Book Notification

Chris C.C. Humphreys Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Captain Coke Books

Publication Order of French Executioner Books

The French Executioner (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood Ties (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Curse of Anne Boleyn (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Immortal's Blood Books

Smoke in the Glass (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Jack Absolute Books

Jack Absolute (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Blooding of Jack Absolute (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Absolute Honor (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Roxy Loewen Mystery Books

Chasing the Wind (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Runestone Saga Books

as Chris Humphreys

Publication Order of Chris (C.C.) Humphreys Standalone Novels

Vlad (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Place Called Armageddon (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Hunt of the Unicorn (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shakespeare's Rebel (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Hunt of the Dragon (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
One London Day (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Someday I'll Find You (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

C.C. Humphreys the pseudonym by a Canadian born playwright, actor, and author of young adult, fantasy, science fiction, and historical fiction books Chris Humphreys. He has authored The Runestone Saga under his real name Chris Humphreys. Chris was born in Toronto, Canada, and was raised in Los Angeles and the United Kingdom. As an actor, he is popularly known for his role The Bill, a police procedural television series as PC Richard from 1989-1990. He’s also been featured in other television programs including A.D, Highlander, Silent Witness, Wycliffe, and The Core.

He has published young adult books and historical adventures under. The hero in his Jack Absolute series is drawn from the main character in Richard Brinsley Sheridan’s play, The Rivals. His two books in Captain Coke series, tell the tales of serial killers in 1665-1666 London. The first book Plague won Canada’s Crime Writers Award in 2015. The two books were listed in the top ten bestseller list in the Globe and Mail. The Runestone Saga is a tale full of runic magic, Norse myth, horror and time travel.

Jack Absolute

This is the first book in Jack Absolute series by C.C. Humphreys set during the American Revolution featuring a main character, Jack Absolute. He is a funny, adventurous, a carefree and at times a playboy.

Jack Absolute is derived from Richard Brinsley Sheridan’s play, The Rivals first performed in 1775. Humphreys, the creator of Jack Absolute, derived from his acting experiences, as he played the character of Captain Jack the main character in the Rivals Play severally. However, Jack Absolute is an expansion and a finer version of the character in the play. Jack in Humphrey’s world bears similarity with Jack in the Rivals, but many different ways and Rival’s Jack is more of a cartoon version of Humphrey’s character. Humphrey’s version is stronger and a better character than Jack in the play.

It’s always interesting to see American history from the other side of history as we know it, through the eyes of the British men. According to the author, there was more at stake in this revolution war, something great than just the American Independence. The British forces were also fighting for the rights of the Native American; people whom the British thought were being exploited by the Americans, in the name of colonization and making profits.

Through his instincts, Jack protects the Indians by forging a friendship with the Iroquois. In his many travels, he spent most of his time with them and adopted some of the cultural practices. One of Jack’s closest friends is Ate, a Mohawk Indian warrior who occasionally partners him in battle. Together they fight their common enemy with honor and passion, and they watch each other’s back and save each other more than once.

In most of the story, Jack works as a spy for the British. Several of his enemies are guided by code names and are quite elusive. Throughout his battles and adventures, he watches for intelligence about the code-named agents and learns of their plans against the British. We see Jack skills at decrypting codes which truly come in handy when he intercepts printed messages. This is one aspect of Jack that you will find interesting. Jack inhibits different roles: he is a spy, an Indian, a sympathizer, a friend, and lover. Additionally, he is also known as the ladies man, and at one point he meets a woman who makes him want to quit and leave his old life behind him. The two explore both the sea and land, and while she’s not always with him throughout the story, he’s always thinking about her.

The author, Chris Humphreys does a fantastic job in conveying Jack’s romance life, something you don’t get to see in stories by other historical authors set during the American Revolution. The novel’s romantic aspect of the storyline moves along at a steady pace and will appeal to any female reader. The most important part of Jack Absolute story is the battle scenes. The author beautifully blends romance, spying, and battle themes into one solid, fast-paced and action packed story.

The Fetch

Like earlier mentioned, C.C. Humphreys is one of the most famous faces in English theater. Not only has he written several theatrical productions, but he has in his biography a few participations as an actor. His Norwegian origin from his mother’s side and his personal experiences, which to a certain extent are related to the ancient legends of Scandinavia that began in the Viking era, led him to write The Runestone Saga Series.

The main character is Sky, a 15-year-old boy who lives a nomadic life around England and so can’t stay with good old friends. Since he’s the latest addition in the school, he finds it hard to make friends. And since moving to his new home, he’s been experiencing something weird at night. He often wakes up to find himself on the floor, and his parents think that he’s been sleepwalking.

One day his mother calls him to check out a sea chest with her. She informs him that it was his grandfather’s before his death. She never talked about the old man that much. He discovers more than he’d bargained for in the old chest. Two weeks prior to spring and his cousin is coming over for her boarding school. Since Kristin’s been away, she becomes a different person. But the two are faced with one common problem, unraveling the mystery surrounding their grandfather’s chest box.

Skai’s journey is scary and charming at the same time. It’s great to travel with him in time-space, even if there are not a few moments when we feel confused and disoriented, as we try to understand the secrets of his family and the new perspectives that open in front of him. Reading this series, you will learn more about the Scandinavian history and let you explore mystical and charming legends that come from the past to today, with magic and dangerous air.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Chris C.C. Humphreys

Leave a Reply