Book Notification

Cheney Duvall, M.D Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Cheney Duvall, M.D. Books

By: Gilbert Morris, LynnMorris
The Stars for a Light (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shadow of the Mountains (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
A City Not Forsaken (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Toward the Sunrising (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Secret Place of Thunder (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
In the Twilight, in the Evening (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Island of the Innocent (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Driven With the Wind (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Cheney and Shiloh: The Inheritance Books

By: Gilbert Morris, LynnMorris
Where Two Seas Met (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Moon by Night (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
There is a Season (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon

Cheney Duvall, M.D. is the main character in a series of novels of novels written by American authors, Lynn Morris and Gilbert Morris. Cheney graduates from the first American college to grant degrees to women physicians after the end of the Civil War. The long-standing preconception has not profligated, but she must prove herself time and again, testing her dedication and faith that compels her.

Lynn Morris and Gilbert Morris began the publication of Cheney Duvall series in 1994 when The Stars for a Light, the first book in the series was published. The series ended in 2000 after eight novels when Driven with the Wind was published.

The Stars for a Light

The Stars for a Light is the debut novel in Cheney Duvall series and introduces readers to Cheney, a 24-year-old female doctor based in Manhattan, just a few days after the Civil War is over. The story also introduces Shiloh, an ex-confederate, somewhat ex-fighter who becomes her nurse.

After graduating from Woman’s Medical College of the University of Pennsylvania, as a full-fledged, accredited physician, Cheney thought that she would immediately find a suitable job, however after two months of applying and interviews for several openings, then finally get rejected simply because she was a human, Cheney almost gave.

However, when he hears of a man named Asa Mercer looking for a professional doctor to care for two hundred women he is transporting on a sea voyage from New York to Washington area, she grabs that opportunity. Mercer is happy that Cheney is a female doctor who can also offer companionship to these potential brides to be ready for the frontiersmen in the West. Even before the voyage begins, a perturbation shadow darkens what Cheney had thought would be a perfect moment to use her education and talents. Is she really prepared?

The Stars for a Light covers their journey from New York to Seattle through Panama, with Asa Mercer and his maids. The author has beautifully created the main characters, the plot and the writing flow well from one chapter to another. The world building is excellent, such that it sends the readers back in time to the period after the American Civil war, a period when gender discrimination was rampant, and tension existed amongst the American citizens.

Shadow of the Mountains

With only a few alliances by her side, Cheney faced two biggest rivals- Greed and Superstition. Cheney has proved to be an outstanding doctor to Mercer on the sea voyage to Washington, but the doors of greater opportunities remain shut. Despite having graduated with honors from one of the best universities in the country as one of the few female physicians in 1865, she continues to find herself being rejected continuously simply because she is a woman.

Cheney returns to her parents’ home in Philadelphia with her sidekick Shiloh Irons, but upon her arrival, she is met with a letter from one of her best friends requesting that she visit the remote town of Ozark Mountains.

Cheney’s friend is expecting a baby, but there are no doctors available in the remote lands of Wolf County, Arkansas. Even though she is warned about the mountain people, Cheney is compelled by her instincts to go and provide medical care to her friend as well as the isolated mountain community.

However, the warnings eventually turn out to be true. The local people are illiterate, superstitious, and resistant to medical science and despise Yankees especially the Yankee female doctors. She also faces a challenge after a medicine woman of powerful influence lures the town’s folk to rebel against Cheney. Additionally, big land companies further complicate Cheney’s efforts and soon find herself being hunted.

The second novel in Cheney Duvall series lives up to the solid mystery first introduced in the debut novel, The Stars for a Light. The author, Lynn Morris does a fantastic job of creating multiple characters, well-narrated storyline and easy to read tale.

A City Not Forsaken

In the third Cheney Duvall series installment, Cheney returns to New York after spending time in Ozark Mountains where she dedicated her time trying to help the mountain folks. New York City comes with new challenges as well; she now takes care of New York’s rich people as a part of private practice that she shares with Devlin Buchanan, the sexy doctor who had once proposed to her.

A cholera outbreak sweeps the New York City bringing disaster in its aftermath and Cheney finds herself forced to make a decision- either to remain a privileged while miles away, poor people desperately need her medical attention.

Driven With the Wind

In Driven With the Wind, we again meet Doctor Cheney, one of the inspirational fiction and most loved characters, known for her struggles, her adventures, romance, and success.

Now Lynn Morris and Gilbert bring the series to New York City in Driven with the Wind, where wedding bells are ready to chime for their good friends, but will they?

During the thirty days long journey, Shiloh proposes to Cheney to be his bride. It is the day that Cheney both anticipated and feared the most. However, her answer can only be a refusal. Shiloh is not a believer, and Cheney wanted a man who is a believer, and soon he grows bitter due to the rejection. Meanwhile, Cheney is devastated that she has loved herself to fall madly in love with a non-believer.

When they arrive in New York, they soon discover that their friends are having a second thought about their own marriage. Just like Cheney and Shiloh, they struggle by weak human means to solve their problems.

A vindictive scheme that could ruin Cheney’s reputation and her medical practice is the last trial that leads them to the arms of the Lord.

Driven with the Wind is a story that saw many relationships challenged and also strengthened. The story also offers in-depth background on the main characters so that the readers gain more understanding of the characters.

Overall, the series is fascinating, engaging and an easy read, taking the readers to the different places in the post-civil war America, from New Orleans, New York, Hawaii and San Francisco. The different cultures of each distinct location are well described. If you like historical fiction novels, then Cheney Duvall, M.D. series by Lynn Morris and Gilbert Morris is an ideal match.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Cheney Duvall, M.D

Leave a Reply