Book Notification

Christine Poulson Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Cassandra James in Cambridge Books

Publication Order of Katie Flanagan Books

Deep Water (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cold, Cold Heart (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Air That Kills (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Accounting for Murder (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Quest for the Grail (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

CWA Anthology of Short Stories: Mystery Tour(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Accounting for Murder(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Beat of Black Wings(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Reports from the Deep End(2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Christine Poulson
Author Christine Poulson was born and raised in North Yorkshire, England. Now she works as a research fellow at the Centre for Nineteenth-Century Studies at Sheffield University and is a chair of the William Morris Society.

She has a PhD in History of Art. During her career as an art historian, she worked as curator of ceramics at Birmingham Museum and Art Gallery and as curator for the William Morris Society at Kelmscott House in Hammersmith, London.

The city of Cambridge as well as the surrounding Fens, with their unique, sometimes sinister atmosphere, provided her the setting for her debut novel. She was spurred on by her own experience of being made redundant.

She has written widely on nineteenth century literature and art, and wrote a book of nonfiction on Arthurian legend in British art from 1840 to 1920.

Christine’s debut novel, called “Dead Letters”, was released in the year 2002. Her work is from the mystery genre.

“Dead Letters” is the first novel in the “Cassandra James” series and was released in the year 2002. Cassandra James, after her painful divorce, takes up a lectureship in a woman’s college in Cambridge and buys one isolated house deep in the Fens. However, her peaceful life is ruined on the hot summer day she finds the body of her department head, named Margaret, who is floating in a swimming pool.

The shock of finding the corpse leads Cassandra to be uncharacteristically careless over contraception. While her waistline thickens, so does this plot. Because as the days grow darker and shorter, Cassandra suspects that Margaret’s death was no accident, and she herself is now the next target.

While the book hurtles towards its finish, she must draw on the utmost of her intelligence and resourcefulness in order protect her unborn kid and reveal the killer.

“Stage Fright” is the second novel in the “Cassandra James” series and was released in the year 2003. Cassandra James, during her maternity leave, gets involved in this production of “East Lynne”. There is just as much drama behind the scenes as there is on the stage. The director is desperate to revive his flagging career. A fly-on-the-wall documentary maker is just as desperate to launch his own.

The crisis is reached when the female lead vanishes before the first night. Cassandra believes this is more than simple stage fright, since Melissa is leaving Agnes, six months old, behind. Cass struggles to find the truth and it leads her deeper in a maze of deceit and illusion. Somebody close at hand is not what they appear. Cass and her child are in grave danger.

“Footfall” is the third novel in the “Cassandra James” series and was released in the year 2006. Snow’s falling. There’s an old woman reading alone in her bed. The sound of breaking glass, and footsteps on the stairs.

Cassandra James (a Cambridge academic) is stunned when Una (her friend) is discovered dead. It appears to be a burglary gone wrong. As further details emerge, Cass starts to wonder. Why did Una attempt ringing Cass in the moments before she died? Why would she change her will and keep the Cambridge Literary and Philosophical Institute from getting her library of Victorian literature?

That isn’t all that troubles Cass. Odd things happen at her daughter’s nursery. Who is this other Cassandra James that is running round Cambridge, getting the real Cass in trouble? The line between reality and appearance starts to blur.

“Deep Water” is the first novel in the “Katie Flanagan” series and was released in the year 2016. A cure for obesity that is worth billions of dollars. And a death in a clinical trial. When Daniel Marchmont, a patent lawyer, agrees to act on Calliope Biotech’s behalf, he doesn’t realize just what he’s getting into. The first lawyer on the case is already dead, and one vital lab book has vanished.

Daniel and Rachel, his wife, are hoping biotechnology are also going to provide a cure for Chloe, their daughter, who suffers from this devastating genetic disorder. Then something unimaginable happens, they are facing a moral dilemma, which threatens everything. At the same time, Katie Flanagan, a young researcher, suspects something is extremely wrong in the lab. Knowledge is dangerous, however, when somebody’s playing a perilous game.

Readers found themselves being immediately hooked into this with its compelling storyline. Fans found each of these characters to be believable and relatable, and they even felt very natural in this narrative. Katie is an excellent lead character. It is clear that Christine has done some extensive research in the fields of lab work, clinical trials, and scientific research, even the legalities of patenting cures.

“An Air That Kills” is the second novel in the “Katie Flanagan” series and was released in the year 2019. The atmosphere inside the lab is toxic. It’s just a matter of time before there’s a flu pandemic with the potential to kill billions of people. Or that’s what wealthy entrepreneur Lyle Lynstrum thinks. That’s why he funds research into transgenics, the mechanism by which viruses are able to jump the species barrier, at this high security lab on the tidal island off the North Devon coast.

One suspiciously quick turnover of staff has got him all worried. He sends in Katie Flanagan, a scientist, as an undercover lab tech. Something’s obviously wrong, however, before Katie is able to get to the bottom of what’s going on, a colleague gets struck down by a puzzling illness. Could the safety of this facility have been compromised, allowing a lethal virus to escape? Katie starts to suspect the scientists are just as lethal as the diseases. Not to mention the fact that her cover’s been blown. Then the island gets cut off by high seas and one horrifying game of cat-and-mouse starts.

Fans found this to be an engaging and exciting mystery novel that kept readers captivated the entire way through, with a very surprising ending. The characters have fantastic interplay with each other, there is also the unusual Antarctic setting (which felt very authentic), the various storylines.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Christine Poulson

Leave a Reply