Book Notification

Christelle Dabos Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Mirror Visitor Quartet Books

A Winter's Promise (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The ​Missing of Clairdelune (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Memory of Babel (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Storm of Echoes (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Here, and Only Here (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Christelle Dabos is a published French author.

Dabos was born on Cote d’Azur in 1980. She says growing up in their home there were always historical puzzles and classical music. She describes herself as a writer that is more imaginative.

Living in Belgium, the author initially thought that she wanted to pursue a career working as a librarian. That was the plan until she became ill and had to rethink her plan. Christelle then turned to writing, which she found to be a distraction from her medical situation.

At first she found the writing to be an escape, then found that it was helping her to reconstruct herself. As she kept going, she discovered her ‘second nature’. She also joined an online author community called Silver Plume that gave her encouragement. They were so supportive that she decided to take up her first challenge in literature, to enter a contest for youth novels written for the first time and did quite well!

Dabos first became a published author in print with the release of her debut novel in 2018. The debut fictional novel is titled A Winter’s Promise and is the first of the Mirror Visitor series, which is intended to have four books comprising it.

Christelle Dabos is the creator and author of the Mirror Visitor Quartet series. The debut novel in this series is titled A Winter’s Promise. It was released in 2018 and was followed by the sequel, translated as The Missing Clairedelune. The books were published in French but have been translated to different languages, including English, so English-speaking readers have a chance to check out this unique fantasy series too.

A Winter’s Promise is the first book in the Mirror Visitor series by accomplished fantasy author Christelle Dabos. In this debut story, readers get the chance to meet the main character of Ophelia for the first time.

Ophelia may be a young woman that looks like any other, but you would be wrong to make assumptions about her at first glance. She may wear a long scarf and have glasses so thick and large that she may seem like a bookworm. However, under this appearance she is a woman that has gifts that no other human being has.

She is someone that is blessed with the singular gift of reading objects and finding out their past. Not only that, but she is able to do something even more fantastic and cross mirrors. The world was once a place of unity, but now there are a variety of different worlds that now exist and live separated from each other. Each of them is looked over by an immortal and omnipotent ancestor.

The Rupture was a cataclysm that changed everything long ago. The result of the world being shattered meant that it was broken into many different celestial islands that floated, called arks. For her part, Ophelia resides peacefully on an ark that is known as Anima.

Anima is a lovely place and just like her, the people that live there are able to read objects and discover their past. Her mirror traveler status means that she has channeled the ability that has gone through the generations and now has come to her.

Her life living on Anima could not be more ideal. It is peaceful and has everything that someone like Ophelia could ever want. But everything that she has become so used to gets disrupted when something unexpected happens that she never saw coming.

When she is promised to marry a distant clan’s influential member, she doesn’t know what to do. The individual that she would be marrying is named Thorn. He leads the Dragon clan, which has a lot of power. She doesn’t want to get married to him but feels that she has no choice (and in reality she does not, except to leave forever).

Ophelia is just a girl still and regardless of what she feels she is forced to leave the family that she knows and go to the floating capital of Citaceleste, located on Pole. This icy ark’s capital is cold and once she is there she does her best to try and wrap her head around what has happened.

Once she arrives, Ophelia finds that the man she is supposed to be marrying doesn’t really seem to have an interest in getting to know her. He seems indifferent and she is confused by his emotional stance as she thought this was about getting married. It appears that he doesn’t really care about her, and Ophelia slowly starts to realize that she may have been brought to this place for another reason entirely.

Could her arrival at Pole not be about an arranged marriage at all? The consequences of coming to Pole may mean that Ophelia never gets back to the life that she knows and also the entire world is altered, perhaps forever. Cause and effect is in play, and Ophelia is starting to suspect that she is here and part of a plot that is larger than she could have ever imagined.

While she doesn’t know why this place in particular was selected to be part of it all, she’s starting to figure out that hiding her identity may be tied in to what is going on. She already is a pawn in a plot that could end up being life and death.

Can Ophelia figure out what is going on and get to the bottom of this plot once and for all? This heroine is about to give it her best shot. Check out this debut fantasy novel in an incredible saga for yourself and read to the last page to see how this engaging story ends!

The Missing Clairedelune is the second novel in the Mirror Visitor series! Ophelia is back and working as a vice-storyteller in court. She is slowly discovering a world that seems beautiful on the outside but hides political tension and plotting behind the veil.

Still engaged to Thorn, Ophelia is dealing with her family coming to Pole and other demands. When nobles go missing, she’s going to have to figure out what’s happening. Can she find the truth? Read this book to find out!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Christelle Dabos

Leave a Reply