Book Notification

Charlotte Charlie Cates Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Charlotte "Charlie" Cates Books

The Gates of Evangeline (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Shimmering Road (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Burning Island (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Charlotte Charlie Cates book series is a popular series of mystery, fantasy, gothic, paranormal, suspense, thriller, and fiction novels. It is written by a reputed American writer named Hester Young. The series is comprised of 3 books in total, released between 2015 and 2018. Every book in the series features the chief protagonist in the form of Charlotte Cates. She is described as a journalist living in New York. Charlotte Cates is commonly referred to as Charlie by her close friends and family. She works to fight crime and solve various mysteries around her. Author Young has done the settings of the books’ plots in Louisiana, New York, Arizona, Hawaii, Texas, and several other parts of the United States. The essential characters mentioned in the series by Hester Young in addition to Charlotte Cates include Gabriel Deveau, Noah Palmer, Carmen, Donna, Jasmine, Remy Minot, Hettie Deveau, and several others. The three novels as well as the series as a whole are very successful and included in the favorites’ list of the fans of mystery stories. Hester Young received a lot of appreciation for her work in the series. She was praised for the character descriptions and the plot development of all the books. Many critics have spoken highly about her writing and have given excellent reviews in various literary journals and magazines all around the world.

Hester Young is a popular American author, who is famous for writing suspense, thriller, and mystery novels. She is particularly famous for the creation of Charlotte Cates, the lead character of her debut series. This series, named after the lead protagonist, has helped Hester establish herself as a noteworthy author. She was born in Boston and has lived in many places like Tuscon, New Jersey, London, Honolulu, etc. Hester has worked as a teacher for 10 years prior to the start of her full-time writing career. She is happily married and is blessed with two kids. During her spare times, Hester loves to play different types of sports like sword fighting, climbing trees, scuba diving, etc. She holds a bachelor’s degree in English from Tufts University and a master’s degree from the University of Hawaii.

The debut book of the Charlie Cates series written by author Hester Young is entitled ‘The Gates of Evangeline’. It was released by the GP Putnam’s Sons publication in 2015. The main characters mentioned in this book include Gabriel Deveau, Charlotte Cates, Hettie Deveau, and a few others. Charlotte ‘Charlie’ Cates is initially introduced in the storyline as a grieving mother and a journalist by profession hailing from New York. After the death of her only son, she begins to see weird dreams about other children. When the dreams begin to get more frequent, Charlie thinks that she has lost her mind. Soon after, she realizes that her dreams are not just the hallucinations of a grieving mother, but warnings and messages that could help her and the children she encounters in the vivid dreams. But first, Charlie is required to make sense of the situation herself so as to be able to explain it to others. In her next dream, Charlie Cates sees a small boy in a boat seeking help from her. This forces her to visit Louisiana, where she gets entangled in a 30-year-old mysterious case of a missing child. This case has not been solved to date and still haunts the members of the prestigious Deveau family from Louisiana.

Charlie asks the Deveau family’s permission to write a book of true crime based on the kidnapping case of their heir Gabriel Deveau 30 years ago. The family allows her permission and asks her to come down to their big estate in Evangeline. As Charlie begins asking the Deveau family member about Gabriel’s disappearance, she suspects that they are trying to keep her away from the truth. She moves ahead on her own and goes on to unravel some long-buried secrets about betrayal, murder, love, and money. Soon, the facts begin to get clear, making her distinguish facts from fiction. And as Charlie Cates gets closer to solving the mystery, she encounters an evil so deadly that she had never imagined. This book serves as a perfect example of an exciting combination of literary romance and suspense with intriguing twists & turns. Overall, the novel is fast-paced, well-written, suspenseful, and exciting to read. It entertains the readers from start to end.

The next volume of this series is called ‘The Shimmering Road’. It was published in 2017 by the Cornerstone Digital publication. Hester Young has described the main characters in this novel as Noah Palmer, Jasmine, Charlie Cates, Donna, etc. This book depicts Noah as Charlie’s mother, Donny as her mother, and Jasmine as her half-sister. The story opens by depicting that 5 months after the shocking events unfolded at Evangeline, Charlotte Cates is anticipating the birth of her daughter along with her boyfriend Noah Palmer in Texas. Their excitement seems to know no bounds as they prepare themselves for the arrival of their baby into the world. But, before that happiness could come in their lives, they go through a nightmarish obstacle. Charlie Cates starts experiencing nightmares about someone shooting her in her belly while she is in the shower. She wonders if this nightmare is just an outcome of her anxious mind or a warning that her daughter’s life is in some kind of danger?

Later, Charlie comes to know that her Donna, her mother who had abandoned her when she was just a child, is one of the victims in the recent case of Arizona’s double murder. However, this doesn’t have any effect on Charlie because she thinks that as long as she does not have any feelings for Donna, it doesn’t bother her whether she is alive or dead. But, when she learns that the second victim was her half-sister Jasmine, whose existence she was not aware of, and there is no one to look after her little girl, she decides to get involved. Charlie realizes that it was Jasmine’s little girl who was speaking to her in her dreams. Noah convinces Charlie that she must look after the orphaned niece and travels with her to Arizona. After reaching there, Charlie Cates confronts the painful ties of her relationship with Donna as well as untangles a series of secrets related to her haunting nightmare. This book also received excellent reviews and appreciation from one and all and became immensely successful. The popularity of this book further increased the success of Hester Young as an author.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Charlotte Charlie Cates

Leave a Reply