Chronicles of St Marys Books In Order

Publication Order of The Chronicles of St Mary's Books

Just One Damned Thing After Another(2013)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Symphony of Echoes(2013)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
When a Child is Born(2013)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Second Chance(2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Roman Holiday(2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Trail Through Time(2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Christmas Present(2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
No Time Like the Past(2015)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
What Could Possibly Go Wrong?(2015)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Very First Damned Thing(2015)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Ships and Stings and Wedding Rings(2015)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Lies, Damned Lies, and History(2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Great St Mary's Day Out(2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
My Name is Markham(2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
And the Rest is History(2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Long and Short of It(2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Perfect Storm(2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
An Argumentation of Historians(2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Battersea Barricades(2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Steam Pump Jump(2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
And Now for Something Completely Different(2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Hope for the Best(2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Long Story Short(2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
When Did You Last See Your Father?(2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Why is Nothing Ever Simple?(2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Plan For The Worst(2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Ordeal of the Haunted Room(2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Another Time, Another Place(2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Very First Damned Thing is technically a prequel but Jodi recommends reading it after Just One Damned Thing After Another as it will make more sense.

The Chronicles of St. Mary’s series are about a group of historical researchers at St. Mary’s. While they do use time travel as part of their job, their research focuses not on time travel rather they look into major current historical events. In other words, they must explain, report and observe the many different things that have happened throughout the course of history. All without dying. And history is not exactly keen to just let things be changed; it will protect itself against people coming along and trying to change it. There are bad people in the books that steal time machines to try and do just that. The only oversight the group has, comes from the university that funds them; providing them with a lot of freedom to do mostly whatever they want. They are led by a woman named Max, who narrates the stories. She is feisty and smart, perfect and yet flawed. Other characters in the series include, the Boss, the gang in R&D, professors Dr. Dowson and Rapson, Leon (who is the love interest for Max) and Mrs. Mack.

“Just One Damned Thing After Another”, the first book in the “Chronicles of St. Mary’s” by Jodi Taylor, was released in September 2013, The group of people who are employed at St. Mary’s Institute of Historical Research is bouncing around, through different historical events looking into the reasons why certain things have happened. From London in the eleventh century, to World War One, to the Cretaceous Period to the destruction of the Great Library at Alexandria. Wherever they go, chaos is bound to be right behind them. If they are involved, something is bound to catch on fire.

Fans of the book have praised the book for their inability to put the book and stop reading it, readers liked the lead character, Max, for being fully fleshed out and she has a distinctive, engaging, and the way the author combines many different genres in the book; these include: mystery, comedy, science fiction, tragedy, fantasy, and romance (even some erotica, for those who are into that). Readers felt like reading this book, they had read an entire series as opposed to a single novel. Some people did not like the plot holes that were found in the book, all were time travel related. Multiple reviewers stated that the book is nothing but plagiarism, with the original book, they believe, being written by Connie Willis, and they find her series to be more immersive. Reviewers have also criticized the book for featuring proofreading errors, and needing better editing.

“A Symphony of Echoes”, the second book in the “Chronicles of St. Mary’s” series by Jodi Taylor, was released at the end of 2013, two months after the first book came out. The research team is back. In this book, they are looking into who Jack the Ripper is by travelling to London in the Victorian era, and they see Archbishop Thomas A. Becket at Canterbury Cathedral. They also find out something about dodos when they eat cucumber sandwiches. They also have to battle someone who is willing to bring an end to History if it means they can destroy St. Mary’s.

Fans of this book, liked that it featured characters whose stories continued and were made into more than just cardboard cutouts. Almost all of the people who read these books, believes that Jodi Taylor can write and use language well. She can also be laugh out loud funny at times as well, and she writes fast paced stories, but does slow down once she gets to the historical events. The books are light reading, but also feature some serious moments. Some readers found Max’s behavior surprising in the way that she acts; this time she has hardened up and is no longer unsure of how to act in a given situation, and she has a hard time trusting people. Readers who did not like the book found that Taylor relies too heavily on the idea that if the Institute is involved, something, somewhere has to blow up.

These two books are only the beginning, a taste of what future books will have in store. There are other events to be seen, other obstacles for the research team to overcome. For example, the death of Richard III, Calpurnia’s real thoughts on Cleopatra, and readers will also read about the destruction and later rebuilding of the home of the St Mary’s research facility that Max and her group work at. Max never gets a moment of rest with Leon. There’s always something to see, something to fight off extinction from.

Fans of the series cannot bear to take their time and read a new book in the series when it comes out, and they are left wondering what will happen next, and waiting for the next installment in the series. They devour any new story within hours of release, whether it be a short story or novel.

As of yet, no word of an adaptation to either make the series of novels into a TV series of some kind or a movie or series of movies has been made. Although, a lot of people believe that it is inevitable for this series to be turned into either a TV show or movie.

Jodi Taylor is the author of this popular series, and she originally self published “Just One Damned Thing After Another” and it sold 60,000 on Amazon. She has written over five novels in the series, as well as more than two short stories in the series, she has also written another series called “Regency”, as well as a standalone contemporary romance novel, with an accompanying short story that follows it . Her inspiration for the series comes from her intense love of history; she wanted to write a novel about time travel, but was not sure how to make it a reality and would make things tough for people trying to put the series into one category by placing a lot of different genre elements into the series. She believes that copies of novels from the series can be placed in each category and it would accurate.


Book Series In Order ┬╗ Characters ┬╗ Chronicles of St Marys