Book Notification

Chronicles of Tenebrak Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Chronicles of Tenebrak Books

Quest (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lands of Nowhere (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shadow of the Serpent (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Price of Wisdom (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tenebrak, the Founding (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon

Chronological Order of Chronicles of Tenebrak Books

Tenebrak, the Founding(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Quest(1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lands of Nowhere(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shadow of the Serpent(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Price of Wisdom(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon

The books in the “Chronicles of Tenebrak” series are written by prolific author Anna Jacobs and published under her Shannah Jay pseudonym (which she uses to write science fiction and fantasy). In 1996, “The Price of Wisdom” was shortlisted for Best Australian Fantasy Novel of the Year.

Anna Jacobs wrote the four part series as she was fascinated with the idea of what a planet would look like if the people living on it focused on developing their psychic gifts rather than technology.

She also wrote a prequel novel for the series, called “Tenebrak: the Founding”, because she wanted to see how the Sisterhood started way back when.

“Quest” is the first novel in “The Chronicles of Tenebrak” series and was released in the year 1993. While on the planet of Sunrise, the Sisterhood has spent hundreds of years developing their people’s paranormal and psychic powers. They do this instead of spending their time focusing on technology. Katia is picked at the age of fourteen to serve her Brother the God in the great temple the Sisterhood has in Tenebrak. Once she has been chosen, there is no going back, and it changes her life in many ways.

Conflict is getting more and more widespread on the planet, because the Serpent is spreading its evil ways and threatening the existence of the planet. This is a planet that has last for twenty thousand years.

The Galactic Confederation has discovered the planet. Far above the planet, Davred (a young and brilliant xeno-anthropologist) studies the Sisterhood from a satellite. After becoming increasingly attracted to their cause, he risks it all. So much so, he makes the choice to go down to help the Sisters in their quest against Discord. He also has psychic powers and it has become part of his journey to help them.

The quest hits the most critical stage, and it is clear that humans are not at all alone on the world. It is also clear that neither the Sisters nor Davred know every secret of the mysterious planet. They do not even know who the deleff are or how they have kept their awe inspiring powers a secret all this time.

Fans of the novel like the way that the characters are given power to control their own lives. The world is benign and not insignificant to other creatures that are larger or stranger forces. This a unique take on horror science fiction stories that are released. Some found themselves glad that they gave this a chance because they fell in love with the stories and the main character.

“Lands of Nowhere” is the second novel in “The Chronicles of Tenebrak” series and was released in the year 1995. Herra and her group of Kindred are being hunted by Those of the Serpent. The latter’s shrine is choked with incense and full of pain and suffering so that they can worship their dread god. This cult has started to spread throughout the Twelve Claims pretty fast. It has even affected Robler, who is becoming more and more unbalanced. He is an Exec in control of the Confederation satellite that orbits around them above the planet, observing everything they do.

The deleff own The Lands of Nowhere, legendary lands, and are told only in the tales of children. No humans have ever gone to visit the lands. These deleff have saved the Kindred two times before, but does that mean they are allies in Kindred’s Quest against the Discord? Why do the deleff hesitate to let them leave Dsheresh Vale (the closed community)?

Fans of the novel enjoyed reading the interesting background and information the novel had about the Quest series. Once they were able to get into book one, this one was a breeze. Some cannot wait to find out what is going to happen next in this great series.

“Shadow of the Serpent” is the third novel in “The Chronicles of Tenebrak” series and was released in the year 1995. Members of the Kindred have gone through one of the portals, belonging to the deleff. They now find themselves scattered all over the Twelve Claims. They have been sent off to start recruiting for the rebellion against the Serpent.

Each of the small groups face danger, mainly being found by Those of the Serpent and being killed. They move towards the rendezvous, and find some new and unexpected allies as well as overcoming some huge difficulties.

Is the Quest against Discord be a success? As the evil of the Serpent is about to engulf the entire world, it leaves the Kindred as the only thing left to save their people. Along with some help from a mysterious alien race.

Fans of the novel enjoyed this novel more than the previous installments. This one always had something happening, and had some great plot twists. It made for some entertaining reading.

“The Price of Wisdom” is the fourth novel in “The Chronicles of Tenebrak” series and was released in the year 1996. The final showdown is getting close. Discord is all over the place. Even on the satellite that orbits the planet. The Serpent’s cult is about to spread all over the Confederation itself. The Serpent god has taken physical form and given life after being given offerings of pain by its followers.

All over the Twelve Claims, armies of the Serpent are gathering up. They are led by Sen-Sether, and their goal is nothing less than total annihilation of Kindred and total domination of everyone.

The Kindred are in the woodlands of the High Alder, and are led by Herra. They prepare to make their stand. They know with the resources at hand, they have little chance against Sen-Sether’s might and ruthlessness and large armies. Only the wisdom that Herra has will help beat the Serpent. She sees there is a way to give them the chance. Can the Kindred afford the cost of saving the world and defeating their enemies?

Fans of the novel found their interest was held, and you always wondered what would happen next. It is another story by this author that you cannot put down. This is a book to be read by all fans of fantasy novels.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Chronicles of Tenebrak

Leave a Reply