Book Notification

Christmas Hope Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Christmas Hope Books

The Christmas Shoes (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Christmas Blessing (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Christmas Hope (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Christmas Promise (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Christmas Secret (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Christmas Journey (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Christmas Note (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Christmas Light (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Christmas Town (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Christmas Star (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Christmas Table (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

The “Christmas Hope” series is a set of novels by inspirational author Donna VanLiere. The self proclaimed closet comedia, animal lover, wife and mother is passionate about encouraging dreamers, teaching, cooking, movies and reading.

The USA Today and New York Times bestselling author made her fiction writing debut when she wrote “They Walked with Him” a single standing novel in 2001. She has since become a prolific author with more than seventeen titles to her name including the “Christmas Hope” series.

Two novels in the series would be adapted into movies that starred Neil Patrick Harris, Kimberly Williams-Paisley and Rob Lowe. The novels earned stellar ratings and “The Christmas Hope” was finally adapted into a movie by Lifetime Television.

Some other adaptations of the series were among the most highly rated movies in the history of the Mystery and Hallmark Movies channels. She has also written several non fiction books over the years that have just been as good as her fiction works.

Donna Vanliere has won several awards over the years for her works . She has been a winner of two Audie, Silver Angel, Dove and Retailers Choice Awards.
The author was inducted into the Hall of Excellence of the Ohio Foundation of Independent Colleges which has luminaries such as Senator John Glenn, Coretta Scott King, Dr. Norman Vincent Peale, and Hugh Downs. She has been nominated for the Gold Medallion Book of the Year Award.

She also works for the residency program that provides a home for at-risk and abused teens in the National House of Hope where she is a director.
As a full time author, she usually takes her kids to tennis and drama practice and to school. She also engages in grocery shopping and Tae Kwon Do and can often be found driving while talking to her editor about whether she will meet her book deadline.

The author often spends her summers around the campfire or the swimming pool with her family. She loves speaking and teaching and has given keynote speeches at prestigious events including at the Extraordinary Women, Heidelberg University’s Patricia Adams Lecture Series, Among Friends Conferences and Women of Faith.

Donna began writing the “Christmas Hope” series when she published “The Christmas Shoes” in 2001. In the debut, the family of Robert Layton, a bankruptcy lawyer and Kate, his wife, is about to fall apart as he has been absent from family life for years.

On the other hand is the family of Jack Andrews, a mechanic that is about to lose Maggie, his wife to ovarian cancer.

Another interesting novel in the series is “Christmas Blessing” in which Nathan the son of Jack Andrew finds himself in medical school but he is unsure if medicine is what he wants to do. He is also in distress as his girlfriend is very ill.

The story also includes a reunion between Robert and Layton that was something of a mentor to the boy in his earlier years.

“The Christmas Hope,” the third novel of the series tells the stories of the Addison family whose marriage is in trouble. Patti and Mark’s marriage has never been the same ever since the untimely death of Sean their son in a tragic accident. This had made Patti withdrawn and uninterested in life and her husband.

“The Christmas Shoes” is the debut novel of the “Christmas Hope” series of novels that introduces successful attorney Robert Layton. He is a successful lawyer who has everything he wants including money and professional achievement but is on the verge of losing his marriage.

He had pretty much ignored his two daughters and wife. On the other side of town is the Andrews family whose son Nathan is sad as his mother is about to die of ovarian cancer.

The Andrews have always lived a full even if simple life and Nathan is struggling to hold onto every happy moment he can savor before the inevitable happens. But on Christmas Eve, he has a chance meeting with Robert as the latter is shopping for the family that he has alienated.

Nathan is shopping for presents for the mother he knows will soon be no more. The encounter alters their lives forever and Robert learns some important lessons talking to Nathan and buying shoes for Nathan’s mother.

It is a universal tale of our shared humanity that also has hints of serendipity.

“The Christmas Blessing” is the second novel of the “Christmas Hope” series of novels that focuses on Nathan Andrews. He lost his mother to cancer when he was a child and since then he desired to become a medic.

When he meets Robert Layton while shopping for a present for his mother, he learns a lot about giving, when he offers him money to buy shoes as a present. At the opening of the novel, he is a third year medical student that is still lost about his direction in life.

He realizes that there are many things he needs to learn about sacrifice, blessings and faith. These are lessons he will learn from a young woman named Meghan Sullivan. She has been disappointed that she could not achieve her dreams of becoming a champion runner because of clinging to the past.

He also learns a lot from Charlie, a young boy who shows him the importance of living a life with courage. His two friends are his guiding light in one of the darkest periods in his life.

This is an inspiring story about how love can be one of the biggest gifts of all. It also asserts that hope can be found in very dark places.

“The Christmas Hope” by Donna VanLiere is the story of Mark and Patricia Addison whose hopes of having a meaningful Christmas were dashed a long time ago. As a social worker, Patricia will meet a five year old and while she knows she should not, she decides to take the child home.

Emily changes the dynamics in the house as she asks them interesting questions on faith and the Addisons learn a lot from the child. They learn that with faith they may just be able to find hope and could possibly have a great Christmas, which is something they have not had in years.

VanLiere writes a beautiful Christmas story as Emily comes into the lives of Mark and Patricia to provide light, joy and hope just like Jesus did. Through the children, the Addison family has a second chance at peace, hope and the true spirit of Christmas.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Christmas Hope

Leave a Reply