Book Notification

Christina Henry Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Black Wings Books

Black Wings (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Aren't You Glad You Didn't Turn On the Lights? (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Good Bargain (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The 12 Dancing Princes (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Moonlight and Sunscreen (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Black Night (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Night Out (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Black Howl (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Black Lament (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Black City (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Black Heart (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Black Spring (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Chronicles of Alice Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Lost Boy (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mermaid (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Girl in Red (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ghost Tree (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Near the Bone (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Horseman (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Good Girls Don’t Die (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The House That Horror Built (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

A Gargoyle’s Guide to Chicago (0)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Care and Feeding of Gargoyles (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Giving the Devil His Due(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Into the Forest(2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Twice Cursed(2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Christina Henry is an author who is mostly recognised for her Black Wings Series, which are best-selling novels under the genre of urban fantasy.

An avid reader, Christina lives with her husband s well as son in Chicago. She enjoys novels and books of similar categories, including zombies and samurai. She is also very keen on long distance running, which is an activity she enjoys on a regular basis, when not writing up her many novels, of course!

The Black Wing Series consists of Black Wings, Black Howl, Black Night,Black Lament, Black Heart, Black City and Black Spring. Other novels from Christina Henry include the Alice Series, which includes Alice and Red Queen.

The story of the Black Wing Series is fantasy related and is focused around Agent of Death known as Madeline Black and her very interesting and unique life. There is plenty of sarcasm throughout the series and an abundance of tragedies, as well as characters which will leave you ravening to find out more. There is plenty of humour throughout the series and Christina writes in a way that makes you eager to read the follow ups. Be warned that once you start with these books, you won’t be able to put them down!

Black Wings 1

The first in the Black-Wings Series is Black Wings 1, which sets the scene for the rest of the books in the series. Black Wings 1 follows Madeline (Maddy) Black who holds down a quite unusual full time job as an Agent of Death; a role which involves taking souls to the afterlife. With her magical powers and secret black wings, you would think Madeline would be living a life which many could only dream of, but this is far from the case. The fantasy character may have a unique and interesting job, but this isn’t helping her to make ends meet, so she goes on the search for a tenant to rent out a flat in her apartment.

Things may not be as they initially seem though when her handsome new neighbour moves in and there are some interesting and captivating events which follow. Maddy not only uncovers some hidden truths about her neighbour but also some interesting aspects of her own character and abilities, which she didn’t know existed. You can expect lots of twists and turns throughout this book, as you join Maddy in her far from everyday life, which usually ends in fascinating consequences.

You can expect a strong female lead, supernatural powers, magic and power, as well as some romance as you are taken on a whirlwind through the life of Maddie as she tackles the streets of Chicago. There is something for everyone in this first novel, so whether you like the fantasy aspect or you are keen on books which offer humour, you will enjoy reading Black Wings 1.

One thing is for sure, after reading this gripping novel, you will be keen to get started on the follow up, aptly named The Black Night.’

Black Night

Of course, given Maddie’s job description, you might not expect that she is a face than many want to be greeted with! In Black Night, the follow up to Black Wings 1, Maddie finds herself trying to strike a balance between her unusual career choice and her real life’, while fighting her arch enemies at the same time.

There is plenty of action in the Black Night and a lot of possibilities for romance for the heroine, with a story which will take you on a course you would not have expected.

The series is action packed and the remaining novels will give you more insight into the character’s life as she tries to keep her job, while holding on to the more traditional aspects of her life. With plenty of punch and a storyline which will keep you gripped, you will be keen to get through these as soon as you get started.

Alice Series

Christina has also published her Alice Series, which consists of Alice and The Red Queen. A fantasy/psychological thriller, the story starts with the character of Alice, who finds herself as a patient in a mental hospital, without knowing how she ended up there. With the help of her murdered friend, Alice goes in search of the truth, which turns out to be much more complicated than she would ever have imagined.

Alice is by no means a light hearted read, it is very dark with plenty of violence. It is not a copy of the hugely popular work of Lewis Carroll, although there are some definite comparisons to be made. You will find a wide array of mental characters in this novel, with a very real message which is conveyed throughout the book. You will begin to learn more about Alice, her past and why she has ended up the way she has.

The follow up from Alice is the Red Queen, which takes Alice out of the confines of the mental hospital and the Old City to pastures new, but this may not be as wondrous as she may have initially predicted. Alice finds herself confronted with the Red Queen and it is anyone’s guess as to whether they will be in conflict or join forces to create a spectacular twosome!

There may be more to come in the Alice Series, but you will have to read it to find out if there it paves the way for a follow up.

The Future of Christina Henry

Christina offers a variety of different emotions throughout her books, the humour and fantasy of the Black-Wings Series, with the more surreal dark contrast from the Alice series. Perhaps it is this magical blend that always kept her going. Christina has a strong following and many fans who are eager to hear more from the author, so there are bound to be more delights in store in the future. Christina has relating to a wide audience which starts from teenagers, right up to older adults. These is definitely something for everyone in both the Alice Series and the Black Wings Series.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Christina Henry

Leave a Reply