Book Notification

Civil War Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Civil War Books

Comanche (1968)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fastest Gun in Texas (1968)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Colt and the Sabre (1968)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bloody Border (1969)Description / Buy at Amazon
Kill Dusty Fog! (1970)Description / Buy at Amazon
Under the Stars and Bars (1970)Description / Buy at Amazon
Back to the Bloody Border aka Renegade (1970)Description / Buy at Amazon
You're in Command Now, Mr.Fog aka Rebel Vengeance (1973)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Big Gun (1973)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Devil Gun (1979)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Rebel Spy (1979)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Matter of Honor (1982)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mississippi Raider (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Florida Civil War Blockades: Battling for the Coast (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Civil War is another book series written by all time English authors by the name J.T Edson popularly known for writing westerns themed novels. The first book in the series is Comanche published in 1968. Some of the characters featured in other series such as The Floating Outfit are also featured in civil war series. For instance, Isabel Kid, the third member of the Floating Outfit is featured in the first book of the Civil War series.

The series consist of 13 distinct novels; the first book on the show is Comanche. The book introduces the popular character of the Floating Outfit known as Ysabel Kid. Most of the book describes his story as he grows up and earns his trophy as a Comanche assigned a name as Cuchilo. The hard lessons of life’s training eventually lead to his meeting with Dusty Fog the leader of the Floating Outfit team.

Dusty Fog
Dustine Edward Marsden Fog is the head of the Floating Outfit; he is also featured in Civil War series by J.T Edson. He is short in stature but adamant for his body size. He is highly skilled with his pair of Colt revolvers and considered to be the fastest gun-drawer from Texas. He is quick into adapting to almost impossible situations, whether as a cavalry commander, lawman, wagon trainer, spy or head of cattle drive. He is a fast mystery solver a skill acquired by from some teachers who trained with him. Other skills include judo skills, karate which he received from training by his good friend Tommy Okasi.

Ole Devil Hardin
Jackson Baines Hardin commonly referred in the series as Ole Devil due to his dark hair, beard, and angular features made him assume and appearance of close resemblance to the traditional forms of Satan happens to be Dusty Fog uncle. During his youth period, he was involved in various adventures related to Texas struggle for independence from Mexico. He is later commissioned to the United States Army as a general he most of his colleague refer to him as an able commander. After the war, he returns to the O.D connected ranch where he devotes much of his time in cattle business which many of the Texan residents considered as the immediate and the only hope for economic recovery. He suffers a spinal injury after he is thrown off by a horse and thus forcing him to his entire life confined to a wheelchair thus forcing him to rely on the Floating Outfit to carry out his wishes. Despite being tough, Ole Devil had a weakness for his granddaughter Betty Hardin, and despite having been involved in the war against Mexico, he retains most of the famous friends from the south such as Don Ruiz Villanueva.

Descriptions of early books Comanche
Kid had to live his life to his expectation; his dad was a white man and a professional Comanche Dog trainer while his granddad was a chief. The entire tribe believed in him and knew that he could make a real warrior. However, it was for him to showcase that he indeed was capable of making a real soldier. Then one fateful night he finds himself in the southern border- full with smugglers, Kid armed only with a knife must prove that his skills fully allow him to be a Comanche.

This is the first book in the civil war series by J.T Edson, the lead character being Ysabel Kid training as a Comanche warrior during his early years just before teenage.

Ysabel Kid- he is the third member of the Floating Outfit team during his childhood years he spent most of the time training as a Comanche until his adolescence. His skills acquired as a Comanche such as speaking several Indian languages, stealth and tracking as well as riding and horse training almost make him a full native Indian. In the series, he is featured mostly riding on his white stallion named Blackie, which he had trained as a small boy.

The white horse is exceptionally trained such it can warn its master from ambushers and match at very high speeds. Kid weapons are a dragon colt which he uses for relatively far range and a bowie knife when at close range to an attacker. He spent most of his early years at Mexican border trading as a smuggler; this made him learn Spanish spoken by Hidalgos and bandits.

Mississippi Raider
She came out of Louisiana bayou, a young beauty after seeing her parents were brutally murdered by agents from North. Belle is driven by the desire to get revenge for the death of her parents, and thus she joins a group named the Great Cause- a gang that she hoped would take her to the heart of the nation and much closer to the killers of her parents. After joining the Secret Service of Confederacy, she marks her wits, courage, and her fighting skills towards the union best agents.

However, with her daring undercover work, escapades lay her greatest challenge of all as she sets on to go behind the enemy lines to stop a newly deadly weapon from making its entrance in the war.

Rebel Spy
A raid against the Union convoy turns out to be more beneficial and profitable than captain Fog could have ever imagined, this is because a trunk filled with Confederate currency is among the captured. However when the fortune cash turns out to be counterfeit- the Yankees foul play becomes apparent- to flood the South with the fake money and cause havoc to the already collapsing economy. It is, however, Ole Devil who carefully drafts a plan that gets Dusty Fog into the undercover realm. Dusty, alongside with his beautiful and charming rebel spy, Belle Boyd, he must ensure that he infiltrates the Yankee stronghold and wreck down the counterfeiting trend or either die while trying.

Civil War series by J.T Edson is one of the thrilling western novels ever written by an all-time best-selling English author. The characters are well drawn right from the primary characters to the secondary characters.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Civil War

Leave a Reply