Book Notification

Chris Collett Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of DI Mariner Books

The Worm in the Bud / Deadly Lies (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood of the Innocents / Innocent Lies (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Written in Blood / Killer Lies (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood Money / Baby Lies (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stalked by Shadows / Married Lies (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood and Stone / Buried Lies (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead of Night / Missing Lies (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Good Death (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Midnight Lies (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Truth About Murder (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Chris Collett is a renowned writer from The United Kingdom, who is popular for writing nonfiction, crime fiction, British literature, and mystery novels. She is well known for the success of her mystery series called The DI Mariner book series. For writing this particular series, author Collett created the character of Tom Mariner and described him as working as a detective inspector and hailing from Birmingham, England. Author Collett was born in Gorleston-on-sea, Norfolk, UK. She spent her earlier years growing up in her hometown. She went on to receive training in Liverpool for teaching the students having learning difficulties. Following her graduation, Collett shifted to Birmingham and started working in various schools & services of local authority. She was mainly involved with the children with some special needs & disabilities, as well as their families. Author Collett found her better half in 1983 and got married to him in the same year. She changed her place of residence to Bournville. She resides there even today along with her loving husband and a couple of children. In addition to spending time for writing novels, she manages to take out some time for community service.

Throughout her life, author Collett has worked with numerous children, adults, and young people with mental health and learning issues. She has recently retired from her job as a university lecturer. Collett used to teach undergraduate students on a variety of subjects such as needs for special education, inclusion, disabilities, human and equality rights. Whenever author Collett is not busy with her writing works, she likes to enjoy some relaxing time in the company of her family. She also likes to indulge in the activities of walking, photography, cinema, reading, attending theater and comedy shows, and playing badminton. Collett thinks of herself as a teacher, who is capable of writing as well. Author Collett got the inspiration to writer her own mystery stories from the famous works of prominent author such as P.D. James, Ian Rankin, Lee Child, etc. In addition to writing full length novels, Collett has also written several short stories. She has even taught creative & crime writing to aspiring authors. After her retirement from the teaching profession, she got employed at the CWA to work as an assessor of manuscripts. As of now, author Collett is busy with the development of the next book in her popular DI Mariner series.

The DI Mariner series written by author Chris Collett is comprised of a total of 8 books, which were released between the years 2004 and 2017. Each of the books of this series feature the chief protagonist in the role of a Birmingham based detective inspector named Tom Mariner. Besides Tom Mariner, the other important characters mentioned throughout the series include Eddie Barham, Jamie Barham, Anna Barham, Yasmin, Ricky, Madeleine, Jessica, Lucy Jarrett, Nina Silvero, Grace Clifton, Bob Clifton, etc. The settings of most of the stories is done in Birmingham. Several plots also take place in the beautiful countryside of Warwickshire and Worcestershire. The description of Detective Tom Mariner is given as that of a normal policeman dedicated towards his job. In his young age, Tom has faced some very difficult situations. This has made experienced enough to realize the dark sides of life.

Tom Mariner does not show any interest in materialistic things. He resides in a small cottage located near a canal. He drives a very old car, enjoys beer sometimes, and likes to play the dominoes game. Tom Mariner is mostly outdoors, trying to solve one or the other mystery case involving crime and criminals. The debut book of this series is entitled ‘Deadly Lies’. It was released by the Joffe Books in the year 2004. At the beginning of the book’s story, it is shown that a journalist named Eddie Barham is discovered dead in his house. The local authorities find a syringe inserted in Eddie’s arm and a small note that read ‘No More’. It looks like it is a simple case of suicide, but DI Mariner doesn’t think so. A few hours before his death, Mariner had seen Eddie leaving a bar with a woman. Later, he finds Eddie’s brother Jamie trying to prevent himself from getting seen by the police by hiding inside a cupboard.

After Jamie’s interrogation, it is learned that he is the single witness to the death of his brother. But, the police are not able to get much from him because of his autistic condition. Tom Mariner shows the determination to make a connection with Jamie and find out the truth. He suspects that Eddie’s death is related to the investigation of the activities of a local crime lord that Eddie was working on. While trying to unravel the truth Mariner gets too close to Eddie’s sister, Anna. He wonders what other secrets are known to Jamie Barham and whether he will be able to keep himself from the distraction of Anna’s attractive beauty? Tom Mariner races against the clock in the nail-biting climax in order to prevent the loss of any other innocent life.

Another entertaining book written in the series is called ‘Innocent Lies’. The Joffe publication released this book too in 2017, after its first release in 2004. At the start of the story of the book, it is depicted that 2 teenagers disappear from different location on a same day. These two, Ricky and Yasmin, belong to totally different backgrounds. Yasmin is described as a talented student educated in a grammar school. Her parents are devout professionals from the Muslim community. Ricky is said to have entered in a heated argument with his mother after he saw her with her new boyfriend and left his council home in anger. DI Mariner takes charge of the case of Ricky’s disappearance. He considers this case very important as he knows the mother of Ricky from his past. But, when his commanding officer orders him to leave this case and get involved in the investigation of a politically sensitive case, Mariner becomes very furious.

The case that lands at his desk this time is that of Yasmin Akram. His superiors and the press seem pretty much convinced that Yasmin has been abducted and her abduction was radically motivated. Her family has always been targeted by a right group with orthodox beliefs. Mariner brings the investigation and the case to an end by establishing the fact that Yasmin Akram is not the innocent victim that her parents believe. However, he is still required to solve the mystery and find the truth. Mariner decides to dig deeper and tries to find more clues to get to the bottom of the mystery. This book was well appreciated by numerous readers as well as critics all over the world, which helped it to become widely successful.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Chris Collett

One Response to “Chris Collett”

  1. Rita Simpson: 2 years ago

    Are there any more Tom Mariner books in the pipeline ? Have read all 9 of them and really loved them ❤


Leave a Reply