blend of raw anecdotes and actionable insights offers a distinct roadmap for personal success. It celebrates authenticity and the courage to learn from life’s challenges.

Those seeking to unlock their potential will draw inspiration from Charlamagne’s unwavering commitment to self-truth.

Shook One

The nonfiction title ‘Shook One: Anxiety Playing Tricks on Me,’ authored by Charlamagne Tha God, was made available to readers on October 23, 2018. Atria Books would again oversee its publication. Additionally, in the same year, an audiobook version, narrated by Charlamagne himself, was also released.

In it Charlamagne confronts his personal battles with anxiety, debunking the notion that he has it all together. Despite the success and fame he’s achieved, he opens up about the fears that haunt him—from worries about his family to professional insecurities. Charlamagne illustrates his journey toward overcoming these anxieties, including seeking therapy and guidance.

This narrative serves not only as his personal story but as an encouraging message for those grappling with their own fears, promoting mental health awareness and the importance of seeking assistance.

Charlamagne invites readers into a genuine experience with his struggle against anxiety while motivating them to face their own fears. It’s praised for its frankness and for championing the significance of mental health support. Fans appreciate his voice in the audiobook edition, adding an authentic depth to his personal revelations.

This shared journey offers a beacon of hope for readers looking to navigate their own paths to well-being.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Charlamagne Tha God

Leave a Reply