Book Notification

Charlie N. Holmberg Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Numina Trilogy Books

Smoke & Summons (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Myths and Mortals (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Siege and Sacrifice (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Paper Magician Books

The Paper Magician (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Glass Magician (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Master Magician (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Plastic Magician (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Spellbreaker Duology Books

Publication Order of Star Mother Books

Publication Order of Whimbrel House Books

Keeper of Enchanted Rooms (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Heir of Uncertain Magic (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Boy of Chaotic Making (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wizard of Most Wicked Ways (2025)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Followed by Frost (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Magic Bitter, Magic Sweet (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fifth Doll (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Veins of Gold (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Midsummer Night (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Will and the Wilds (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Hanging City (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Still the Sun (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Deep Magic - October 2016(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deep Magic - December 2016(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deep Magic - Winter 2020(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Horses, Hounds & Happily Ever After(2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deep Magic: Volume II: A Speculative Fiction Collection(2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Charlie N. Holmberg is an American author of fiction. She was born in Salt Lake City. Along with her three sisters, she was raised to love the science fiction television series Star Trek and she and her sisters, as well as their whole family, are all proud to be Trekkies. Holmberg says that all of her sisters were also given boy names.

She attended BYU and is now proud to be an alumna. She enjoys playing the ukulele and also has way too many pairs of spectacles. At long last, she finally took a dog into her life and couldn’t be happier about it.

She is perhaps best known for her fantasy series of fictional novels, the Paper Magician series. The first book in the series is The Paper Magician and it came out in 2o14. It was followed by the sequel The Glass Magician and then the third book, The Master Magician. The fourth book was titled The Plastic Magician and it came out in 2018. The series may be made into feature-length films or more as the series of novels have been optioned by the Walt Disney Company.

Some of her books are not part of the Paper Magician series. Followed by Frost was her first stand-alone fiction novel and it came out in 2015. It ended up being nominated in 2016 for a RITA Award in the category of Best Young Adult Romance. She lives with her family in Utah and you can find out more about her at her personal website (which is naturally at

The Paper Magician is where we meet the character of Ceony Twill. When she first comes to the cottage of a master magician, she has a broken heart. She graduated from her school for the magically inclined at the Tagis Praff School at the top of her class. She has now been assigned to be an apprentice in paper magic under the tutelage of Emery Thane, a magician.

Ceony dreams of practicing spells with metal. But once she has been bonded to paper, she thinks that it will be her only magic that she ever practices forever. She finds out that practicing paper magic can be fun and is enjoying learning spells under Thane more than she thought that she would initially before they got started.

Together they can work all sorts of paper magic. They bring elaborately folded creatures made out of paper to life and animate them so that they move all on their own. Even as she finds out how amazing paper magic is by bringing stories to life and reading fortunes, Ceony is already starting to find out that for every bit of ‘good’ magic there is also the magic that exists on the flipside– the forbidden and bad magic.

Everything seems to be going well, and Ceony is enjoying learning magic under the tutelage of the kind and strange Magician Thane. But everything goes up in flames one day when a horrible event happens. Excisioners are practitioners of the dark magic, the flesh magic. One day one comes into the cottage suddenly and rips the heart from Thane’s chest.

Ceony must face up to the evil Excisioner to save the life of her teacher and go on an adventure that will take her deep into the chambers of Thane’s heart– which is still beating. This will lead her to find out about the very soul of Thane and ultimately do her best to save his life. But will it work? You’ll have to pick up The Paper Magician to find out!

The Glass Magician is the second book in the Magician series. Ceony Twill is back again in this relentlessly creative fantasy novel and series from Charlie N. Holmberg. Readers will be happy to pick up where they left off in this dynamic fantasy novel from the self-professed Trekkie aficionado in a world that has caught the reading world by storm and made this a bestselling series.

Ceony is on her way to finally becoming a Folder and getting further in the discipline of paper magic. She was relatively successful when it came to getting Emery Thane’s heart back, and now she is focusing all of her attention on studying the art of magic so that she can get stronger at her discipline. Well, not all of her mind has been able to be focused on this type of magic completely.

A fortuity box once spoke to Ceony and told her that she will receive a suitor in the world of romance. She thinks that the box could have been talking about Emery, but then again the box could be totally wrong and she’s just hearing what she wants to. You never know though. However, Ceony has not managed to transcend the relationship of being teacher and student.

They do seem to be growing closer and building a trust, which Ceony takes as heartening. Things are going well, but there’s someone out there that lurks in the shadows with ulterior motives. A magician that tends to pursue revenge thinks that Ceony has a secret and wants to find out what it is.

Soon he will do anything to find it out, and if it means tearing apart the fabric of existence when it comes to the magical world, then he’s going to do it.But when a series of attacks are carried out on Ceony and the people that she cares about, she quickly figures out that there’s someone out there that doesn’t have good intentions when it comes to her– at all!

Ceony is scrambling to make sure that the people that she cares about aren’t caught in the crossfire. Now Ceony knows for sure that she must discover the true limits of all of her powers and push the boundaries of what she can do more than ever. At the same time, she must keep her knowledge from being stolen by others who might want to use it– like a certain magician.

Will Ceony be able to keep her secret safe or will the magician pry it away from her? Pick up The Glass Magician to find out!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Charlie N. Holmberg

Leave a Reply