Book Notification

Christina Courtenay Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Kinross Saga Books

Publication Order of Kumashiro Saga Books

The Scarlet Kimono (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Gilded Fan (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Jade Lioness (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Northbrooke High Books

New England Rocks (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Regency Romance Collection Books

Marry in Haste (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Once Bitten, Twice Shy (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Desperate Remedies (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Never Too Late (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Marry for Love (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Runes Books

Echoes of the Runes (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Runes of Destiny (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Whispers of the Runes (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tempted by the Runes (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Promises of the Runes (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Legacy of the Runes (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Shadows from the Past Books

The Silent Touch of Shadows (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Secret Kiss of Darkness (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Soft Whisper of Dreams (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Velvet Cloak of Moonlight (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Hidden in the Mists (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shadows in the Ashes (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Christina Courtenay is a bestselling and award winning novelist of historical romance novels. She got into writing because she wanted to be a stay at home mother and take care of her two children. But she would not get published until her first daughter left the nest at twenty one years of age. Since she published “Marry in Haste,” the debut novel of the Regency Romance Collection series of novels in 2009, she has turned prolific and now has more than a dozen novels to her name. She has won the Best Fantasy Romantic Novel, Best Historical Romantic Novel and the Romantic Novel of the Year Award by RNA. Courtenay is a half Swedish half English author and spent most of her childhood in Sweden. She has also lived in Switzerland and Japan even though she now makes her home close to the Welsh border in Herefordshire.

Courtenay had always loved stories with a happily ever after or fairy tale endings and still loves them to this day. Growing up in Sweden, she listened to stories about princesses, fairies, elves, trolls, gnomes and witches. Christina used to live near the lakes and dark forests of Scandinavia and this meant that picturing these creatures as real was not much of a stretch. She also loved the Norse sagas and these were what resulted in a lifelong interest in Vikings. She is now an author of slightly grown up versions of fairy tales and happily ever after stories. What she hates are novels with sad endings and she often sneaks a look at the last page of a novel before buying it. Since life is too depressing, she does not want to read sad stories but something where everything comes right in the end.

Having grown up in Sweden has significantly influenced her fiction. Christina Courtenay has one of her series that has some of its settings in Sweden since she wanted to revisit her heritage by focusing on the Vikings. She had been brought up in the land where the Vikings had lived, loved, and ruled and read all about their history and local folklore. It had all become a part of her subconscious and this often comes out in her writing. Courtenay is also a huge lover of history and archeology and typically writes dual time or timeslip novels. She loves the fact that she can get in paranormal elements, romance and history into one storey with endless possibilities. The best thing about timeslip is that she can sip in more than one story with one in each period. She is also a fan of the fact that love can be so strong that it transcends time barriers.

“The Silent Touch of Shadows” by Christina Courtenay is the story of professional genealogist Melissa Grantham. She is recently divorced from her partner and is yet to settle down, preferring to move all over the place. At the opening of the novel, she has just been invited to Ashleigh Manor which is her ancestral home where Dorothy, her great aunt, lives. Melissa takes Jolie her daughter and together they head to Ashleigh Manor. Upon arrival, Melissa starts getting strange visions and dreams that seem very real. She sees visions of a medieval knight that wants her help but it is not clear what exactly he wants her to do. In her dreams, she sees the story of a medieval young woman and a lover forbidden to her and this leaves her wondering if she is losing her mind. As a genealogist, she has the skills to try to find out if the people that visit her dreams are historical and what the knight wants with her. Meanwhile, she has been hired by Jake, a neighbor who needs to research his family tree. The shocking thing is that the man who she sees for the first time when he grants her the job is a splitting image of the man who comes to her in the dream. He tells her that he has been having similar dreams and he starts wondering if their histories could be intertwined.

Christina Courtenay’s “The Secret Kiss of Darkness” is a richly woven tapestry of everlasting love, dangerous temptation and dark secrets. It tells the story of Kayla Sinclair who knows that she needs to invest the money left to her by an aunt into something useful and practical. But she visits an auction and is taken by the beautiful portrait of what she is told is a renowned smuggler from the eighteenth century. She throws all caution to the wind and even draws more from her own money to lay her hands on the bizarre painting. Even though her fiance is in a rage when she tells them that she spent so much money on what he thinks is a ridiculous painting, she does not intend to send it back. Moreover, the brooding eyes of the man that seem to follow her all over the house leave her intrigued. She intends to discover more about the man that has recently been haunting her dreams and thoughts. It seems luck is on her side as out of the blue a smuggler named Jago Kerswell introduces himself to her and asks that she reunite him with Lady Eliza Marcombe, his one true love.

Christina Courtenay’s “The Soft Whisper of Dreams” opens to the death of the lead Maggie’s parents. She is shocked to learn that she had been adopted at the reading of the will. While she is disappointed and devastated that they never cared to reveal such important information for nearly three decades, she thinks it explains the lack of sisterly love between her and Olivia, her supposed sister. She leaves London and walks away from any inheritance they could have left her. She goes to spend some time with the family of her best friend Kayla that lives in the countryside. In the meantime, Alex Marcombe is getting out of prison after several years spent inside for drug smuggling. Wes, his brother and his wife have invited Alex to go live with them to help Alex reintegrate back into normal society. Upon their first meeting Alex is taken by Maddie though he has some apprehension given his past. He had always been comfortable around women with his sultry and dark looks and self assurance always making things easy. But his time inside has robbed him of his confidence and he doesn’t know how to approach Maggie.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Christina Courtenay

Leave a Reply