Book Notification

Chris Dolley Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Reeves & Worcester Steampunk Mysteries Books

What Ho, Automata (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Reggiecide (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Aunt Paradox (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Unpleasantness at Baskerville Hall (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deja Vu Halloo (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Magical Crimes: Twenty-Four Inches From Tulsa (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
International Kittens of Mystery (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Glampire (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Free Cornish Army (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Mad Science Café(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Chris Dolley is a NY Times bestselling English author of fantasy, humor, science fiction, mystery, and thriller novels. He has written several mind-blowing books in his career and is particularly famous for writing the Reeves and Worcester Steampunk Mystery series. The writing career of author Dolley also consists of many standalone novels, a few novellas, and one nonfiction book. Dolley hails from Bournemouth, United Kingdom. He is also a pioneer designer of computer games and a teenage freedom fighter. It 1974, Dolley was given the task of publicizing the Student Rag Week of Plymouth. Instead of arranging an interview with a local newspaper, he decided to invade the neighboring country and create the Free Cornish Army. Thereafter, Dolley persuaded the media in the UK that Cornwall had declared its independence. Later, Dolley wrote this incident in Punch.

Dolley told the reporters at that time that it was just a small country and he did give it back. Author Dolley went on to create Randomberry Games in 1981 and also wrote Necromancer. It was one of the first computer-based 3D first-person perspectives D&D games. He is also credited to have written the most aggressive program of chess ever seen. Also, Dolley is known to have invented the most dangerous game, called the GWSG Cliff Top Relay. Author Dolley maintains that he has a particular interest in SF, mystery, humor, and fantasy stories. He made his debut in the field of writing with his 2004 novel called Resonance. It was the first novel to be selected from the electronic slush pile of Baen. Currently, Dolley resides in France with his beloved wife and lives a self-sufficient life. His fondness for pet animals has made him keep a few of them in his house.

Dolley wrote a book based on his life and included his pet animals as the lead characters in them. He named the book French Fried, which is now a bestseller in the international market. In 2012, Dolley’s book, What Ho, Automaton! became a WSFA Small Press Award finalist. Dolley had come to France in 1995 and took shelter in a rural locality. In 1997, he bought a farm complex near the Normandy-Maine Regional Park and took upon himself to rebuild it. In addition to his writing and game designing work, Dolley has also featured in a few French films, portraying small but important roles. He believes that his particular interest in French language films and his connections with some prominent personalities in the French film industry enabled him to do those roles. The popular movies that Dolley has been a part of include Sade and Joan of Arc. Dolley was also a part of a band during his younger days.

Author Dolley is grateful for all the support and love he has received from his fans from all over the world. He is hopeful that the fans will continue to shower their love on him with all his future books. Dolley is satisfied with the amount of success he has achieved as an author. He is determined to write more novels in the future and achieve as much success as he can before he breathes his last. Dolley likes to extend his gratitude to his lovely wife, who always stood by his side and has always supported him in times of thick and thin. As of now, Dolley is working on a new book and is expected to release it in the next few months.

A successful book penned by author Chris Dolley is entitled ‘Resonance’. It was released in 2005 by the Baen Books publication. This novel features the central characters in the roles of Graham Smith and Annalise Mercado. The book opens by introducing Graham Smith as an office messenger in his mid-thirties. He is seen as an obsessive-compulsive mute by the outside world. People consider him weird, but he does not cause any harm to others. However, Graham Smith thinks that the world itself is weird and is quite harmful. He tends to see things that other people are not capable of seeing or simply don’t want to see. Graham thinks that roads can change their course, people can disappear, and office blocks can migrate. And according to him, all this can happen when nobody is looking. Graham sees the world as an unstable place that continues to grow and slough off layers of truth like the dead skin.

On the other hand, Annalise Mercado is described as the one with the ability to hear voices. She listens to girls who call themselves Annalise. At times, Annalise thinks that the voices are spirit guides and then changes her opinion in a split second, thinking that she is crazy. When the voices inform Annalise Mercado about Graham Smith and warn her that some men are trying to kill him, Annalise begins to take them seriously. She meets Graham and tells him everything. Annalise also tells him to stay alert and remain far from harmful people. Their meeting begins the story of 2 people whose lives are divided across the alternate realities.

Another exciting book written by Dolley is known as ‘An Unsafe Pair of Hands’. This book was published in 2011 in the e-book format. The story of this novel revolves around the life of the lead character named Peter Shand. Initially, Peter Shand is introduced as a high-flying police administrator. He is asked to join a CID team in a quiet rural area to gain the necessary operational experience required for his promotion. Peter has the reputation of being a ‘safe pair of hands’ On the second day of his inclusion into the CID team, he is thrust into the investigation of a high-profile murder mystery. The dead body of a woman is found in a stone circle and another woman is buried beneath her, alive. Peter Shand finds himself under immense pressure and the media is looking for answers and he has nothing to say so far.

Later, a local reporter points out that Peter Shand is the reason why the investigation is not making any progress. As a result, Peter experiences a tough time at a press conference. In order to save his reputation, he lies about having a lead and falsely claims to be closer to solving the murder mystery. Peter keeps on lying to his boss, the press, and his team, hoping that he will solve the case soon and no one will find out about his lies. Then, another murder takes place and Peter is completely shocked to hear about it. He begins to question his ability. With being increasingly unpredictable and desperate, Peter Shand finds himself on the verge of breaking and prays that the murderer gets caught somehow.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Chris Dolley

Leave a Reply