Book Notification

Chet & Bernie Mysteries Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Chet and Bernie Mysteries Books

Dog On It (2008)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Thereby Hangs a Tail (2009)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
To Fetch a Thief (2010)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Dog Who Knew Too Much (2011)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Fistful of Collars (2012)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Sound and the Furry (2013)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Paw and Order (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Scents and Sensibility (2015)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Heart of Barkness (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Of Mutts and Men (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Tender is the Bite (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
It's a Wonderful Woof (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Bark to the Future (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Up on the Woof Top (2023)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Farewell to Arfs (2024)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Chet and Bernie Short Stories/Novellas

A Cat Was Involved (2012)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Iggy Chronicles, Volume One (2013)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Tail of Vengeance (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Santa 365 (2015)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Short Tails (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

The Chet and Bernie Mysteries bring a positive experience to the world of mystery books. It was written from the viewpoint of a Dog named Chet. The combination of fun and a quest to unravel mysteries sets it on a high pedestal. The tone was set to meet the yearnings of Adult readers. However, it is important to mention that High School students can also find this as an engaging book. The plot which is spread over different angles rests majorly on the two characters who also double as partners. The unfolding of the story is able to draw on a wide array of emotions. It is a high level and entertaining book that has earned its place as a thriller.

The Characterization
Chet is a Dog that did not pass the K-9. He is the one that plays the prominent role of narrating the book. He is one of the partners in a Private Investigation firm. He loyalty, love for food, Dog nature and ability to flow with the action is displayed all through the book. One of the things that stand it out is his ability to relate with the human experience. Its physical looks also draw some attention to it. However, it is his ability to chart the course of the book that make it a winner. Chet remains a strong reflection of how the average Dog behaves in given situations. Every Dog lover can relate with the mannerisms of Chet.

Bernie Little is the Human member of the Investigation team. He is a retired Cop who had just gotten through a Divorce and was separated from his son – Daniel. He has a strong desire to see that the environment is well protected. Also, he combines with Chet to solve mysteries that come in different twists. It is important to state that his inability to understand certain things that Chet communicates help to spice up the book. There are certain traits that depict the person of Bernie Little. He is kind, articulate and loves his dog – Chet. Furthermore, each of the series has revealed so much more about this unique Private Investigator. He plays a secondary role to Chet in charting the flow of the book.

What you need to know about the Chet and Bernie Mysteries
The Books are all written in the cozy, mystery genre. They are based on fiction but can relate to our everyday lives. Also, the use of the Dog (Chet) as the protagonist helps to make the progression of the book quite eventful. The ability to draw on emotions which are not common with most mystery books make this one stand out. Also, the different angles from which you can understand the story also makes it quite engaging. The size of its audience has continued to grow due to its ability to meet the yearnings of various groups. One of the points that must be mentioned is that you do not need to be an Animal lover to enjoy the book. The plot and themes are well written for the savvy reader.

In order to be able to understand the concept behind this book, it is important to look briefly at the components. The series has enjoyed rave reviews and this is because of the diversity it reflects. Although, there has been some tweaks in the characterization, the form it takes has remained true. The major character in the book, Chet, also enjoys a decent following on social media. This shows that the effect the book has had on its audience is not a fluke. There are a couple of books in this series but we would look briefly at two of them. It would set the tone to understand the other members of the series.

Chet and Bernie Mysteries: Dog on it
This book is the first in the series. It revolves around a wealthy divorcee, Cynthia Chambliss whose 15 years old daughter (Madison) disappeared. Cynthia hired Bernie Little to help her get her daughter. The setting of this book is placed in a Western state which is not named. The intricacies and dialogues all point to the involvement of Madison’s Dad who is a Real Estate Developer. The action-packed scenes and the suspense all form a smooth blend in the book. The interest it is able to generate in the minds of the reader holds on till the end. The way in which the book ends shows that it is a masterpiece. Although, there are other books in this series, Dog on it remains iconic in every sense of it. It builds the framework on which other books in this series continue to build on.

In order to cap what had been mentioned earlier, Chet is a mongrel that has one Black and One White Ear. He does all the tricks in order to resolve this mystery. He tries to communicate with Bernie Little but due to the limitations of Dog language; the suspense continues. Every character that was introduced in this book all make it quite interesting. It is essential to state that most mystery books need the resolving of a murder to be engaging; this is not so in this series. All through the book, you see clues that show that Chet kept true to acting as a normal Dog should. This work can hold its own especially with the consistency and effect with which the story unfolds.

Chet and Bernie Mysteries: Thereby Hangs a tail
This follows after the first book in the series. It comes across as a book that can stand alone but it builds on Chet and his canine mannerism. There has been some interests in understanding the nature of Chet but it all gets deeply intricate. This is how the book is built and it is a raving success. Thereby Hangs a tail has been followed by other sequels which have created positive ripple effects in the market. One of the high points is that people who traditionally are not mystery book readers have been won over with these series. Generally, Chet and Bernie are the ideal characters to follow if you want to have an exciting time in the world of mystery books.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Chet & Bernie Mysteries

4 Responses to “Chet & Bernie Mysteries”

  1. Tanya Elsworth: 2 years ago

    My husband John introduced me to these books with his book reader from the library of Congress. They are a real treat.

  2. Jeanette: 2 years ago

    They are worth buying. I got an almost new hardback at St Vincent de Paul for $3.

  3. VenUM: 4 years ago

    Unfortunately I can not find in our Seminole County, Fl. library system. Any suggestions, someone? Thank you.

    • Barbara: 1 year ago

      Check Amazon. They sell used books, as well as new books.


Leave a Reply