Book Notification

Chris Rylander Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Codename Conspiracy Books

Publication Order of An Epic of Failures Books

The Legend of Greg (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Curse of Greg (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Rise of Greg (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Fourth Stall Books

The Fourth Stall (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fourth Stall Part II (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fourth Stall Part III (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of House of Secrets Books

House of Secrets (By: Ned Vizzini,Chris Columbus) (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Battle of the Beasts (By: Ned Vizzini,Chris Columbus) (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Clash of the Worlds (With: Ned Vizzini,Chris Columbus) (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Hurricanes of Weakerville (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

I Will Destroy You, Derek Jeter (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Guys Read: The Sports Pages(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Been There, Done That(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Chris Rylander is an American author of children’s books, humor, mystery, and thrillers books. His book series include the Fourth Stall series, the Codename Conspiracy series, and the Epic Series of Failures. He wrote the House of Secrets book series in collaboration with Ned Vizzini and Chris Columbus. Chris is also the author of The Hurricanes of Weakerville’s standalone novel, and I Will Destroy You, Derek Jeter’s short story book.

The Legend of Greg is the first novel in the Epic Series of Failures series by Chris Rylander. It tells the story of a boy named Greg, a far more extraordinary boy than anyone could guess. This fact is often hinted at by Froggy, a character who mostly talks to himself in disjointed phrases. Froggy also has his hidden secrets. Greg’s father is an expert in holistic health, and Greg frequently found himself trying out his father’s latest creations. Whether it was an organic soap or a new herbal concoction, Greg was always ready to test them. He loves his dad and is up for anything, even if it means enduring weird smells or strange tastes.

Everything changes one day when Greg tries something that was not meant for him. The taste is unusual, not unpleasant, but definitely not for him. Suddenly, their well-ordered life unravels like a collapsing house of cards. Secrets long hidden are revealed, and Greg discovers his true destiny. A magical war, dormant for thousands of years, is on the verge of erupting. The war, a colossal and ancient conflict, has the potential to change Greg’s life forever.

The first book in the series introduces us to a wide array of unique characters, each bringing their quirks and qualities. We meet Dwarves of various sizes, shapes, and histories. Alongside Greg, we learn an important lesson: not everyone and everything is entirely trustworthy. These characters, much like people in the real world, are complex. They have the capacity for both love and hate, revenge and peace, as well as mercy and harmful intent.

Greg himself undergoes a major transformation. He grows not just in physical size but also in personality and abilities. He becomes more authentically himself than he ever was. However, Greg isn’t the only notable character in this tale. There’s someone for everyone to relate to and support, regardless of which group you identify with – be it punks, outcasts, the popular crowd, or nerds.

For example, Glam stands out with her dubious hair choices and a knack for getting physical. On the other hand, Ari impresses with her balanced approach to life, along with her exceptional smithing skills. Froggy, though strange, shows a kind heart. Eagen captivates with his extraordinary storytelling. Even Edwin, the popular kid, displays a mix of positives and negatives, hinting at an underlying genuine kindness. This wide array of characters, with their strengths and flaws, adds depth to the story. They are characters to both love and dislike.
Greg Belmont stands out as an ideal protagonist. He’s amusing, often making light of situations with his humor. Yet, he’s not without his insecurities, adding a layer of depth to his character. Greg is genuinely surprised and often bewildered when people express a desire to befriend him. This blend of humor, vulnerability, and astonishment makes him feel very real. He’s a character you can connect with despite the magical and chaotic world that surrounds him.

Chris Rylander did a fantastic job not only with the characters but also with the writing style. It’s a middle grade that stands out for its humor. The long and amusing chapter titles are a delight, and the humor woven throughout the pages keeps you smiling. The story is sprinkled with just the right amount of absurd plot twists to maintain the reader’s interest.

The book’s central theme revolves around family. Told from Greg’s first-person perspective, the reader discovers the world of magic, Dwarves, Elves, and more alongside him. This narrative style helps in connecting with Greg’s experiences and learning as he does. The book concludes with a cliffhanger and several unanswered questions, which are answered in the second novel in the series.

Codename Zero is the first book in the Codename Conspiracy series by Chris Rylander. The story centers around Carson Fender, a notorious prankster in his small North Dakota town. Carson is tired of the mundane everyday life and seeks excitement through his pranks. His pranks are creative and unexpected, shaking up the monotony of daily routines. During one of his elaborate pranks involving fainting goats and super glue, a frantic man dressed in a suit hands him a mysterious package. The man’s only instructions are for Carson to deliver the package to Mr. Jenson and not to open it.

Driven by curiosity, Carson opens the package, triggering a 48-hour auto-destruct feature, as he was not supposed to open it. This action propels him into a frantic search to find the correct Mr. Jenson, as there are two with that name at his school. Carson finds himself unexpectedly working for a secret agency and is thrown into a mission to protect the life of a young boy. The adventure that unfolds is thrilling and full of unexpected twists, making Codename Zero a delightful read for anyone looking for an enjoyable and lighthearted adventure.

Carson is joined by his best friends, twins Danielle and Dillon. These three have been inseparable since childhood. Their close bond is evident in their interactions and deep understanding of each other. Danielle is the sensible one, often keeping the boys grounded, yet she still has a daring streak. Dillon is an unforgettable character; known for his wild conspiracy theories and the bizarre evidence he gathers to support them. Adding a new dynamic to the group is Olek, the latest member to join Carson and his friends. Together, they navigate the exciting world of spies and secret missions.

Overall, Codename Zero is fast-paced, making it an engaging read for older elementary-aged children. The book is action-packed, with enough suspense to keep young readers hooked. While there is some violence, given the spy theme and the presence of villains, it’s minimal and mostly occurs towards the end of the book. This makes it an appropriate and exciting read for young adventurers.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Chris Rylander

Leave a Reply