Book Notification

Charlie Parker Mysteries Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Charlie Parker Books

Deadly Gamble (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Vacations Can Be Murder (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Partnerships Can Kill (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Small Towns can be Murder (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Memories Can Be Murder (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Honeymoons Can Be Murder (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Reunions Can Be Murder (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Competition Can Be Murder (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Balloons Can Be Murder (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Obsessions Can Be Murder (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Holidays Can Be Murder (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gossip Can Be Murder (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stardom Can Be Murder (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Phantoms Can be Murder (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Buried Secrets Can Be Murder (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Legends Can Be Murder (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Weddings Can Be Murder (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Alibis Can Be Murder (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Escapes Can Be Murder (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Old Bones Can Be Murder (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Money Can Be Murder (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Road Trips Can Be Murder (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cruises Can Be Murder (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Charlie Parker is the main character in a mystery series written by award-winning American author Connie Shelton. On the show, Charlie is depicted as a private investigator working in the vicinity of Albuquerque in New Mexico. He first appears in the debut novel Deadly Gamble published in 1995. Up-to-date the character has appeared in over 15 novels with the latest installment in the series being Legends can be Murder.

Deadly Gamble is the first book in the Charlie Parker Mysteries series by Connie Shelton. In this novel, the main character Charlie Parker a private investigator and an accountant is visited by her old school buddy Stacy North. Stacy has come to visit because her Rolex watch is missing and she wants Charlie to locate the watch before her husband finds out. Things get somehow complicated because Stacy had been seeing another man by the name, Gary Detweiler and she suspects him to having stolen the phone. Without much sweat, Charlie manages to retrieve the watch with a little help from her sidekick dog, Rusty. All should be going on well, until three days later when Detweiller is brutally murdered and all eyes now turn to Stacy as the main suspect in the assassination case.

Once more, Stacy comes back to Charlie begging her to help to prove her innocence. As soon as she begins her investigation, Charlie discovers that Garry’s life was not as simple as it appeared and some people had a grudge against this guy, and before she can even pinpoint out the serial killer on the loose, her life is in danger as well.

Vacations can be Murder

This is the second novel in the Charlie Parker series by American bestselling author of cozy mystery series Connie Shelton. The Deadly Gamble case left Charlotte Parker tired and also emotionally drained and therefore she books a vacation trip to the beautiful garden of Kauai. On her first day on the island, Charlie takes a helicopter ride and while on her tour, she and the pilot; Drake Langston spots a dead body on the rocks below. Later, Drake friend is accused as the prime suspect of the killing. However, Drake thinks that his friend is not capable of committing such crime and thus she requests Charlie to help him to trace the real killer.

While conducting an investigation into the homicide case, the private investigator finds herself attracted to Drake and thinking what the future will be like as soon as she leaves the island.

Small towns can be murder

This is the fourth novel in the Charlie Parker series by Connie Shelton. This time, Charlie the private investigator in Albuquerque in New Mexico trips to Valle Escondido together with her friend Sally Bertrand. They pass by Laura Armijo house, which gets a phone call informing that her best friend Cynthia is dead after a miscarriage. Laura further clarifies that Cynthia’s husband used to be a cynical guy who probably used to assault Cynthia.

On this small piece of evidence, Charlie concludes that Cynthia’s death was no accidents and that there must be a person behind her death, and thus decides to investigate. She together with Sally agrees to pay Richard a visit. Richards seems angry, and this makes Charlie more suspicious. On the other hand Drake Langston, the man whom Charlotte dearly loves comes to town, and suddenly Charlie appear to be more interested in practicing shooting and making love. She continues to make investigations into the case, until out of the blue, comes a piece of information that leads to a chain of events.

Memories can be murder

Charlie parents died when she was only 16 years, and at that time she was heartbroken not for her parent’s loss but about her missing her prom. She always knew that her dad had a secret job with Scandia Corporation and during that time she never suspected that the death of her parents in a plane crash was no ordinary accident.

Fast forward 15 years later; Charlie is sorting and moving the contents of family storage boxes in the attic. She is making more room in the house since her boyfriend; Drake Langston is moving to New Mexico to live with her. While setting up the house, she comes across her dad’s notebook that her dad always carried with him and then starts scrolling, and soon discovers that the plane crash was not what it appeared to be and that there was a dominant force behind the aircraft crash.

Charlie sets out to investigate, as she digs deeper, she discovers that some secrets and realizes that her life is at stake since there is someone willing to do anything to keep the secrets from being revealed to anyone.

One aspect of Charlie that makes this novel interesting is her human nature; she is also brave and capable of acting swiftly in the midst of danger but often breaks down when everything is calm. Also, Rusty, the dog is a paramount part of the whole story.

Honeymoons can be murder

The two love buds begin their winter anticipating for a Christmas honeymoon without interferences in a mountain cabin. The two plan to stay and operate the helicopter skiing service while at the same time Charlie continues her RJP investigation during the ski period.

As soon as they settle in their honeymoon cabin, mysteries begin to show up. First of all, Eloy Romero, Drakes Langston assistant is accused of murder. Charlie, the private investigator, decides to look into the case; however, she will soon discover for herself what exist in the Taos community with some links to the Catholic Church and what are believed to be stolen the artifact.

Once again, the author of this cozy mystery Connie Shelton has done an excellent job of trying to bring to life New Mexico through her beautiful and vivid description. The character is well described as well as likable. The fast-paced plots flow nicely from one chapter to another with a variety of twist aimed at catching the reader’s attention from the first chapter of the debut novel to the last chapter of the last book.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Charlie Parker Mysteries

Leave a Reply