Book Notification

Clare Carson Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Sam Coyle Trilogy Books

Orkney Twilight (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Salt Marsh (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dark Isle (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Canary Keeper (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Clare Carson is the author of multiple novels. Clare’s father was an undercover cop in 1970’s London.

Clare became a published author in 2014 when Orkney Twilight, the first book in Sam Coyle Trilogy was released.

Orkney Twilight

Orkney Twilight is the first novel in Sam Coyle Trilogy by Clare Carson. The plot revolves around an 18-year-old Sam- the daughter of Jim an undercover cop and her complicated relationship with her father. They pay a visit to a holiday haunt, the Orkney’s while Jim decides on his future and Sam, under orders from her mother. However, it becomes clear that this is not just a holiday for the father- Jim is an undercover cop-although the identity of the person he is working for increasingly becomes uncertain. As Sam closely observes her father’s actions, she gets entangled in a web of lies and double dealings that soon begins to threaten her existence.

Orkney Twilight is a promising series opener especially in the way that the author uses the weather and the landscape of Orkney to create an atmosphere. All the myths and the legends of the area are well crafted into the story. The tension between father and daughter adds to the feeling that all is not as it seems and the readers manage to share Sam’s emotions as she purposeful sticks to her investigation despite her fears of what the consequences would be.

The character of Jim and him being an undercover cop is very fascinating, as was his daughter Samantha. The relationship between the father and daughter is complicated because of his job. Orkney Twilight is a tale that explores the resentment, anger and a bit of humor between father and daughter.

The Salt Marsh

The second book is set during the Cold War Britain, a time that in itself gives an additional dimension to the novel. There is a wide cast of criminals, spies, hit men and drug dealers. Then there are locations such as the windswept landscapes of Norfolk, Kent, and London that add depth and atmosphere to the whole narrative.

Thrown into the mix are ancient witchcraft, superstitions, curses, and spells, and with all these combined, it makes a unique and genuinely beautiful narrative.

Sam Coyle father was a covert agent- did something that he entirely kept separate from his personal life. However, as a young girl, Sam becomes unknowingly involved in the evil and secretive world that her father operates in, on what was intended to be a treat for her. During a trip to a fair with her dad, she notices a man carefully watching them, and Jim immediately takes flight leaving his daughter alone. The man then approaches Sam and makes it clear that he knows who her dad is- this day haunts her in so many ways in future.

Years later, Jim is dead and Sam fiancé Luke goes missing- but she is determined to finding him at all costs. Her investigations reveal revelations about her father’s undercover work and also the events that led to his death.

The Salt Smash is a well-written narrative with a unique storyline. The characters in the story are well crafted, strong and likable. The locations are superb, and well handpicked to give an added flavor to the story.

The Dark Isle

The Dark Isle is the third book in Sam Coyle Trilogy by Clare Carson. Samantha was raised in the shadow of the secretive state. Her father was covert agent full of long stories about traitors and tradecraft then he died- murdered in the line of duty.

Now Samantha has traveled to Hoy in Orkney to glue together the complex puzzle about her father’s past. Haunted by the echoes of her childhood holidays, Samantha is sure that the truth is buried here, somewhere.

What she discovers is a small island of swooping birds, dramatic skies, rugged sea stacks and four hundred people. An island remote enough to offer refuge to need somehow not be found, an island small enough to keep a secret from the rest of the world.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Clare Carson

Leave a Reply