Book Notification

Chronicles of Corum Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Chronicles Of Corum Books

The Knight of the Swords (1971)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Queen of the Swords (1971)Description / Buy at Amazon
The King of the Swords (1971)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Oak and the Ram (1973)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bull and the Spear (1973)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sword and the Stallion (1974)Description / Buy at Amazon

The “Chronicles of Corum” series that is written by prolific and award winning author Michael Moorcock is a six book series that is made up of two different trilogies: “The Swords” trilogy and “The Silver Hand” trilogy.

Corum is the final living member of the Vadhagh and is an aspect of the Eternal Champion (which is a being that is in existence in every single world to keep Cosmic Balance in place).

“The Chronicles of Corum” was made into a limited series of comic books of twelve issues. This comic series adapted the “Swords Trilogy”. After that, a four issue comic book series was released called “Corum: The Bull & the Spear.”, which adapted book one in trilogy number two (which was also called “The Bull & the Spear”).

Michael won back to back August Derleth Fantasy Awards for “The Knight of Swords” (in the year 1972) and “The King of Swords” (in the year 1973). He won the same award for a third time in 1975 for “The Sword and the Stallion”; which is to say that he won the award three times in four years.

“The Knight of Swords” is the first novel in the “Chronicles of Corum” series and was released in the year 1971. Gods used to walk around with the mortals back then. They had a whim, so that they could destroy old races (like the Nhadragh and the Vadhagh, which are remnants of even older people) and clean history’s slate. Mankind, or Mabden, was what they used as their washcloth. The gods themselves had a falling out with each other, and Law lost the advantage against Chaos.

Things were set up for heroes to save the day. One of these was Vadhagh Prince Corum. He is hellbent on getting revenge because of the callous slaughter that took place of his race and family. Not to mention, his own mutilation by Mabden. He agreed to have a lien put on his soul by the Shool the Eye of Rhynn and Hand of Kwil in exchange for training.

He set out upon a personal vendetta against the Lords of Chaos, puppetmasters to Man and the Sword Rulers. First up was Arioch the loathsome (who is called the Knight of Swords and master of five out of fifteen planes of reality).

Some felt that this was a great way to start off a trilogy, and hope that the series follows through on the promise it has. Readers like the world building that is found in the novel. From reading this book, some were impressed by the way that Michael writes his stories. Some felt that this was the best novel of this series. Fans of the novel found this tale to be well told, absorbing, and original. There is some true magic here, not to mention, some out of the box and unique parts to it.

“The Queen of Swords” is the second novel in the “Chronicles of Corum” series and was released in the year 1971. Prince Corum has beaten Chaos Lord Arioch. Any peace for both the faithful Rhalina and him are short live. His actions have evoked murderous anger in someone named Xiombarg (who is Arioch’s sister and dreaded by many).

Prince in the Scarlet Robe must keep on with his odyssey, face the Mabden armies’ terror, and challenge Queen of Swords’s might. Only the legendary City of the Pyramid gives them any hope as they face gigantic evil powers everywhere around. Corum has to get there first. Through the journey, he faces strange forms of witchcraft, horrifying creatures, and some more planes of existence.

The characters are a little more developed this time around, and even more time was spent on world building and the multi-verse was explored a little bit further. This is an enjoyable book that is part of the continuing story of Prince Corum. Fans of the novel found this to be a well done, action packed sword and sorcery fantasy book, which is made even better because of Moorcock’s great writing and imaginative settings.

“The King of Swords” is the third novel in the “Chronicles of Corum” series and was released in the year 1971. Chaos reigned over all fifteen planes of reality. The old races have decayed. Only Prince Corum is able to land a hit for Light’s forces.

The time is now for Corum to face his fate. The King of Swords (Mabelrode the Faceless) is ready to wreak havoc and vengeance on the person wielding the sword that killed his queen.

This is an interesting and satisfying end to this trilogy of novels. Fans of the novel like the way the book continues things that were introduced in the other books, before concluding things nicely. There is a plot that is rich in detail and a lot of exploration of the relationship that Corum and his fellow adventurers have together. Another great novel from a unique author who writes fascinating fantasy as well as science fiction novels.

“The Bull & the Spear” is the fourth novel in the “Chronicles of Corum” series and was released in the year 1973. Corum of the
Scarlet Robe is living in the ancient Castle of Erom in sorrow and isolation. He has lived much longer than Rhalina, his great love and the voices in his dreams torment him. The voices are a crowd of figures covered in shadow that chant his name.

He cannot ignore their calls for help for very long. He travels through eons of time, and get to an age of tragedy. Here, the people of Tuha-na-Cremm Croich (who are Rhalina’s descendants) are treated badly by Cold Folk’s giant gods.

A huge black bull is armed with the necessary power to defeat these monsters of the new age. If Corum wants to tame this bull, he will have to head off to the island of Hy-Breasail (a place that is described as being fatally beautiful) to locate the magical and invincible Spear Bryionak.

Fans felt that this was their favorite of the books, especially the way that the Celtic themes from the original trilogy and dials it up
higher in these books. Another strong novel from this great series. Some found that this was quite interesting, and a wonderful setting. Readers found that of the Eternal Champions that exist in Michael Moorcock’s work, this one was their favorite.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Chronicles of Corum

Leave a Reply