Book Notification

Charlotte Holmes Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Charlotte Holmes Books

A Study in Charlotte (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Last of August (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Case for Jamie (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Question of Holmes (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Charlotte Holmes by Brittany Cavallaro
Author Brittany Cavallaro writes the “Charlotte Holmes” series of young adult fiction mystery novels. The series began in the year 2016, when “A Study in Charlotte” was released.

The series stars teens Charlotte Holmes and Jamie Watson. They are descendants of the famous detectives, Sherlock Holmes and John Watson. The pair have the same idiosyncrasies as their famous ancestors. Together, the pair solve crimes and attend the same boarding school, Sherringford School. They even go to Oxford University together.

The pair also has to deal with the feelings they have for one another, as they start to bubble to the surface and blossoms into something more than friendship.

“A Study in Charlotte” is the first novel in the “Charlotte Holmes” series, which was released in the year 2016. Charlotte Holmes has always intrigued Jamie Watson. Their great-great-great-grandfathers were one of your more infamous pairs in history. The Holmes family has always been odd, and Charlotte has never been an exception. She has inherited some of the vices Sherlock had, along with his volatility. They both go to the same boarding school in Connecticut, and Charlotte states outright that she is not looking for any friends.

A classmate in their history class dies under some suspicious circumstances, that is pulled from the most terrifying Sherlock Holmes story, Jamie can no longer afford to stay away from Charlotte. The danger increases, and there is nowhere safe. The only people they can trust are each other.

This is a fun and entertaining read, making for a fantastic first installment in this series. The mystery is well done, making readers guess the whole way through the story. Cavallaro penned a story that is tough to step away from for very long. The two main characters are well written and fun to read about. They make it easy to want to return to this world in future installments.

“The Last of August” is the second novel in the “Charlotte Holmes” series, which was released in the year 2017. Holmes and Watson are looking for a reprieve in Sussex during the winter vacation after their fall semester which almost killed them. There is nothing about this holiday that is proving to be simple. Not even the growing feelings the pair are starting to have for each other.

Charlotte’s beloved Uncle Leander vanishes from the Holmes estate. It comes after he was being oddly private about his recent assignment in some German art forgery ring. The game is afoot once more, and Charlotte dives into a search for some answers.

It begins a dangerous race through Berlin’s gritty underground scene as well as Prague’s glittering art houses. It is here that they are going to find this complex case could change all they think they know about themselves, their families, as well as each other.

For some, this one was even better than the first installment. Jamie and Charlotte are dynamic and complex characters, and their relationship is an interesting one that is developing nice and slow. Readers did not see the climax of this book coming, something that makes them like it that much more. Cavallaro builds off of the promise and potential from the first book and delivers a book that is just as clever and exciting as the first one.

“The Case for Jamie” is the third novel in the “Charlotte Holmes” series, which was released in the year 2018. It’s been a year since August Moriarty’s stunning death. In that time, Charlotte and Jamie have not spoken. Jamie is just going through the motions at Sherringford, and trying to finish up his senior year with no incident. He even has a nice girlfriend, one he is unable to fall for.

Charlotte is currently on the run, both from her own mistakes and from Lucien Moriarty. Nobody has seen her since that night in Sussex and Charlotte would like it to stay that way. She realizes it is not safe to be around her. She understands that Watson is unable to forgive her.

The pair may not have plans to reconcile, but strange things begin happening and it is clear that there is somebody that wants them to get back together. A person that has been quietly observing both of them. Making plans all their own and just biding their time. A person that wants to see one suffer, and the other dead.

Charlotte is an incredible character, and it is great to see things from her perspective in this book. She is hilarious, genius, sardonic, and flawed and vulnerable. There aren’t many characters in young adult fiction that are as fascinating or as brilliant as her. Readers cannot get enough of these two characters, they are both well drawn characters and have a complex relationship.

“A Question of Holmes” is the fourth novel in the “Charlotte Holmes” series, which was released in the year 2019. Charlotte and Jamie are finally getting a chance to start over. There is no one chasing after them, and a lot of freedom from their pre-college summer program. All they have to figure out right now is what they are to one another.

When they get to Oxford, Charlotte is drawn into a brand new case immediately. Some accidents hit Oxford’s theater program last year, climaxing in a woman vanishing the night of a huge performance.

The case is cold, after the mystery was never solved. Nobody is talking, least of all the close-knit, odd group of the young woman’s friends.

Watson and Holmes both join the program, and “accidents” start happening once again. They have little choice in the matter but to dive right into this case. Complex lines of love, friendship, and loyalty get muddied, and they are running out of time, while tragedy is waiting in the wings.

This one will live up to your expectations and more. Some were able to finish reading in just a single sitting. The book has moments that are tense, sweet, hilarious, surprising, and intriguing as well as frightening and beautiful. Readers are simply glad to get their hands on books from this series, and hope there are many more to come.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Charlotte Holmes

Leave a Reply