Book Notification

Chris Culver Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Detective Ash Rashid Books

The Abbey (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Outsider (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
By Any Means (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Measureless Night (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pocketful of God (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
No Room For Good Men (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sleeper Cell (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Detective Homer Watson Books

Publication Order of Gabe Ward Books

Publication Order of Hana Blackwood Books

Publication Order of Joe Court Books

The Girl in the Motel (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Girl in the Woods (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Boys in the Church (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Man in the Meth Lab (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Woman Who Wore Roses (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Man in the Park (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Girl Who Told Stories (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Men on the Farm (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Man in the River (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Man by the Creek (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Girl in the Tent (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Chris Culver is the pen name of a best selling author born in Tulsa.

He moved to Indiana with his family at age 7. Chris attended graduate school and once he graduated from that, he turned to his interest in teaching. He has taught many courses in subjects such as comparative religion and ethics. He has worked in southern Arkansas at a small university of the liberal arts.

Even though Culver should have spent more time giving grades to exams, but when he was there he did spend a fair amount of time on fiction. So during this period of time he was able to compose his novel that would become The Abbey. This book did really well the instant that it was published and reached the best seller’s list of the Times.

The series did incredibly well and was also where readers were able to meet the Detective Ash Rashid for the first time. The debut novel was released in 2011 and Culver quickly followed it up with a sequel. About one book a year has come out in this exciting mystery series that readers can’t get enough of! The seventh book in the series was released in 2018 and is titled Sleeper Cell.

The author has considered himself a storyteller from his early days as a child. How did he come to write and favor the genre of crime fiction? It was after he picked up a copy of the book I, The Jury by author Mickey Spillane while at a book sale at the library. It was from that moment of reading the novel that Culver was intrigued and obsessed with crime mysteries and his wife could not prevent him from tracking down more novels of the same genre and bringing them home.

Chris lives with his wife and their pet dog, a labrador. They reside close to the city of St. Louis. Not content to rest on his laurels, Chris likes spending time with his wife and dog but also is sure to take the time to write so he can put out that next novel for his fans and interested readers.

The Abbey is the interesting debut novel in Chris Culver’s Rashid series. This is where readers get to meet Ash for the first time. Some homicide detectives love the job, but after a while there’s always a risk of burning out. That’s where we find Rashid at the start of this story.

He used to work the homicide beat, but at some point the job got to him. At this point in time, Ash can’t bear the idea of working a single case more. He just doesn’t feel that he has it in him to investigate another death– one that wasn’t an accident. Or multiple murders that were done in cold blood or moments where individuals snap or pure premeditation.

It used to be his job, and now Ash wants nothing to do with the details of his former life. The last thing that he wants to do is take on an investigation. All he has to do is get through the year and he will be shuffled out and on his way, leaving the department behind him. Ash has an entire plan and nothing is going to mess that up.

Murder does have a way of getting in people’s way, though. When the body of his niece turns up out of the blue, Ash is devastated and totally taken aback. This turn of events was the last thing that he ever saw coming. Her body was discovered in a guest home. It belongs to one of the wealthiest people in the city. What was she doing there?

The detective thought that he’d never take on another case. But with something like this, he finds that he would desire nothing more than tracking down the person who did this and bringing them to swift justice. Even though the coroner says that the cause of death was overdosing, Ash thinks that doesn’t make sense at all.

Something about this is not adding up. Ash doesn’t have any right to start looking into this case in the eyes of the department, but this is one time that he’s not going to obey orders and do what the department wants him to do.

The case is even more dangerous than he thought once he gets into it. Can Ash survive the investigation or is he going to fall victim to a serious killer? As he gets caught up in a case that seems nearly endless, there’s a lot that he has to get his head around while managing not to lose it too.

Ash is wrapped up in the murder case completely and needs to solve it before someone else ends up being targeted. Can he do it? Check out this novel to find out!

The Outsider is the exciting and totally engaging sequel in the Detective series by Chris Culver! If you love novels that deal with murder and mystery, then you’re going to love this second installment of this interesting series.

This detective has been through loss that he never expected, but must find a way to come through it all and persevere. He is used to dealing with the streets of Indianapolis, but he’s also not the type of person that is going to allow some type of structure of rules get in the way of trying to have justice prevail in the end.

However, all of his years in the field did take something out of him. It’s not easy to see the things that he’s seen. He’s been working the investigations for over a decade, and now he’s ready to move on. But fate is always looking for a way to drag him back.

Ash’s daughter has friends and one of the friend’s mother ends up being murdered right in front of her own property. This crime is even apparently being ignored over being actively investigated. With everything on the line, this detective is going to get to the bottom of this case once and for all. Pick up The Outside to see what happens for yourself!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Chris Culver

One Response to “Chris Culver”

  1. Loave Elaine Todd: 2 years ago

    I provided middle name so you would know I’m a female. Just finished reading your book with Gabe Ward. An awesome book. Now that he is in DC those will be some interesting reading. An IT detective in DC can have some really good ideas for crime. Can’t wait for more of Gabe Ward’s stories. Have read all of Ash and Joe series so on to the next series.

    Great writing.


Leave a Reply