Book Notification

Chrissie Walsh Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Weaver Street Books

Welcome to Weaver Street (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hard Times on Weaver Street (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Weaver Street at War (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Girl from the Mill (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Child from the Ash Pits (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Collier's Wife (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Orphan Girl (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Midwives' War (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Chrissie Walsh is a bestselling sagas fiction author from West Yorkshire that is best known for the “Weaver Street” series of novels.

Before she became an author she use to be a schoolteacher with a passion for history. During her career working as a teacher, she rose through the ranks to become the deputy principal at the Tyrella-based St Joseph Primary School.
Throughout her life, she always dreamed of one day making it as a published author but she was just too busy to ever start. It was when she retired that she finally found the motivation, energy, and time to begin writing.
Chrissie made use of her early life memories living in Yorkshire to write her stories and come up with themes that would make it into her bestselling novels.

She was lucky enough to find an agent who secured her a four-book deal. She made her debut with the publishing of the single-standing novel “The Girl from the Mill.” She has since then penned many successful sagas.

Walsh usually uses a well-rehearsed routine when she is writing her novels. She will usually take a walk during the day to collect her thoughts and get some ideas.
She will then putter around her garden and then begin writing late in the evening at 10 pm until 2 am since this is the time she is usually most productive.

Using that routine, she has been able to write some blockbuster fiction works and has at some point been number one on the Google Books military history fiction works.
Her novels are also available globally on platforms such as Audible and have also been translated into other languages such as Spanish, Polish, German, and Dutch.
They have also sold well in Yorkshire in northern England, Northern Ireland, Canada, New Zealand, and Australia.

When Chrissie is not writing her novels, she can usually be found reading novels from the likes of County Clare-based Niall Williams.
While she has achieved her wildest dreams she hopes that she can one day get some of her novels made into a TV series.

Chrissie Walsh’s novel Welcome to Weaver Street is a delightful saga that is as heartwarming as it is heartbreaking, We are introduced to Tom and Kitty Conlon who are a couple that just arrived in Dublin aboard the steam packet from Dublin.
A month following their marriage, they got a letter from some Liverpool solicitors with some interesting news. Apparently, Tom is the heir to a Weaver Street house which has been left to him by Thomas his great uncle and namesake.
He initially thought they had made a mistake but after he talks with the lawyers, they assure him that he is the new owner of the house.

In the wake of the unrest in Ireland after Easter Rising and with no real close family to speak of, he intends to start a brand new life in Liverpool. They had arrived exhausted and in need of some rest and food before they get the key to their own house.
Kitty wants to make a nice home for her future family but initially, they have a rough start. But it is not long before she makes friends with Maggy a neighbor and this liaison serves the couple well.
However, Tom finds himself conscripted and has to go fight the Great War for Britain leaving Kitty all alone in Liverpool.

“Hard Times on Weaver Street” by Chrissie Walsh is another brilliant novel in the series that continues to follow the life and times of Kitty Conlon. It is 1924 and the residents of Weaver Street are healing from the memories and wounds of World War I.
Kitty Conlon is a widow who lives in house number eleven and cannot wait to get married to John.

In house number nine lives Maggie her best friend who curses her luck as she has to juggle a fly-by-night beau, a stroppy daughter, and a cantankerous mother.

House number fifteen is the residence mysterious new lodger named Mavis whose neighbors are the O Malleys who are longing for their home in Ireland. However, the Depression is just beginning to show its effects.
Meanwhile, the arrival of the Muler family in Liverpool is a worrying signal that there may be a conflict with Germany in the future. The fragile peace and happiness that Weaver Street and Liverpool at large have been enjoying may just be coming to an end.
In the toughest of times, the neighbors pull together and help each other, even as the women have to deal with the fact that their men may be conscripted and head off to go fight another war.

It makes for a delicious historical saga with some intense drama sequences that tell the stories of families having to deal with the prospect of war.

“The Girl from the Mill” by Chrissie Walsh is a work set just before the beginning of World War I. The actual setting is Garsthwaite a drab town in Yorkshire where Lacey Barraclough is employed as a textile mill worker.
She works hard as an activist fighting for the betterment of working conditions for herself and her fellow weavers. However, she never expected that she would fall in love with Nathan the son of her boss.

Nathan reciprocates her love but they will still have to deal with a class divide and even harder, persuade their families that they truly love each other.

Before Lacey and Nathan can make a life together, the First World War breaks out and Nathan becomes an enlisted man. When Nathan leaves to go to fight he goes with Lacey’s dreams and she is forced to find a way to face the future all alone.
Garsthwaite is soon facing some hard times and it is uncertain if the returning men will even have a home they can come back to.

Another question is will the men who come back from the front be able to learn to love again and outrun the horrors of the war?

Book Series In Order » Authors » Chrissie Walsh

Leave a Reply