Book Notification

Chris McGeorge Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Dog that Turned into a Cat (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Amateurs (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Guess Who (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Now You See Me (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Inside Out (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Half-Past Tomorrow (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Murder at Balmoral (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Chris McGeorge
Chris McGeorge has an MA in Creative Writing (Thriller/Crime) from City University London where he wrote “Dead Room”, his first novel, for his thesis. He was constantly telling stories from a young age, whether they took the form of short stories, comics, or scripts.

Chris is a lover of Golden Age crime, like Conan Doyle and Christie, leading his crime stories to be a combination of the contemporary with the old. He likes wonderful and weird plots, with plenty of twists and intrigue. During his spare time, he’s an actor with Durham Dramatic Society.

“Guess Who?” is the first stand alone novel and was released in 2018. The rules are simple, even though the game is not.

Morgan Sheppard (at the age of 11) solved a teacher’s murder when everybody else believed it to be just a suicide. The publicity surrounding this case laid the foundation for his reputation as a modern day Sherlock Holmes. He parlayed this fame into a gig as TV’s “resident detective”, and solved the more typical daytime talk show mysteries such as “Is he cheating?” and “Who is the Father?”

That is, up until Sheppard wakes up handcuffed to this bed in an unfamiliar hotel room. Surrounding him, five strangers that are slowly beginning to wake up, too. They quickly find a corpse in the bathtub and Sheppard is challenged to put his detective abilities to the test. One of the people in this room is the real killer. He’s got three hours to solve this murder. And if he doesn’t find the killer, then they will all die.

“Now You See Me” is the second stand alone novel and was released in 2019. Six went in, however just the one came back out.

The Standedge Tunnel, which is the longest canal tunnel in England, has become one of the rural village of Marsden’s main tourist attractions. It’s also a crime scene now.

Six students went into the tunnel on this private boat. Two and a half hours later, and the boat showed back up on the other end of the tunnel carrying just Matthew. He’d been knocked unconscious and doesn’t have any memory of what happened in the tunnel. The cops suspect that he killed all of his friends, hid their bodies, and later moved them to some undisclosed location. However sitting in a cell awaiting his trial, Matthew maintains that he’s innocent.

Matthew contacts this famous author asking him for some help in exchange for some information he claims he possesses about the writer’s long-lost wife, it is an offer that cannot be refused. However before the author is able to prove Matthew’s innocence, he has to first answer a much more unusual question: How did five corpses vanish into thin air?

“Inside Out” is the third stand alone novel and was released in 2020. She was sent down. Cara Lockhart has started a life sentence in HMP North Fern, which is the newest maximum security women’s prison in the whole country. She was convicted of a crime that she is adamant she did not commit.

She was set up. One morning she wakes and finds her cellmate was murdered, having been shot in the head with a gun that has gone missing. The door was locked the entire night, making Cara the single suspect.

However that was just the beginning. Cara needs to clear her name, unraveling this impossible case, with an investigation that is governed by a prison timetable. However while Cara begins learning more about North Fern and the predicament she’s in, she discovers some connections between the present and past that she never could have imagined. Indeed is appears that her conviction and this current situation she finds herself may be linked in pretty odd ways.

“Half-Past Tomorrow” is the fourth stand alone novel and was released in 2021. Shirley Steadman is a 70 year old woman that lives in a tiny town in the North East of England, and loves her volunteer work at the local hospital radio. She likes giving back to the community, and even more so, she enjoys getting out of the house. Haunted by her son’s presence, who was a reluctant Royal Navy officer that got lost at sea, and still in the shadow of her long deceased abusive husband, she does not like being alone all that much.

This one day, at the radio station, she’s playing around with the equipment and discovers this frequency that wasn’t ever there before. It’s a pirate radio station, and while she listens to the presenter begins reading off the news. However there’s an issue: the news being reported on is for tomorrow. Shirley first believes that there is some misunderstanding, just a wrong date. However she watches while everything that was reported on comes true. At first, Shirley is in awe of the station, happily tuning in to hear the news.

However the presenter begins reporting on murders, murders which happen exactly the way they were reported. And Shirley is only person able to stop them.

“A Murder at Balmoral” is the fifth stand alone novel and was released in 2022. The king is dead and the killer is in the family. Solving this murder is going to be a royal pain.

The royal family has gathered together at Balmoral castle, their Scottish retreat, for a traditional Christmas. While a blizzard gathers outside and this delicious dinner gets prepared, the family circles up to have a holiday toast. King Eric has got something momentous to say; in fact, he is about to name his successor. However while he raises up a glass of his favorite whiskey, he drops dead.

The king’s been poisoned, somebody in the family must have done it, and each of them had motive and opportunity. Jonathan, Eric’s beloved head chef, has to now play detective. Why would one of the king’s own family want to murder him, and how were they able to do it? What happens in the castle typically stays in the castle, however this secret may be too big for these battlements, Jon’s determined to expose the truth, even if it might mean putting himself in the crosshairs of a killer, and it shakes the whole monarchy to its core.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Chris McGeorge

Leave a Reply