Book Notification

Chief Inspector Lennox Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Chief Inspector Lennox Books

The Evidence I Shall Give (1974)Description / Buy at Amazon
Square Dance (1975)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pool of Tears (1977)Description / Buy at Amazon
Take Murder (1979)Description / Buy at Amazon
Landscape with Violence (1979)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Day of the Peppercorn Kill (1981)Description / Buy at Amazon
Spiral Staircase (1983)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Tenth Interview (1986)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Very Parochial Murder (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon

Chief Inspector Lennox Series by John Wainwright
Prolific author John Wainwright wrote the “Chief Inspector Lennox” series of mystery thriller novels.

The series first began publication in the year 1974, when “The Evidence I Shall Give” was released. Sequels followed, with six novels being released during the seventies, and the final three novels were released during the eighties.

The series features nine books, with the final novel, called “A Very Parochial Murder”, being released in the year 1988. It is one of Wainwright’s longest running series, along with his “Charles Ripley” series.

Like many of Wainwright’s work, he draws on his experience as a Police Constable, a job he had from 1947 until the year 1966, when he quit to write full time.

Each of the novels in the series were later re-released by St. Martin’s Press, with many of the books originally being released by Macmillan. Like many of Wainwright’s novels, the books in the series went out of print.

For the second novel “Square Dance”, John tried his hand at a suspense thriller, and it is one of the rare times he did so.

Chief Inspector Lennox, a detective and the star of the series, is kindly, fat, and tough. He is also an ex-con. The series is based in Yorkshire, England.

The sixth novel, called “Take Murder”, was a finalist for a Gold Dagger Award in the year 1979.1===

“Square Dance” is the third novel in the “Chief Inspector Lennox” series and was released in the year 1975. A killer’s homecoming after ten years. Harry was on his way home to meet the wife that they said he had murdered for, her lover who said he was the best friend. The cop that said he was just doing his job.

Ten years is a long time to spend in prison. A long time to remember and to make plans.

“The Day of the Peppercorn Kill” is the fourth novel in the “Chief Inspector Lennox” series and was released in the year 1977. One man has just been sentenced to eighteen years for rape. He gets released in twelve, returning to a wife that wants, in spite of it all, to stand by him and help him. The guy’s got other ideas, however. Guys convicted of rape are treated poorly by fellow inmates in prison.

This guy, civilized and sensitive, was treated horribly, indeed. He didn’t even believe that he ever rape at all. In his mind, he was framed, or ‘set up’. The people that framed him play a big part in the tale that follows. Inspector Lennox does his best, using all of his acumen and energy to sort things out while everyone toward a multiple disastrous climax.

John is an original and subtle storyteller. He outdoes himself in this one by his use of narrative techniques which make this novel entirely compulsive reading.

“Pool of Tears” is the fifth novel in the “Chief Inspector Lennox” series and was released in the year 1977. A West Indian waiter wins all of the pools and his son is abducted and held for ransom.

“Take Murder” is the sixth novel in the “Chief Inspector Lennox” series and was released in the year 1979. Possibly a sort of theft? The left of somebody’s life? Should that life prove valueless, anything that’s without value cannot be stolen, which is basic Criminal Law. No value, then no theft nor murder. This is a tale of investigation, murder, and detection.

Three hookers have been killed, one after the other, all of which in the exact same manner. The cops believe it was one of their own, an officer that has dubious tastes that was on scene very soon after the first two corpses were found. He is convicted of the crimes and locked away.

Then comes a third murder, and with it the belief that obviously the condemned guy has to be innocent. Thus presented the legal quandry about how the law can never be wrong, but are justice and law the same thing?

This compelling tale moves at a fast pace, and its narration is subtle, only giving away just what the author decides. Excitement is on each page, irony and surprise at the very end of the book.

“Spiral Staircase” is the seventh novel in the “Chief Inspector Lennox” series and was released in the year 1983. Lennox, an ex-con and once a police officer, goes back to society and he organizes a vigilante group to combat the rampant crime. He seeks personal vengeance against the killers of one of his good friends, who was a Chief Superintendent.

This novel is down to earth and bleakly funny, and readers found that Wainwright was a writer that could really tell a story. The novel shows how much the coppers have to put up with through the social changes since the second world war.

“The Tenth Interview” is the eighth novel in the “Chief Inspector Lennox” series and was released in the year 1986. After hours of interrogations, the small town pharmacist admits he poisoned his wife and lays out both his method and his motive. The cops reject the man’s confession, and the guilt-ridden widower is then driven to new heights of desperation.

Each interview with the man provides more of the story, however, each one features deviations of the ‘truth’, particularly when dealing with their estranged daughter. Grantley never was the affectionate sort of husband his wife wanted through the years. Particularly after their kidnapped nineteen-year-old daughter was returned safely.

This is a stylish novel with an insider’s point of view, and is a story about a marriage that is under strain. The ending alone is worth reading the novel for, and this is one of the many novels that Wainwright produced that proves him to be one of the greats from the crime genre..

“A Very Parochial Murder” is the ninth novel in the “Chief Inspector Lennox” series and was released in the year 1988. Jimmy Doyle, a local troublemaker has been murdered, something that is greeted by relief from most people. However, Chief Inspector Lyle’s findings about this killer prove much more troubling than Jimmy ever was.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Chief Inspector Lennox

Leave a Reply