Book Notification

Clare Fergusson & Russ Van Alstyne Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Rev. Clare Fergusson & Russ Van Alstyne Mysteries Books

In the Bleak Midwinter (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Fountain Filled with Blood (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Out of the Deep I Cry (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
To Darkness and to Death (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
All Mortal Flesh (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
I Shall Not Want (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Letters to a Soldier (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
One Was a Soldier (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Through the Evil Days (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hid from Our Eyes (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Clare Fergusson & Russ Van Alstyne series is a series of mystery and thriller novels written by the award winning American author Julia Spencer-Fleming. The novels of the series feature Rev. Clare Fergusson as a former helicopter pilot, who has now retired to work as an Episcopalian priest, and Russ Van Alstyne as a police chief in the tiny upstate town of Miller’s Kill in New York, United States. There is a total of 8 books in the series published between the years 2002 and 2013. Author Julia Spencer-Fleming began writing the series in the year 2002 and published the first novel later that year. All the novels of the series have become very successful and have helped author Spencer-Fleming to establish herself as a well known author of the mystery and thriller genres. The success of the novels of the series was followed by a number of prestigious awards such as the Agatha, Macavity, Nero Wolfe, Anthony, Gumshoe, Barry, and the Dilys award.

The series is currently ongoing as author Julia Spencer-Fleming is working the storyline of the latest novel of the series. She is expected to publish the latest novel at the end of this year or may be in early next year. The already published novels of the series consist of mysterious plots along with glimpses of romantic elements. In the series, Rev. Clare Fergusson works as a priest at the St. Alban’s Episcopal Church situated in the small town of Miller’s Kill in New York. She is described by the author as a non-traditional woman in every sense. Despite being a woman, she used to work previously as a chopper pilot in the U.S. Army and was a tough and hardcore person back then. Even today, she is nobody’s fool. At one point in the initial part of the series, Clare Fergusson gets involved in a mystery which allows her to meet the police chief of the town, Russ Van Alstyne, for the first time. Russ Van Alstyne is also a former Army man, who likes his current job as the police chief of the town. He manages the stray sheep of the town as a cynically good shepherd. As the two begin to investigate the murder mystery, they discover a world full of trouble as well as a sense of attraction towards each other.

The first novel of the Clare Fergusson and Russ Van Alstyne series was published in the year 2002 by the Minotaur Books publishing house. It was titled ‘In the Bleak Midwinter’ and the plot of the novel was set in Miller Kills town in New York, United States. It revolves around the lives of the main characters, Clare Fergusson and Van Alstyne. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel, the author has described the plot as full of heavy snow and icy desires and seems to be a possible situation of cold blooded murder. Clare Fergusson is introduced in the opening sequence of the plot of the novel as the new priest at St. Alban’s Church and seems to be a square peg in the conservative parish of Episcopal at the Millers Kill town of New York. Author Julia Spencer-Fleming has described her not just a lady, but a former tough army personnel, having worked as a chopper pilot. Soon the mystery of the town begins when a newborn infant is left at the door of the church. The investigation about the infant brings Clare Fergusson together with the police chief of the town, Russ Van Alstyne.

Russ is also described to be a former army man and a dedicated police chief for cleaning the mess of the town and stop the criminal activities from happening. Clare and Russ begin to search for the mother of the newborn infant left at the door of the St. Alban’s Church. Their investigation leads them to the deepest secrets of the shadowy town of Miller’s Kill. It seems similar to the ever present Adirondacks. Meanwhile, they discover a troubled world and face a number of challenges in trying to solve the case of the missing mother of the newborn baby left at the church. However, they also get pulled towards each other in the middle of the investigation, while discovering a number of dead bodies throughout the course of the plot of the novel. The novel became an instant hit among the masses and helped author Julia Spencer-Fleming to win many well known awards like the Agatha Award, the Anthony Award, the Dilys Award, and the Macavity Award throughout the years 2002 and 2003.

The second novel of the ‘Clare Fergusson and Russ Van Alstyne’ series was published under the title ‘A Fountain Filled With Blood’. It was published by the St. Martin’s Paperbacks publishing house in the year 2003. The plot of this novel is set in Upstate New York, United States. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel, the town of Miller’s Kill is shown as nestled inside the protective heart of the Adirondacks in New York and seems to be as safe as ever. But the celebrations of July Fourth bring to the notice of the police a series of vicious assaults on the town, which was believed to be a peaceful and scenic place. The incident shocks Clare Fergusson, who is the minister of the Episcopal parish. The brutality of the criminal activities also shakes the police chief and good friend of Clare Fergusson, Russ Van Alstyne. It is revealed after the initial investigation that victims were particularly chosen for the brutal crime because they were gay. One more brutal assault takes place in the town, in which an out of town developer loses his life. After this incident, Russ and Clare wonder if the death of the developer was linked to his controversial plan of opening an upscale spa in the Miller’s Kill town. After the thorough of the town they conclude that nothing is what it seems in the tiny town. They are also to fight for the developing and unspoken attraction in them for each other. Soon they become successful in uncovering the labyrinthine conspiracy in the town but do not pay attention to the threat that it poses and seems to be deadly for both of them.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Clare Fergusson & Russ Van Alstyne

One Response to “Clare Fergusson & Russ Van Alstyne”

  1. Claire Laurance: 1 year ago

    This is an excellent series. I am an Episcopalian, so that added element makes it even more relelvant to me.


Leave a Reply