Book Notification

Cindy K. Sproles Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Appalachian Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

What Momma Left Behind (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
This Is Where It Ends (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Publication Order of Anthologies

Writers Advance! Boot Camp 2013(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Cindy K. Sproles
Cindy K. Sproles is a speaker and an author. She is the co-founder of and serves as the managing editor for Straight Street Books and SonRise Books, both imprints of Lighthouse Publishing of the Carolinas.

Cindy teaches at ladies conferences and retreats and Christian Writers Conferences around the country. Her devotions are inviting and edgy, honest and heartfelt. Her conferences address both the heart of women as well as their biblical responsibilities to their families.

She is the director of Writers ADVANCE! Boot Camp Conference and is also a contributing author to and

Cindy’s articles and devotions are published in Christian papers all across the eastern seaboard, and have been used to represent legislature for the protection of the elderly.

“Mercy’s Rain” took the Silver Medal from Illumination Awards, it was a finalist for Foreword Reviews’ INDIEFAB Book of the Year Award, and was a Selah Finalist. “Liar’s Winter” won a Gold Medal from the Illumination Awards and was a Carol Awards Finalist.

Cindy’s debut novel, called “Mercy’s Rain”, was released in the year 2015. Her work is from the inspirational genre.

“Mercy’s Rain” is the first novel in the “Appalachian” series and was released in the year 2015. How can you possibly trust in the love of Father God when your whole life’s built around a dad’s wrath?

Mercy Roller knows that her name’s a lie, since there has never been any mercy in her young life. Raised by one abusive and twisted dad that called himself the Pastor, she was abandoned by a church community that should have banned together to keep her safe from his evil. Her mom, consumed by hate and fear, will not stand her ground in order to save Mercy either.

The Pastor’s robbed Mercy of love and innocence, as well as a husband and her child. Not one person appears capable of standing up to the Pastor’s unrestrained evil. Mercy takes things into her own hands. Her heart became hardened to love a long time before she became judge, jury, and executioner of the Pastor. She just didn’t realize the same retribution she believed would save her, may turn her into the thing she hated most.

Sent off by her grieving and angry mom, Mercy’s journey is unclear until she meets one young preacher going to counsel a pregnant couple. Mercy, who is certain that her calling is to protect this young family, is drawn into a different life on the other side of the mountain where she finds that true righteousness has no evil about it, and there could be room for her shattered and stained soul to find some shelter. Even love.

This is a remarkable historical book which traces the thorny path from bitterness and on to forgiveness and it reveals the strength and victory that comes from faith. The book conjures up all kinds of different emotions for readers, and even though it is tough to read, it is still a moving and beautifully written novel that explores the pain from abuse and the mercy that comes with God’s love.

“Liar’s Winter” is the second novel in the “Appalachian” series and was released in the year 2017. When Lochiel Ogle was born, she had a red-wine birthmark, and it put her very life in jeopardy right when she entered the world. “The mark of the devil” is what the mountain folks all called it, and for all of the evil that has plagued her short life, she’s ready to believe that it’s true. The evil definitely took control of the boy’s mind that stole her when she was an infant taking her home to his mom to raise.

Abandoned and abused by the people she knows as her family, she’s rescued by a peddler and given the very first glimpse of love that she’s ever known. The truth about her past is slowly revealed as well as the fact that she’s still being hunted by a brother that’s driven to see her dead. Uncertain if she can truly trust anybody, she’s faced with some decisions. Is she going to continue to run to escape or is she going to face up to her past and accept the heartbreaking secrets that it reveals to her? Which is going to truly set her free?

The novel is an inspirational yet unflinching exploration of both choice and prejudice. In no way is this a light read, yet it is a memorable and compelling one. It is a powerful story written by somebody who is an equally powerful storyteller, as Cindy writes with a fresh voice in the genre of Christian fiction and spins a character driven and mesmerizing story that is hauntingly beautiful.

“What Momma Left Behind” is the first stand alone novel and was released in the year 2020. Worie Dressar is seventeen years old when typhoid and influenza ravage her Appalachian Mountain community in the year 1877, leaving behind an increasing amount of orphaned kids without any way to care for themselves. Worie’s mom has secretly been feeding quite a few of these little ones on Sourwood Mountain. However, she dies suddenly and Worie is left behind to figure out how and why she was caring for those kids.

Plagued with a couple of good for nothing brothers, one’s a drunkard and one’s just greedy, Worie fights to save both the orphaned kids that have now come in her begrudging care and her home. Along the way, she is going to find the beauty of unconditional love and the power of forgiveness for all of Momma’s kids.

Cindy delivers a novel that is both inspirational yet still tragic, as it is a lovely story about recovering from loss and surviving. It is a hard story yet so was living during this time, however, there is still a lot of beauty to be found, both in the people and in the landscape. Worie is blunt and feisty, and won’t let anybody run roughshod over her. The book is rich in jargon, description and Biblical lessons, as Cindy covers the seven deadly sins and shows their repercussions.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Cindy K. Sproles

One Response to “Cindy K. Sproles”

  1. Brenda collins: 2 years ago

    I just read what momma left behind it was a very moving book and very well written. I cannot wait to read your other books. Thank you so much for writing.


Leave a Reply