Book Notification

Cinda Williams Chima Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Heir Chronicles Books

The Warrior Heir (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wizard Heir (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dragon Heir (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead to Me (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Enchanter Heir (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sorcerer Heir (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Runestone Saga Books

Children of Ragnarok (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bane of Asgard (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Seven Realms Books

The Demon King (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Exiled Queen (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Gray Wolf Throne (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Crimson Crown (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Shattered Realms Books

This New York times bestselling author is one of a kind. Hailing from a legacy of fortune tellers, musicians and tale spinners, she herself is a huge romancist. She started writing romance in early age, as early as during middle school, some of which were confiscated by her teachers. However she quit writing books for a while in between to focus better on her further college education. She, then concentrated on her career and graduated from University of Akron in the year 1975 with a BA in Philosophy. She later proceeded to well earn her post-baccalaureate in Nutrition and her masters from Case Western Reserve University in Nutrition in the year 1984. Before she started writing as her full timer, she was a renowned clinical dietitian and filled for several leadership roles as well as for clinical management at Cleveland clinic and The MetroHealth System, also in Cleveland. At the latter, that is The MetroHealth System, she directed the clinical nutrition department and also established the diabetes self management program. She has also been a freelance contributor to The Plain Dealer in Cleveland, Ohio and several other local and regional publications that solely focused on health related topics and and personal essays about family life. Later, from 2004 to 2009, she was assistant professor of nutrition at the same university that she initially graduated from, i.e University of Akron.

As for about her personal life, she was born in 1952 in Springfield, Ohio and has a twin sister Linda. She comes from a family of tale spinners and fortune tellers that, in turn heavily affect her writing style. Her fortune teller grandmother, though, coupled with heavy celtic magic beliefs in her native Jackson Country take the gold, making deep impressions in her form of writing.After marrying Rod Chima, and after becoming a mother to two teenagers, Eric and Keith Chima, she resumed to write books and earned herself an amazing reputation.

Her first book series was The Heir Chronicles, that were enlisted under the genre tags for Fantasy, Young Adult, Magic and Wizards. The first book in this series was The Warrior Heir, which was a spinning and enthralling tale of a sixteen year old boy, Jack who lived a very ordinary life in Ohio. The only thing that separated him from other kids of his age was a nasty, thick scar on the top of his heart and his daily dose of medicines. The mundane lurches of his life take a sharp turn when he forgoes his medicine by mistake and suddenly he is much more powerful, fierce, raw and confident than ever before. This feeling of being stronger than the other kids of his age makes him whimsical. At least till the time he loses hold of his own capability, and suddenly he cannot control himself and almost kills a child in the soccer team tryouts. He is, then, enlightened of the truth about himself. He comes to face the staggering knowledge that he is a Weirlind, part of a underground magical society that consists of many more, living among us in broad day light. He is also told about the feud between Red Rose and White Rose houses resulting in a magical tournament where each house sends a warrior who fights till death. Whoever manages to win through the championship, gets to rule the Weir as the award.The shock only amplifies when he comes to know that he’s not just another part of this magical society but he also one of the last warriors that are destined to be sent for the championship, all at the time when both the feuding houses are looking for a player to represent their respective houses.

The next book in the same series, The Heir Chronicles, is The Wizard Heir. It has an entirely different story, though.This book is about Seph McCauley, another sixteen year old boy who has a history of being kicked out one after one private exclusive schools. Only his problem is not his attitude, like other kids. His problem is his magic, which is running out of his control in a scarily fast pace. And there is no one to help him. Orphaned, untrained wizard, Seph destroys things in his wake, resulting to accidents, all because he has no control over his powers.After causing a fire to break out in some after party, Seph is shipped off to Havens which is secluded boys’ school on the coast of Maine. The headmaster, Gregory Leicester, promises to train Seph and help him fold in his unraveling powers. The headmaster also promises Seph to join him in the league of wizards and magicians and Seph is ecstatic to find his place in the world.Only the other shoe drops pretty quick, and he comes to figure out that his mentor and headmaster Gregory Leicester has some shady plans which use his students’ powers for his own personal and mysterious agenda.

The Warrior Heir was awarded as Voya’s bet science fiction and fantasy in 2005-2006. Also The Warrior Heir received a star review in Bulletin of the Center of Children’s Books as well as a Perfect Ten. Her next book The Wizard Heir also succeeded in earning a Perfect Ten from Voya and has a proud place on Voya’s best science fiction and fantasy for the year 2007. The third book of The Heir Chronicles, The Dragon Heir received a star review in Kirkus, was awarded as the best Young Adult book of the list of 2008, got another Perfect Ten from Voya and is a USA, Indie Next and New York Times bestseller.
She is an active member of The Society of Children’s Books Writers and Illustrators and The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of USA for over five years now. She has also been a recipient of 2008 Lit award for Fiction from Cleveland Lit and was also named as Interesting person in Cleveland Magazine in the year 2009.

The most admirable thing about Cinda Williams Chima is that she never sits still and is always in the process of working on her next or new book.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Cinda Williams Chima

Leave a Reply