Book Notification

Chloe Ellefson Mystery Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Chloe Ellefson Books

Old World Murder (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Heirloom Murders (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Light Keeper's Legacy (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Heritage of Darkness (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tradition of Deceit (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death on the Prairie (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Memory of Muskets (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mining for Justice (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lacemaker's Secret (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fiddling with Fate (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Weaver's Revenge (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Kathleen Ernst is a well-established author who is popularly known for the American Girl mystery series. Like many authors, Kathleen Ernst grew up in a house that was full of books. Luckily enough, both of her parents were avid readers. Before they relocated to a new place, Kathleen Ernst mother used to bring some historical novels that were set in the area, so that Kathleen would familiarise herself with the new area. When she was ten years of age, Kathleen began to pen down stories. At 15 years of age, wrote her very first novel that she sold to a publisher more than 20 years later. The writing was Kathleen Ernst hobby. Thus as she was growing up, she just kept on practicing, writing and reading some more. When Kathleen completed her high school education, she took several day jobs to pay her bills. During this period, Kathleen Ernst continued to pen down books while still paying her bills with her day-to-day job. Luckily enough, Kathleen Ernst had the chance of working at an exceedingly huge historical site, which was ideal for someone who was interested in penning down historical fiction.

Chloe Ellefson Mystery Best Books

Old World Murder

Old World Murder is the debut novel in the Chloe Ellefson mystery series by Kathleen Ernst. In this installment, author Kathleen Ernst introduces the readers to Chloe Ellefson, who has just taken a fresh job as a Collections Curator for Old World Wisconsin, a living museum. What added a surprising dimension to this installment is that the Old World Wisconsin is real and can be easily accessed by the use of a computer. Taking the job, in turn, means that Chloe Ellefson will be returning home. Upon arrival, Chloe meets with an elderly woman, Mrs. Lundquist. Mrs. Lundquist is more than determined to retrieve an exceedingly old family piece that she had handed over to the historical society may years ago. Because she is still new and is faced with numerous items in storage, Chloe puts off Mrs. Lundquist. However, it does not take long before Mrs. Lundquist passes away under mysterious circumstances. Thus, Chloe decides to research on this rather interesting artifact. One Roelke Mackenna warns Chloe that she should not conduct her investigations. In the process, Roelke Mackenna ends up being interested in the case.

Chloe Ellefson first begins to look into the history of the artifact as well as the whereabouts of the artifact. The investigation eventually turns dangerous Chloe eventually discovers that someone was desperately trying to cover up any traces that could point to the whereabouts of the bowl by any means necessary.

The Heirloom Murders

Heirloom Murders begins after a young lady apparently takes her own life. To establish what exactly happened, Chloe decides to befriend the sister to the deceased, Dellyn. Dellyn is not only shocked by the sudden demise of her sister, but she is also grieving because of the recent death of her parents. Both these young women, work at the renowned Old World Wisconsin museum. Chloe serves as a curator, while Dellyn, on the other hand, serves as an agricultural specialist. Chloe is assisting Dellyn in sorting out her parent’s personal effects, with many of them being antique treasures. While looking at the various files, the two find references to a legendary gemstone, the missing Eagle Diamond that was unearthed in the year 1876. Sparks are eventually reignited between cop McKenna and Chloe when he was handed the suicide case. While at the crime scene, Chloe’s ex-boyfriend appears and Chloe is reminded of the sad life that she had to leave behind. The presence of Chloe’s ex-boyfriend, in turn, leaves cop Roelke McKenna unsure of how to proceed with his hoped relationship.

It does not take long before a murder is committed within the Museum Grounds. On the same day, someone tried to break into Dellyn’s historical house and in the process attacked Chloe after she found him lurking. It eventually becomes evidently clear that murderous greed was behind some of these evil acts. The book alternates between the present day and the year 1876 on Clarissa and Charles Wood’s farm. Albrecht Bachmeier, a hired hand is assisting Charles in digging a well. In the process, Charles discovers a rather unusual gem. Once the gem was washed, it was placed on Clarissa’s kitchen window still.

The Light Keeper’s Legacy

In this third installment, we meet once again with Chloe Ellefson, the protagonist as she leaps at the opportunity of working as a consultant for the historic lighthouse restoration project. Chloe needs time for herself, and from the look of things, the tranquillity of the County State Park appears to be what she needs. At the park, Chloe will be able to sort out through her professional and personal problems, while at the same time attacking the assignment that was handed to her by the Rock Island Support Circle. However, it does not take long before a dead woman is washed ashore just below the lighthouse. Apart from looking into the time periods and the lighthouse caretakers, Chloe will also try to find answers about the woman whose body had just been found.

Heritage of Darkness

Chloe Ellefson, once more returns in this third installment, the Heritage of Instalment. The book begins as Chloe Ellefson, her boyfriend and her mother are on a road trip. The trio is on the way to Iowa, with the aim of participating in chip-carving and rose mailing classes. Apart from the classes, Chloe is looking forth for a mother daughter bonding. However, upon arrival in Iowa, Chloe stumbles upon a hidden trunk within a heritage center. Furthermore, there is also a murder to be solved, which threatens the Vesterheim museum. There are also several secrets that date back to, The Sixty Seven, a group of artisans. With that said, the author, Kathleen Ernst has done an excellent job of bringing these main characters at the heart of an investigation. Kathleen Ernst has also once again captured the Norwegian migration experience in a rather different way from all the two previous novels. The author, Kathleen Ernst has also managed to create rich and vibrant characters. By taking the readers back to the 1980’s, then to 1949 and 1967, the author gives the readers a chance to piece together the clues.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Chloe Ellefson Mystery

One Response to “Chloe Ellefson Mystery”

  1. Kathleen (Dannies) Denny: 7 months ago

    Hi, Kathleen 🙂 Just wondering if you still were thinking of writing a mystery about Villa Louis. I am really hoping you will continue the series, which is so familiar to me by setting…. love them..I know time & life march on….


Leave a Reply