Book Notification

Chung Kuo Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Chung Kuo Books

The Middle Kingdom (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Broken Wheel (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
The White Mountain (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Stone Within (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
Beneath the Tree of Heaven (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
White Moon, Red Dragon (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Days of Bitter Strength (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Marriage of the Living Dark (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Chung Kuo Recasting Books

Son Of Heaven (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Daylight On Iron Mountain (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Middle Kingdom (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ice and Fire (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Art of War (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Inch of Ashes (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Broken Wheel (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The White Mountain (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Monsters of the Deep (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Stone Within (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Upon a Wheel of Fire (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Beneath the Tree of Heaven (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Written by David Wingrove, Chung Kuo is a series novel in the category of science fiction. These novels gives a foresight of an Earth that is dominated by China in the near future. Chung Kuo is mainly set 200 years in the yet to come years in a highly advanced and brilliant cities that are created with a super plastic referred to as “ice.” Accommodating an upward of more than 40 billion people, these cities are allocated into 300 levels in which their success and reputation is measured according to how far each person lives above the ground.

Those living in the “above” category are those who live a very comfortable life. For the “in lowers” category, they live uncomfortable lives and mainly in unclean areas while those at the bottom part which is the “below the net” section, live in an environment where the unlawful elements are dumped and left to twaddle. Underneath the city is the remains of the old earth that is the clay in which a lightless, horrifying hell that has shocking humans who are still in existence.

The partitions are commonly referred to as the world of levels. Apart from these divisions, there are the huge meat-animal pens plus the fast growing plantations that are enough to feed the whole population. There is also continued activity outside earth and the ruling kingdoms who factor their rule on the fashions and ethnicities of imperial China still maintain their positions in the traditional spots and higher courts both in the geostationary orbit and on earth. There are also alien researchers and other colonies that have their own mining planets.

Chung Kuo–The Middle Kingdom–Book One

Its year 2190 and yet again the nation of China has become an independent world on its own and the only thing that is considered its boundary is space. The world is referred to as City Earth, which is ruled by a group of people known as the Seven, who are the new kings of China. This beautiful, skillful, intellectual and highly technological society is moving towards a war between two forces that is the East and West. Also between the protestors who want change for a better world and the overlords who claim they want constancy, and finally between the powers of light and darkness.

This era will be a time of ferocious conflagration that is aimed to display the wildest elements of human nature and at the same time their highest aspirations in life. This experience will pull the people into another world that is full of reality and complete that we end up becoming citizens of the new Middle Kingdom. This new kingdom will make us be moved by the desires that we never thought we could have and driven powers that are very recent just like man’s first breath. This is a world that is majestic and has a powerful vision of an incredible world that is appealing to the eye, chilling and more importantly unforgettable to read about.

Son of Heaven (Chung Kuo Recast #1)

This is the year 2085, exactly two decades from the time the great economic downfall that completely destroyed the Western Civilization. The collapse left most of the cities crumbling and power system broken, with life in those parts lingering in separated communities. In the rural parts of the west, a man known as Dorset Jake Reed who has a 14 year old son continues to live with the bitter memories of the collapse. In the year 1943, things were a bit different when he was a rich and young entrepreneur who was deeply immersed into the data wrap of the global financial market. With this skill, he was able to predict and see what was to befall them and who was responsible for it. Prepared, he was among the few who were able to escape the fall.

For more than 22 years, he has been living in fear of what the future holds and finally his fears are being confirmed quite factually across the plain moving in his direction. There are a number of Chinese air-crafts that can be seen in the skies and a weird ice-cold structure begins to take over the horizon. Jake no has no option but to merge himself with the ever-expanding world of levels, which is a global place that holds 34 billion souls. And the social status is way too high to even achieve.

In the present time, the people, under the leadership of mighty Tsao Ch’un, the upcoming China seeks to eliminate the past completely and be able to bring world peace via the process of forceful compulsory law and order. Despite all this, there is a civil war that will appear and Jake will find himself in a position that he now has to struggle at the center for the future.

Daylight on Iron Mountain (Chung Kuo 2)

Year 2067. China has now swamped and defeated a larger part of Eurasia and masses of the city now cut across the remains of old Europe. In the Middle East region, the Chinese are met with a great resistance from the people in the form of terror tactics and suicide bombs, while on the other side of the oceans the survivors of the United States still continue to fight back. But Tsao Ch’un, the Son of Heaven, will not tolerate any opposition whatsoever. Thus, he prepares one of the largest military campaigns in the whole human history to help him bring the North Americans under his rule. But as his army flies, Tsao Ch’un himself, who is now old becomes a little paranoid and very unstable.

Daylight on Iron Mountain is the second novel in his recasting of the epic Chung Kuo series. This novel in a short description is filled with a lot of political conspiracy, corporate conniving, and despairing struggles for the humans to survive. After a while the people realize that their leader is very unstable and has now become a matter of debate as to what should be done because they feel that they need a leader to lead the army into battle. On the other side, Jake still continues to try to survive in the new world. There is also General Jiang Lai who is considered one of the most honest men in the dishonest world, who still keep trying to keep their head high as their enemies continue to gather all around them.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Chung Kuo

Leave a Reply