Book Notification

Civil War Chronicles Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Civil War Chronicles Books

Traitor's Blood (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Devil's Charge (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hunter's Rage (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stryker and the Angels of Death (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Assassin's Reign (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Warlord's Gold (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Marston Moor (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Civil War Chronicles book series is a wonderful series of historical fiction, military fiction, Civil War, thriller, and English war stories. It consists of 6 novels and 2 novellas published between 2010 and 2015. The series is written by a reputed British writer named Michael Arnold. Michael has done the settings of the events of all books from early to mid seventeenth century in different European countries. The chief protagonist depicted in each of the novels is Captain Innocent Stryker. As the series proceeds further, the readers get to see numerous adventures in which Captain Stryker gets involved that take place around the Civil War. In the series’ first book, Michael Arnold has described Captain Stryker as a war veteran, who has a never-say-die attitude. He is considered dead and left behind in a previous battle, but Captain Stryker recovers from his injuries and heads back home to take revenge from the person who left him on the battlefield and scarred his life forever. As soon as Captain reaches home, he learns that a different war is going on and joins in the cause of King Charles to safeguard the kingdom from foreign and inside attacks. Prince Rupert considers Captain Stryker the most trustworthy man he can rely on. He chooses him to carry out secret missions for the King in order to prevent the enemies from overthrowing his rule in England.

Captain Stryker develops feelings for Lisette Gaillard, the most deadly and beautiful agent of Queen Henrietta. After publishing the first novel, Michael Arnold wrote a prequel novel in which he has described the time when Innocent Stryker first started as a soldier and how his hard work and dedication lead him to the rank of Captain. The other essential characters created by Michael Arnold for this series include Eli Makepeace, Prince Rupert, Skellen, Lancelot Forrester, King Charles, Queen Henrietta, Lisette Gaillard, Colonel Gabriel Wild, Osmyn Hogg, Sir Edward Massie, Vincent Skaithlocke, etc. Every book in this series is highly successful and is much appreciated worldwide. They attracted a large number of readers because of their rich contents, excellent characters, and the unique writing style of Michael Arnold. The critics, fellow writers, and reviewers gave praising comments and reviews to the books in various literary magazines, journals, etc. All of this led the series to become a grand success, thereby allowing Michael Arnold to establish himself in the ranks of prominent authors.

Michael Arnold is a renowned novelist from The United Kingdom, who is famous for writing historical fiction, thriller, and war fiction novels. He is particularly famous for writing the series called Civil War Chronicles. Recently, he has started writing another series, Highwayman, and has already written and released two books. Michael Arnold is a resident of Hampshire. He is happily married and lives with this loving wife and kids. Michael says that he was very adventurous as a child. He used to spend the childhood holidays in visiting battlefields and castles all over Europe. Michael had a great fascination for knowing about such things. His fascination was mainly due to the fact that the region around his hometown in Hampshire was greatly involved in Civil War. The history of his hometown dates back to the 16th and 17th centuries. This led Michael Arnold to gain an in-depth knowledge of the rich history and then describe them in his own words in the form of war stories. He claims that it was his avid reading that helped him turn himself into an excellent writer. Michael is grateful to his fans for supporting him throughout his career and intends to keep entertaining them for many more years to come.

The debut book of the Civil War Chronicles series written by author Michael Arnold is entitled ‘Traitor’s Blood’. John Murray publications released it in 2010. The story begins by describing Captain Stryker as a man who cannot be forgotten once he sets foot in a battle. He becomes popular as a hardened war veteran in Low Countries. Captain Stryker returns home in England for seeking revenge against Captain Eli Makepeace, the man who almost destroyed his life by leaving him for dead in the last battle. Back in England, he begins his service for King Charles for the loyalty he has for him. Captain Stryker has no interest in aristocracy. So, he prefers to have a few trustworthy men by his side. His best aides include a foul mouth sergeant named Skellen and a small time actor named Lancelot Forreseter.

Later, it is learnt that there is a deadly spy in the Royal establishment. Prince Rupert feels that the spy must be found the threat must be eliminated as soon as possible. So, he appoints Captain Stryker to look for the spy and catch him. Stryker sets on a journey across a dangerous country with his handful of trustworthy men. Captain Stryker knows the journey is going to be filled with bitterness and there will be bands of marauding soldiers at every turn to force them to give up this mission. But, Stryker doesn’t back down. He proceeds with his men and light arms and with the firm determination of getting rid of the danger to the kingdom at any cost. When Stryker comes across Eli Makepeace during the journey, he lands in a dilemma and wonders if he should proceed for the mission at hand or attempt to kill Eli Makepeace first?

Another thrilling novel of this series is called ‘Devil’s Charge’. It was also published by John Murray publishers in 2012. This book features the primary characters as Captain Stryker, Lisette Gaillard, Prince Rupert, Queen Henriette, and several others. In the initial sequence of the story, England is depicted as standing divided. The parliament against King, country against town, and brothers against brothers. Captain Stryker doesn’t like to think about the rights & wrongs of cause. He keeps his loyalties to his most trusted comrades. However, Captain Stryker tends to extend his loyalty to a beautiful & deadly agent of Queen Henrietta, Lisette Gaillard. Prince Rupert asks Captain Stryker to take up the secret mission of discovering what happened to the man Lisette was protecting and to herself? This mission seems highly important because the man is believed to ensure the victory of Royalists. Captain Stryker doesn’t let anything come in the way of this mission as both Lisette Gaillard and the mission are very important for him. Stryker moves from the bloody streets of Cirencester to Lichfield’s siege, and from there to the Hopton Heath killing fields, and ends up succeeding in the mission. Michael Arnold’s work appears to have brought the passion and drama of the historical war to life, which the readers appreciated greatly and praised with kind words.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Civil War Chronicles

Leave a Reply