Book Notification

Cheese Shop Mysteries Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Cheese Shop Mystery Books

The Long Quiche Goodbye (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lost and Fondue (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Clobbered by Camembert (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
To Brie or Not To Brie (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Days of Wine and Roquefort (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
As Gouda as Dead (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
For Cheddar or Worse (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Having previously been a screenwriter for the television, American mystery author Avery Aames is probably best known for her Cheese Shop Mysteries series. This means that she’s no stranger to the episodic format of the genre with a strong visual style that lends itself extremely well to the medium she now works within. The various awards she’s received over the years, such as the Agatha Award, proves this as she’s gained the attention of both the critics and the public alike. As the title suggests, this particular series off novels is set within a cheese shop called ‘Fromagerie Bessette’, which is run by Charlotte Bessette who has taken over the business. When someone is murdered though she finds herself embroiled with a succession of cases which leads her to believe that it might not be quite the quiet life she initially expected. Whether it be clearing someone’s name, or simply dealing with the comings and goings of her local town, there’s always some mystery to be solved in Providence, Ohio.

The cheese shop itself works as a nice location to base the action around, as it manages to keep it light-hearted and cozy. Knowing its genre well, Avery Aames is able as an author to guide the narrative clearly over the course of the Cheese Shop Mysteries series giving it a clear sense of purpose. This all manages to create a popular collection of novels that will continue to grow in readership for some time yet.

The Long Quiche Goodbye

Originally published on the 9th of June, 2010, it sets about building the overall tone of the series as it manages to create the atmosphere that’s going to be running throughout. With the character of Charlotte Bessette on the scene as well, it shows her to be an astute individual with an extremely keen eye for detail, leaving no stone unturned when a case is underway. This being a ‘cozy’ novel, it’s got a low-key pleasant temperament that runs throughout, something which can be seen in the choice of location, it being a small-town in Ohio.

This book has become well known for its many cheese references and puns, something which it pores over with great relish, taking every chance to drop in a pun. From the title to the dialogue, this is something the readers have come to enjoy due to its good humored take on the genre, providing a light-hearted narrative style. As Charlotte Bessette goes about the town attempting to get to the bottom of the case, it’s a friendly and warm-natured book that’s easily accessible for those looking for a casual read. The cast of the sleepy town of Providence itself are also well-drawn characters, helping to play off Charlotte as she goes about asking her many questions attempting to find out who committed the crime. In regards to the town itself, it is also a character of sorts that manages to shine in its own right, as it provides the quirky sense of location in which the action is to take place. It may follow a lot of typical conventions set for the genre, but it does it all extremely well in a self-aware and humorous style that’s lightly paced.

After a murder takes place just outside the cheese shop, there’s a body discovered having been stabbed to death, as the killer used a knife from her shop, one of her prized olive handle ones nonetheless. All this after a sampling of cheese has been set with a number of different varieties, such as Mascarpone and Stilton, but it’s interrupted by the murder. This leads her into taking the case as she finds out who killed the person outside her shop with one of her prized knives nonetheless, and also why they did it. Will she find out who committed the crime, or will the killer happen to strike again? Can she create the ultimate cheese that surpasses all other cheeses? What will become of her as she gives the long quiche goodbye?

Lost and Fondue

Following up the first book in much the same vein, this was initially published in 2011 on the 12th of April, as it continues with another mystery for Charlotte Bessette to solve. Employing much the same tone with a lot of similar humor as before, it retains what made the first appealing to so many readers at the time of its release. The town is also much the same as well, with Charlotte still owning the same cheese shop as before, along with a lot of the recurring locals turning up once more.

This time it’s the case of body being discovered in a winery that was thought to be long since abandoned, but the problem for Charlotte this time is that it’s the niece of her friend that’s been implicated in the killing. Taking some time out to help clear her name, Charlotte once again puts her cheese to one side to find out who is really responsible for this most heinous murder. Will she find the killer in time? Can she clear the niece’s name? What will become of her as she finds all the details getting lost and fondue?

The Cheese Shop Mysteries Series

Whilst the location might be somewhat quirky, it still remains a series that knows its genre well, with a number of well plotted and intriguing mysteries. Avery Aames has managed to capture the essence of the formula, transposing it to the new and interesting location of a cheese shop. With a local small-town of Providence, the cast are recurring providing the readers with a sense of familiarity that they’ve come to appreciate over the course of the series. Its characters as well are extremely well drawn, as it’s not simply the mysteries that keep people coming back, but the relatable personalities too. This has all led to it becoming a quality title as the Cheese Shop Mysteries series continues to draw its readers in from a worldwide audience. With plenty of life left in the franchise yet, there’s plenty more titles left on the horizon, as Aames doesn’t show any signs of stopping any time soon.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Cheese Shop Mysteries

Leave a Reply